Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition to Jane Austen Biography
For someone who has already plumbed the biographical details of Jane Austen, this book offers a refreshing new aspect. Tracing back along the maternal line, Victoria Huxley reveals the rich and interesting history of the Leigh family.

With the same delight one reads about Elizabeth Bennet being taken out of her relatively humble home situation for a tour of...
Published 16 months ago by Elaine Fairweather

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jane Lore
This is an interesting addition to the 'Jane' lexicon and she gives a great deal of new information regarding the Leighs. My only quibble is her writing style: '...with a distant tower in the distance' !!! or 'her favourite sister, Cassandra' - she only had one sister!

But apart from that it is well worth reading.
Published 11 months ago by Constance C. L. Alexander


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition to Jane Austen Biography, 13 April 2013
By 
Elaine Fairweather (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
For someone who has already plumbed the biographical details of Jane Austen, this book offers a refreshing new aspect. Tracing back along the maternal line, Victoria Huxley reveals the rich and interesting history of the Leigh family.

With the same delight one reads about Elizabeth Bennet being taken out of her relatively humble home situation for a tour of Derbyshire and being invited into Mr Darcy’s circle at Pemberley, one follows with elevated spirits Jane Austen’s visits to Adlestrop and Stoneleigh. Other biographers merely record these visits took place. This book has taken this little bit of Austen history so often passed by, opened it up and brought it vividly to life.

The influences of such visits have clearly contributed to many of the scenes, places, houses and landscapes Jane describes in her novels. Page after page there is a delicious sense of familiarity as one walks the same pathways Jane Austen must have trod. Victoria Huxley writes in a very readable and warm style, yet her research and the inferences she makes resonate with scholarly truth and integrity.

The work is a valuable addition to any collection of Austen biography. It has redressed an imbalance in my understanding of just how well connected Jane was, and of her intimate knowledge and experience of the higher echelons of society and wealth. It has also deepened my understanding of the values, issues and attitudes of the time.

As well as enjoying this book in its own right, it also promises to enhance my pleasure in re-reading Jane Austen’s novels. When I do, it will be with a fresh eye and deeper understanding, together with a more whole view of that great author’s life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jane Lore, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
This is an interesting addition to the 'Jane' lexicon and she gives a great deal of new information regarding the Leighs. My only quibble is her writing style: '...with a distant tower in the distance' !!! or 'her favourite sister, Cassandra' - she only had one sister!

But apart from that it is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars something new, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
I liked the book on Adlestrop It was a part of Jane Austen's life which I was happy to read new information about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Refreshing, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
This is a very fine and absolutely fascinating addition to the Austen canon. Victoria Huxley provided a wealth of new information about Jane Austen's family connections to Adlestrop, already indelibly associated with another great literary figure Edward Thomas. Cleverly waving together extracts from the novels with the relevant letters by Austen, the author gives us a completely fresh and intriguing take on one of our greatest and most popular novelists. An excellent and highly readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huxley, Austen and Adlestrop are closely linked in a very readable way., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
Victoria writes extremely well, and covers her subject with details and analyses that are very enlightening about the subject. Also, it is important that she and her family have lived in Adlestrop for years, and that puts her in touch with it in such ways as to make the subject of her book exceptionally well covered. It is well worth five stars in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone interested in Jane Austen!, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
We were holidaying in the Cotswolds and I thought I would take a look at the places in the area known to Jane Austen. I have a particular interest in all things JA, and this little book looked likely to help me along. It is full of detailed information which is usually only briefly referred to in any biography, and I was amazed at how reading this book (and having it to hand while exploring locations) really put into focus how important were JA's visits to Adlestrop and its environs with regard to the creation of Mansfield Park in particular. This book is a little gem, well written and researched, with the curious ability to re-jig ones perspective of what may have influenced Jane Austen's creative genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
I was so curious to know more about the connections of Jane Austen from this side of her family, I'm still reading it, but I like the way of managing the infos and to trace the interconnected histories. Superfast delivery. Recommended if you are fond of JA and if you have already read a detailled biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars partner knows Adlestrop, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family (Paperback)
My partner used to live in Adlestrop - she knows the author and knows the village very well and loved the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family
Jane Austen & Adlestrop: Her Other Family by Victoria Huxley (Paperback - 30 Mar 2013)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews