Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars49
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2009
As a self-taught artist who is often paralysed by terror while painting, I hoped this book would provide practical guidance for knuckling down to work. Well, it does briefly summarise some common fears and obstacles that artists face. But about two-thirds of it is pretentious psychobabble about the relationship between the artist and his/her materials, and about how this-or-that process or form of engagement is the only method of creating 'true art'. I didn't want a lecture on how to make 'true art' - I wanted non-judgmental, practical motivation to help me to get on with the art that I actually make, irrespective of the authors' validation. But this book is so full of the authors' own views about what art is, and how provocative and forward-thinking it ought to be (my art is not at all provocative, for a start), that it just creates even more standards to live up to. In addition, I found the dense and waffling tone unpleasantly hard to decipher. I might keep this on the shelf for another glance or two, but it certainly didn't live up to my expectations.
44 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
There isn't much to say about this book except that it is amazing. A must read for any and all artists (in any field), including - especially - people who don't quite consider themselves to be artists yet. Extremely well written and completely spot on. It really knows its audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
This is a very comprehensive account of what gets in the way of making art. I bouht the audio with it which is extremely well done and, for me anyway, added a great deal to it (I prefer to listen rather than read). It's got some real insight and clarity and is definitely worth a look if you either feel inhibited for whatever reason or wnat to help others with their artistic inhibitions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
Oh, my God! This little book is a goldmine!!! I wish I had known about it years ago, it's simple wisdom in bite-sized bits for the artist within! Many thanks to the authors for this book that is more a tool to manage fears and doubts along the creative path!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
If you are just post-beginner this little book gives enormous help and encouragement to do *your* work. It does not coach you - just provide excellent food for thought. I have read it 3 times - each time more slowly as I absorb the ideas...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
A fantastic book to read post-Arts degree. The authors write plainly and tackle many problems that artists face when working as a solitary practitioner. A must read. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
A very interesting book and one that will be picked up many times in the future to read a chapter or two. The subject matter is current to all struggling artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
For those who find getting started and sustaining their creativity this is wonderfully motivating book.
Read mark and inwardly digest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
this book was a long time in the writing and it shows - I've already lent it to a friend who is an artist struggling with creative block.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I found this to be a very useful to confront some of my fears that arise from my creativity. I would recommend this to any new artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)