Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound advice from the coal face
Over the past 20 years I have worked on a number of large NHS change programmes, many technology led. In my experience, too often NHS leaders have failed to grasp the fact that Service Redesign requires just that - Redesign.
Frustration arises when a organisations' leadership is more comfortable to tinker around the edges 'curing' organisational symptoms as opposed...
Published 14 months ago by F. Martin

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas, but the whole "vision" not explained
The book advocates technological change in the NHS, and is implicitly pro-Health and Social Care Act. However, there is no reason why the technological solutions could also be adopted without privatisation.

There were good ideas in the book: using the genome to develop personal treatments, using RFID chips to make sure patients are properly identified, the use...
Published 9 months ago by A. B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound advice from the coal face, 31 May 2013
By 
F. Martin "redmarti" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Over the past 20 years I have worked on a number of large NHS change programmes, many technology led. In my experience, too often NHS leaders have failed to grasp the fact that Service Redesign requires just that - Redesign.
Frustration arises when a organisations' leadership is more comfortable to tinker around the edges 'curing' organisational symptoms as opposed to problem root causes.
As a former Head of Service Redesign in the NHS, I feel this book makes an excellent argument for a much needed bolder approach to technology led change.
Aside from that I love the erudite opening chapters that succinctly summarise this particular NHS malaise and systematically explain why maintaining the status quo is not an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Nicholson - have you read this.., 25 Jan 2014
By 
P. Wood (Bristolian Exile in Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Saving the NHS and Start Reinventing It (Paperback)
Colin explains logically the car-crash that is happening to one our national icons.

With almost religious fervour the politicians and civil servants have performed the age old trick of nursing this organisation to death - doing exactly the wrong things time and time again.

The transformation required takes political honesty and that doest occur in the five year time period of our parliamentary process.

The powerful old blocs of self -interest and the fanatical d-i-y culture need to wake up and read this book.

Well done Colin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting perspective on the issues. Well structured and easy to read. A worthwhile book for anyone involved in healthcare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A common sense approach, 3 Jun 2013
An increadibly readable book, not full of IT jargon but an expert view of, and insight into, creating health solutions and change through IT. A "MUST READ" for senior managers and non executives who want to make real and lasting change happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do something before it breaks, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A compelling review of the opportunities that technology offers the NHS to fundamentally change the way it operates. Written in an easy to read style, liberally sprinkled with Colin's personal anecdotes, I found it both informative and entertaining.

But it's not just about technology. As Colin states "Often the real tension in major health IT projects is not related to technology, patient outcomes or evidence, but to who gains and who loses among the affected power groups."

Perhaps, if enough people read this book, there will be a ground swell of opinion that stimulates radical change before it's too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop Saving The NHS and Start Reinventing It, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Saving the NHS and Start Reinventing It (Paperback)
I am not a health expert, but like many people, I am interested in how our NHS is performing. Though this book is aimed at health service managers and the like, as a layperson I found it very readable.

The author's ideas on individual pro-active healthcare as well as integrating healthcare systems with software technologies, is refreshing. He mixes his experience with anecdotes and references to science fiction, keeping the tone light and enjoyable throughout.

This book is well written and filled with some truly unique and interesting insights. Anyone interested in what a 21st century health service could and should be like will enjoy reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop in the name of life, 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. P. Cook (GILLINGHAM, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This new book is an mine of information on how we have the possibility of improving the Healthcare system and the NHS by the appropriate use of IT and computers. It will be a useful source for NHS CEO's, managers and healthcare professionals so that we can learn to live with computers and IT rather than be ruled by them.

In my own experience, saving organisations often involves putting sticking plasters on their 'illnesses'. The title suggests that, just like in my own work on organisation improvement, sometimes a fundamental reinvention is needed. This is often considered too painful for the 'patient' but nearly always results in a worse situation. Blessed are the people who can see far enough into the future to do the right thing rather than the easy thing.

Stop saving the NHS and start reinventing it is a thought-provoking must read for NHS decision makers. STOP in the name of life!

Peter Cook, Business Author and MD Human Dynamics and The Academy of Rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where there is no vision the people perish..., 27 April 2013
By 
Mr. Chris May (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...literally; IT could be doing a lot more to improve our health. In this easy to read book, Colin Jervis presents a whistle-stop tour of the current state of healthcare IT in the NHS - which by the way isn't great. In many areas Africa are ahead of us. Covering everything from genomics to robotics, big data to social media, this book will bring you up to date on all things digital in healthcare and paints a vision of where we really should be going. A perfect overview for busy managers and clinicians who want to bring themselves up to speed without devouring a weighty tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning the reinvention, 28 July 2014
By 
Dr. Nicholas P. G. Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book. There are many campaigns around wanting toi "save the NHS" As a quote I saw today puts it, "If you want things to stay as they are, things will have to change". – Giuseppe di Lamedusa

We're in that position in the NHS now- and this book begins to suggest ways that will go beyond saving it into radical transformations (I dislike the term transformational changes- it seems a tautology to me like "your next station stop..") that will be necessary if we are going to keep a viable NHS- accessed on basis of clinical need- by all who have contributed to it- in the UK.

This book shows some of the ways our thinking will need to go in to achieve this. There are radical thinkers within the NHS, and in the next few years some of our ideas will need to be backed or the system could be sacked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technology and the NHS - a helpful book, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop Saving the NHS and Start Reinventing It (Paperback)
The forward to this book is very useful. Jervis suggests that significant improvements to NHS efficiency will only arise with a combination of new operational models and fully-integrated IT. The NHS has been a slow adopter of technology and has broadly stuck with the same operational models since its foundation.

The author does not dodge the chequered past of the NHS and IT and his book effectively covers a range of technologies that could better drive change in the future, including genomics, wirelessness, social media and telehealth. However at the end of the text his vision of a new NHS is perhaps not summarised as concretely as it might have been, the arguments leading to it are clear - as in the success of the US Department of Veterans Affairs - a publically funded healthcare system that has improved quality and reduced costs with a combination of organisational and process changes underpinned by shared, integrated IT systems.

The writing style makes it suitable for senior managers not familiar with IT and its potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop Saving the NHS and Start Reinventing It
Stop Saving the NHS and Start Reinventing It by Mr Colin Jervis (Paperback - 22 April 2013)
5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews