Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Look at the Discovery of the Remains of Richard III, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Deborah (North Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
Richard III: The King under the Car Park was just as interesting and informative as I expected. I particularly liked the organization of the book. It begins with general information about the Greyfriars Project, Richard III and Leicester and then moves to specifics. Other strengths are the writing style and the illustrations and photographs accompanying the text, many of which I had not seen previously on the Internet. I enjoyed the irony in Richard Buckley's emails to Dr. Jo Appleby and Dr. Turi King making it clear how little chance there was of finding the king's remains. Something else I really appreciated since I couldn't travel to the UK was the inclusion of John Aggs's illustrations of Richard III's last moments. Some of the illustrations I had seen on the Internet but others were new to me.

I can highly recommend this book to anyone interested in archeology in general and the discovery of the last Plantagenet king in particular.Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SCIENTISTS' STORY, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
I have already read and reviewed Michael Jones & Philippa Langley's book "The King's Grave" which focusses on the historical and human interest aspects of the story. Well, this is the archaelogists' version which concentrates on the science. Don't be put off by this- it's a highly readable account aimed at the general reader, with excellent illustrations. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL BOOK, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
Of all the books that have published on this tremendous find of Richard The Third,this is certainly the best!
A well written book,packed with plenty of detail and tremendous illustrations and photographs. It has encompassed the history,of the great man,as well as the details of the dig. The artists impressions of the area where he was laid to rest are wonderful.
Reading it made me very proud to live in Leicester.
I would recommend this inexpensive book to anyone with an interest in our heritage. Fantastic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate book, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
Brilliant book about the search for the body of Richard 111 and the complexities of the dig. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting Richard, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Dr. John Bromilow (Okehampton, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
This is probably the definitive work about the excavations at Greyfriars, Leicester, written for the general reader by two of the lead archaeologists who oversaw the project, Mathew Morris and Richard Buckley. It begins with an overview of the life and times of King Richard III, his journey to Leicester, his final journey to the battle where he lost his life, the battle itself, his burial and his grave. I was particularly interested to read a translation of his epitaph, which I had not come across before, for, although his monument was destroyed at the Dissolution, a copy of this was made. The authors (writing in the third person) describe the layout of medieval Leicester and some of the relevant building. There then follows day by day details of the excavation itself and a description of the finds. Finally they deal with the identification of the skeleton which was believed to be that of the King and how it was confirmed that it was in fact he.
This is not a dry academic work but a lively and very well written account of the excavation and its background. It is refreshing to read that the authors state when there is uncertainty about their conclusions by using words such as 'possibly' or 'probably'.
The book is a large format paperback - the size of a couple of 'normal' paperbacks - and of sixty five pages. The book is very well illustrated indeed and its size make the illustrations particularly information and clear. All of these illustrations are in colour where possible and include photographs, maps, plans, old prints and, what are particularly attractive, reconstructive drawings of medieval Leicester, the Friary, and even the King's possible monument.
Pity about the facial reconstruction on the near to the end page: I am very sceptical about this procedure as we cannot know what Richard's hair, eyes, nose, ears, lips etc. were really like. Good protruding lower jaw however!
An excellent description of the excavation and its background; this is the book to buy if you are interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
Bought for my Sister who read the book in one day and she really enjoyed it. She is a Historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating, 14 Mar 2014
By 
sandra turpin "boolkaholic" (Avondale Estates, GA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
Excellent account of the history of Richard III and Liecester, and the search for his remains. Facinating and held my interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
I've read several accounts of the discovery of Richard III's remains, and for my money this one, written by two of the archaeologists who found him, is easily the best. It is authoritative, detailed and beautifully illustrated, but wisely (I think) does not seek to judge Richard or claim he was any better than he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative book, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
Living in Leicester, we are pleased to be associated with King Richard III's last resting place. We've keenly followed events since the remains were found in a Leicester car park in September 2012 and look forward to visiting his final resting place in Leicester Cathedral. Well written and full of interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive and interesting read, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard III: The King Under the Car Park: The Story of the Search for England's Last Plantagenet King (Paperback)
This is a shortish, but very informative book. It is clear about known and verifiable information/facts, and careful about those that are uncertain. In other words, it is academic in its approach, as one would expect from a university publication. Having said that, it wears its academia fairly lightly, making it easy to read and a cracking story. One cannot deny that the archeologists got very lucky on this dig, but they are also professionals - to a large extent, they made their own luck and this book tells how. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews