Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2013
I strongly recommend this excellent 'pocket guide' of a book to those who are keen or interested in a career in the City or just want to expand their financial and economic knowledge. It starts out with a 'nutshell' of the people and their involvement within the financial world, and goes on to explain each key term in further detail. It is very comprehensible and easy to read. The reader can make links and connect their understanding from this book to the current economy, and how it all applies in investment banking and stock exchanges.

For those who want to boost their knowledge and are considering a career in the commercial world, this is an excellent buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
The author (Christopher) is right in his introduction of the book, saying " the book is for everyone and for any motive" As a student, I can say the book served my motive. It increases my knowledge of the financial market and the economy as a whole. It is inspirational. I would continue to recommend it to every student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Great romp through the basics of what banks do from Microfinance through to CDOs.

Roles in Banks (esp large banks) get very specialized/niche, this a useful way to gain a broader view.

Importantly it has been written post crisis, so closer to the new normal.

Also an interesting read / very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I bought this when I joined a big 4 consultancy to try to get my head round The City and how it worked. It has a lot of complex ideas and I didn't take all of it in on the first read. It definitely explains things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I bought one copy for my brother and another for a friend. This is a comprehensive book about finance but it's written in a way that does not overwhelm beginners with unnecessary details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
It does what it says on the tin. It is a brief succinct summary of what you ought to know about what goes on in the square mile, if you have a financial services job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Arrived on time, good quality, interesting and easy to read for the person who is new to finance or who wants a nice summary of what he knows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
An excellent guide to the ways of the city and unlike many other books in this field it is perfectly up to date with all its information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
One of the best books on finance for beginners. He explains things simple and gives you even some historical context to them. Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Really helps, you might have to read it a couple of times but it gives you a great idea of what the hell is going on!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)