Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Worth bearing in mind that this book ..., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
Great Book, Worth bearing in mind that this book does not delve into full moon pictures territory (Puppert Master, Demonic Toys etc) ,but does Cover all Empire Pictures productions (Ghoulies, Re-Animator, From Beyond et al) and some musings on Wizard Video. Interviews are funny and insightful and the book is packed full of interesting facts about Band's movies....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly fab., 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
Now, I haven't totally read from cover to cover just yet but I am enjoying this book. There is only one slight complaint and that is I feel that the legacy of these films are being undersold. I feel like this first book celebrating these truly wonderful and over the top films isnt being done with flare. Personally I would have wanted to see more pictures in colour including concep art and behind the scenes images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EMPIRE OF THE B's, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
"EMPIRE OF THE B's" is one of the greatest film books I've ever read. It gives the reader a great insight into one of the craziest film production companies in the world. If you are really into movies, you should definatly buy it. Lots of great interviews, lots of unbelievable stories about the making of some of the craziest movies audiences have ever seen, and - most importantly - made by very professional and talented fans of the subject. This is a genuine project of the heart and the ultimate guide into the mad movie world of Charles Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Bands Empire Pictures made a lot of straight to video films in the eighties this book looks behind the scenes., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
I remember renting loads of these movies on VHS! Every week there seemed to be a new Empire Picture to rent from the video store. This covers the Good (Reanimator), The Bad (Sorority Babes from The Slimeball Bowl-a-rama) and the Ugly (Troll) of Empire movies. Behind the scenes photos and rare pictures and writing that extensively covers the history of Charles Band's company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films books I've read, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
Empire of The B's: The mad Movie World of Charles Band by Dave Jay, Torsten Dewi, Nathan Shumate. Published by Hemlock Books.

This really is one of the best film books that I've read. I buy a lot of film books and this one is very high up on my list of faves. When I got into horror, fantasty and sci-fi films throughout the 1980's, the films produced by Charles Band's Empire Pictures and then Full Moon, were a staple diet of mine. They'd usually have great cover artwork on them so they would grab my attention straight away whilst roaming the shelves of my local video shops (remember those? Man I miss them...) Produced on low budgets, these films were very inventive, usually had some great FX work in them and featured crazy and outlandish stories/concepts.

This book covers everything. There's a very open and frank interview with Charles Band. The writers, actors, directors, and FX artists all get their own chapters and it's really wonderful to have these interviews with the people who made these great films that had such an impact upon me. There's even a chapter on films that were planned but never made. This is a very detailed book that succeeds in capturing what it was like to be making films during this time.

The only thing that I felt disappointed by was that all of the pictures in it are black and white. I would have gladly paid twice the price for this book to have all of the wonderful photographs and fantastic poster art in colour.

In today's age of CGI and films made using digital camera's, Empire pictures were shot on film(!) and had practical FX, make-ups, puppets, stop-motion animation, models, matt paintings etc, and to me these films look just as great today and so much better than most current low budget films. I still have some of them on VHS and even though I no longer have a VHS player, there's no way I'll get rid of them. No way. A lot of these films produced under Empire Pictures are now available on DVD. I have some of them and with more being released I'll certainly be adding to my collection.

I'm really hoping that Hemlock Books are working on a sequel to this that covers Charles Band's Full Moon Films which he created and has been operating under since the unfortunate demise of Empire Pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
GREAT BOOK ABOUT A GREAT PRODUCER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
I loved the honesty of this book,though written by a fan of Emipre/Band Movies it also pulls no punches in painting a picture of a very troubled not always happy relationship between Charles Band and his team of Writers,Director Make-up men.It take you way back to the early days and its refreshing to hear interviews with the Great Man himself being less than flattering toward his career.Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely glorious! A must-buy!, 10 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
I've already reviewed this over at HorrorNews, but I'll add one here too as it's just wonderful. A brilliant time capsule of genre cinema and a fascinating look into the career of one of cult films' most divisive and interesting characters. A typo here and there doesn't matter at all - this is a fantastic book. An absolute joy for enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band (Paperback)
excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band
Empire of the 'B's: The Mad Movie World of Charles Band by Nathan Shumate (Paperback - 16 Jan. 2014)
£17.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews