Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb gift, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Ole Martin Helgesen (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aston Martin: Power, Beauty and Soul (Hardcover)
I've been a car enthusiast since I was very young, and AM has always been rare and special. This book covers the last 40 years, my favourites, from the DBS and AMV8 series. They haven't made that many models, so first I was shocked by the sheer size of this book, XXXXL!!
How could they possibly fill it with sensible information?
Well, there are not just the standard models, but also concept cars, and most interesting are the "special" and rarities models made in very few numbers for very rich clients.
I thought I had seen most of their models in articles on the web or in magazines, but I really found many surprises!
There are of course loads of stunning photographs, and many interesting information panels presenting important people in the history of Aston Martin.
And the background stories are very detailed and entertaining.
A faboulous book, a must for any fan of Brithish sports cars.
My dream would be a leatherbound edition, from the same materials used in the cars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Must Buy" for anyone interested in Aston Martin, 23 Nov 2007
By 
M. A. L. KANOO "Desertwind" (Abu Dhabi, UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aston Martin: Power, Beauty and Soul (Hardcover)
Very comprehensive of the modern cars. Including many, many one off and unique Astons AND Lagondas also.
An incredible resource.
Hence my "Must Buy" title as above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't come much better than this, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Paul J. Singleton (Kent. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aston Martin: Power, Beauty and Soul (Hardcover)
First rate work, both the content and quality leave nothing to be desired. Any Aton Martin enthusiast would be very pleased indeed to have this book in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's so good, you don't need the actual car, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as a gift for a friend who was at the time an Aston Martin lover, and owner.

When I gave him the book, he loved it so much that he sold his Aston about a fortnight later, and he now just flicks through the pages and 'pretends that he still owns one' (to use his words).

He was so worried about leaving the Aston unattended that he often didn't drive it anywhere, so now he just owns the book, and a normal car.

He has never been happier (or more mobile).

I hope you enjoyed this review - and it is a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of the marque, but lacking in detail., 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this when looking for my used DB9 and, TBH, it wasn't a great deal of help. The book provides a comprehensive history of the marque, but only devotes 2 or 3 pages to each model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was it worth it?, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Jayne (North Wales) - See all my reviews
Definitely ......I bought this as a 'stocking filler' for Christmas for my husband who, I have to say, isn't a 'reader' but does love Aston Martins! I needn't have wasted more money by buying additional presents because this is by far his best - he keeps picking it up and looking through it - oh, and keeps bombarding me with 'did you know' snippets ..... think I might possibly regret buying it in the months ahead!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aston Martin 1970-2000's, 30 Jun 2011
I have been a very keen Aston Martin entusiast for a long time and as a result have many books on the company's history and main-stream models (if you can call any of their models 'main-stream').

The book begins with a brief history of the company and deals with the David Brown era within one chapter, which some may see as a major flaw, however that particular part of Aston's history has been well documented in many other books.

This book is mainly concerned with the period from late 70's/80's, through the Ford take-over and up to the very latest cars such as the DB9/DBS and V8 Vantage. As such it deals with, for me at least, one of Aston's most interesting periods, which includes detailed coverage of the bespoke special order cars which many books either leave-out altogether or only make fleeting references to. There is great detail on not just the cars themselves, but also the development process and the key figures involved. As such it stands as a reminder of just what truly bespoke cars Aston was capable of producing, and unfortunately the like of which we may never see again.

I would highly recommend this book as a valueable addition to anyone with a genuine passion for Aston Martin, and in particular the special order cars of the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book. Good format, photography and paper quality. I've not read it yet but it looks to have a lot of detailed information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Value, 21 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very informative without being overpowering - it is well laid out, thoughtfully illustrated and very well researched with good use of contemporary material - an excellent buy for anyone even remotely interested in this Great Britsh marque - absolutely outstanding value and superb quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son loves this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aston Martin: Power, Beauty and Soul
Aston Martin: Power, Beauty and Soul by David Dowsey (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 49.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews