Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an original, thorough and effective training guide
There has recently been quite a few new books in the "how to lucid dream" space, and Daniel Love's book is on the top of the heap in my opinion. First off, Love is not just repeating the LD induction basics that were laid down in the 1980s and watering them down as some books have done. Rather, he is a first rate "post-Labergian" researcher who builds off the basics with...
Published 16 months ago by Ryan Hurd

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i would more fully recommend The Mind at Night by Andrea Rock as an ...
I only read half of this book before accidentally leaving it on a train. The first half is interesting for anyone who has vivid memories of their dreams and wants to understand the process a little more. I kept expecting the writer to rip off his mask and reveal himself as Denis- Wheatley-type believer in the supernatural power of dreams. I suppose I'll never know now...
Published 10 months ago by Pauline Buckland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an original, thorough and effective training guide, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Ryan Hurd (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
There has recently been quite a few new books in the "how to lucid dream" space, and Daniel Love's book is on the top of the heap in my opinion. First off, Love is not just repeating the LD induction basics that were laid down in the 1980s and watering them down as some books have done. Rather, he is a first rate "post-Labergian" researcher who builds off the basics with a thorough knowledge of the history of research and what's current in the field -- including neuroscience and mindfulness-based stress reduction. Love's work with developing memory skills is particularly brilliant and original. Love is a reasonable man, treading carefully in realms that can easily become grounds for hyperbole. This book is neither lightweight spiritual fluff or a reductionist take at exploring the mind. Love is inspired by mystery but is also a believer in critical thinking. As a result, the book exudes a confidence in lucidity and consciousness exploration in general - and that transfers to the reader, providing excitement, real tactics, and penetrating insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for beginners and more experienced, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book- it flowed nicely and contained a wide range of information, giving what I felt was a perfect balance between variety and depth. There are lots of pointers given towards other books which go into certain aspects in more detail- depending on which interest you the most, but there is plenty of material contained within the book. Also it is very carefully and thoughtfully put together, and the author goes out of his way not to push his own conclusions on you but to offer his own perspective, ideas and guidance and the tools to explore in the way you feel is right for you. I have read several books on the subject and I found this to be the most enjoyable, readable and informative.

Many books on the subject pursue it as a paranormal activity of some kind, which in my opinion it is not, and there is none of that slant to this book, but Lucid Dreaming is recognised as an ideal means of pursuing/exploring whichever spiritual or philosophical inclinations you may have. I found the book to be very "grounded" and sensible, without being dry or dull as some of the more scientific books can be. I say it is ideal for beginners, as it is so well rounded and comprehensive, and gives good pointers to other books (e.g La Berge which I have previously read and found to be informative), but having read a fair few books on Lucid Dreaming I felt it offered me fresh insights and information and techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Glimpse of the Infinite, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
Daniel Love sets about tackling the nebulous world of lucid dreaming (being aware that you are dreaming while you are dreaming)in this delightful essay of personal experience. This insightful enterprise was refreshingly curious as to the nature of reality, asking more curious questions than shoving assumptions down your throat as many authors in this space tend to do.

The title just about summarizes it "Are You Dreaming?"
Well are you, I mean how would you know, how would you really know, how can you separate the dreamer from the dream?
All too often, authors in this space come at you with a model of reality that just feels far too contrived and convenient to solve the riddle of existence, but Daniel rather bravely stands up and announces that such an answer may be very far out of reach as we literally live inside the mystery with no way of seeing it from the outside, but this does not make it any less fun, on the contrary, it seems that the proverbial cosmic game of hide and seek is precisely what it is to be human.

Man's desire to seek out and search for new frontiers of experience is inherent in what and who we are, and what could be more of an adventure than a journey into the infinite landscape of your own imagination. This book is both intuitive and inventive in how we approach the world of lucid dreaming. With a firm abandonment of hearsay, the reader is asked to explore the matter themselves and answer the ultimate question only for their own experience "Are You Dreaming..?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
Daniel has a done a great job with this book. Its very clear and very thorough! He is obviously passionate about what he teaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on the bookshelf of anyone with an interest in Lucid Dreaming., 15 Jan. 2013
By 
BigBigMonkeyMan (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
This isn't some mystical pseudo-scientific guide riddled with the usual hyperbolic hocus pocus; it becomes quickly apparent that it's a carefully-crafted, objective and surprisingly comprehensive treatment of Lucid Dreaming. Its progression doesn't labour the points it makes but it's a fine starting point for those new to the subject. Happily, it also presents plenty of new material and exposition for those - like me - who've read LaBerge and dipped into the various techniques from time to time. The author's obvious enthusiasm for his subject drives the material this way and that, enabling the reader to dip in and out as time permits; it works, however, as coherent journey and I read it from cover to cover. It's a great reference document that neatly manages to complement the other, more established, works and should be on the bookshelf of everyone with an interest in Lucid Dreaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who could ask for a better place to start learning about this fascinating skill, 14 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
The subject of lucid dreaming had never reached more than the periphery of my awareness, so when I was given this book I read it with an open but uninformed mind. I now feel far more informed than I ever expected! Without being too heavy, this is an incredibly detailed, in-depth guide to lucid dreaming; the writer approaches the subject with passion, down-to-earth accuracy and innovative intelligence. Who could ask for a better place to start learning about this fascinating skill? On the other hand, it is clearly more than just a beginner's guide and would no doubt be an equally useful source of information for a well-practised dreamer.
Moreover (and this is absolutely true, folks) during the two or three weeks I spent absorbing the book bit by bit, I experienced three separate semi-lucid dreams for the first time in my life with no prior intention to do so. This, if nothing else, seems like a high recommendation: so clearly is the content of the book written that it sank into my brain and induced a level of lucidity in my dreams entirely of its own accord. Are You Dreaming? is an impressive work and must be recommended to anyone with a vague to well-established interest in lucid dreaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Research Makes Superb Reading, 18 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
Daniel Love is clearly dedicated to his subject matter, with oodles of time and research gone into this book. So many on the subject are just rehashes of readily available info. This one is refreshing, detailed, and thorough, with lots of nuggets of wisdom you will be hard pushed to find elsewhere. Congrats on a superb book. Highly recommended for lucid dreamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Guide on Lucid Dreaming!, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
R. Wigginton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most informative, straight talking and logical guide on the topic I've read. Perfect explanation for the beginner and plenty of additional techniques to try for the more experienced. Love's passion and study of lucid dreaming stems from his childhood and he presents his life's work in such a way, that makes an otherwise deep and obscure topic, easily accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i would more fully recommend The Mind at Night by Andrea Rock as an ..., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
I only read half of this book before accidentally leaving it on a train. The first half is interesting for anyone who has vivid memories of their dreams and wants to understand the process a little more. I kept expecting the writer to rip off his mask and reveal himself as Denis- Wheatley-type believer in the supernatural power of dreams. I suppose I'll never know now if this happens. i would more fully recommend The Mind at Night by Andrea Rock as an end to end scientific insight of the dreaming brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Study of an Enigmatic Human Faculty, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide (Paperback)
Lucid dreaming explained, explored, charted, dissected and elucidated. A study of an enigmatic human faculty that will prove invaluable not only to the neophyte but also to the adept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews