Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stealth Dragon Services, Lucinda Hare, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealth Dragon Services: On wings of vengeance...: 4 (The Dragonsdome Chronicles) (Paperback)
Have you ever had to keep a secret that is impossible to keep? A Secret so big you are left biting your tongue while others stand on and laugh? Quenelda the main character in Lucinda Hare’s The stealth Dragon Services has to deal with that and more as she begins her training to become a dragon Lord, a position never before being offered to a woman. Throughout the book you see Quenelda develop her skills along with her friends as she tries to make her way through without giving anything away. Meanwhile a war is wagging with a Warlock at its core; it’s a hard time for everyone…

This book is an exciting enjoyable book with many heart stopping moments, the author (Lucinda Hare) is experienced and has many inspirations for her series of books The Dragon Whisperer. Her many furry friends provide the inspiration for the personalities of her many dragons showing her dedication to book writing, as each and every dragon in her book has their own individual part in the story. The characters are well developed and easy to get attached to.

Personally I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone aged 9+ who would like to read something with real meaning and depth while keeping it simple and easy to read. You can get caught up in the book and read it for hours on end without even realising the time passing by as you start to count your time in bells as the characters do. This is an amazing book and think many people would enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wings of vengeance are bringing in big changes!, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealth Dragon Services: On wings of vengeance...: 4 (The Dragonsdome Chronicles) (Paperback)
The action and adventure are building up in Book Four. There is a big war coming and every man, woman and child (and dragons big and small) in the Seven Kingdoms must stand up against the ruthless WarLock and his hordes of hobgoblins.
The SDS were brutally defeated and many of the brimstone mines are now under enemy control. There is no way they could hold up their defences against the imminent Maelstrom attacks. However, the Dragon Lords have a few cards of their own up their sleeves.

Despite their youth, Quenelda, Root and their peers have to push themselves to the limit as disciplined new recruits for the SDS. The accelerated training is certainly no walk in the park, and many of them have to learn to leave old habits, weaknesses and prejudices behind. Quenelda has to also grapple with her growing powers and find ways to channel her abilities and knowledge to help those around her. More importantly, can the budding Dragon Whisperer find a way to control the lovable and hilarious Two Gulps Too Many's insatiable appetite?

I commend Lucinda Hare for using a strong heroine and she develops other female characters in the book to be strong and capable in their own right. The list of main characters at the start along with the Prologue was very helpful to enable the reader to pick up where the last book stopped.

I hope we won't have to wait too long for Dark Dragon Dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow....just breathtaking and one of the best books ive every read, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow.....just wow is all I can say to the book.The plot is amazingly thought out and the detail put in to every character is incredible the story is about a young girl called Qenelda dewinter daughter of the earl Rufus dewinter who is a girl of just 13 summers who has a natural gift with dragons she can talk to them!!.The military is called the SDS (stealth dragon services) and is a very clever idea.It uses standard military practices but incorporates magic and dragons into it for the example the way they bring other dragons into battle is with imperials which are huge black dragons and I suppose they are kind of like cargo planes. I COULD NOT put this book down every chance I had I read it to the very end I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book but if you are going to read it I also recommend that you read book one first its called The Dragon Whisperer it will explain everything also this book is for all ages as Lucinda hare herself has commonly put it its for ages 9 - 99 so anyone can read it so what are you waiting for go down to water stones or wherever you get you books and BUY THIS BOOK

submitted by Cameron age:15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best in the series so far!, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finished the latest in the series last night and felt compelled to write a review as it is so worthy. Once again Lucinda Hare has brought us a fabulous book that you are immersed in straight from the beginning. As with other reviewers I found the list of characters at the front was invaluable, allowing you to pick up immediately from where the last book left off. This one though I found to be even more accomplished than the others, is that's possible. The characters are growing up and coming into their own, learning lessons and finding their powers and the story is growing up along with them. The attention to detail is amazing and the whole world of the Dragons becomes as real as the one we inhabit. Lucinda obviously has experience and knowledge of horses and that lends itself perfectly to creating a realism beyond many of the similar books out there. A Celtic thread runs throughout, courtesy of her Scottish heritage and works extremely well. There were many battles and battle training in this one and again Lucinda's research and knowledge of tactical maneuvers was exemplary, there were a couple of moments when I got goosebumps as it became apparent how the story was going to play out, it was very cleverly written to draw you in at just the right moment and perfectly paced. In my opinion this is the best one to date, a little more serious than the others, but that's to be expected as the protagonists are getting older and maturing, but that only made the book better for me. I believe this series should be getting far more world wide exposure than it is and personally would make a fantastic film - Pixar where are you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stealth Dragon Services - Lucinda Hare, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly the character list was very useful and this, along with the prologue meant I was straight back in Dragonsdome. I am a very quick reader but am unable to read books if they don’t grab my attention within the first couple of pages. No worries here, in fact I found it very hard to put the book down which resulted in a few very late nights.
As I don’t want to ruin the plot, I will just say I found the continuation of Quenelda and Root’s training fascinating and thoroughly enjoyed the problems encountered by The Lord Protector. This story of battlemages, a wedding, lots of fighting and of course many dragons is gripping and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One for dragon lovers, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stealth Dragon Services: On wings of vengeance...: 4 (The Dragonsdome Chronicles) (Paperback)
If you haven't yet met Quenelda and her dragon, you are missing a treat!

This series was good from the start, but with each book it has got better - filled with adventure, friendships and rivalries, magic, humans,dwarves, gnomes ... and dragons! Huge Imperial dragons (about the size of an Airbus, I imagine) able to carry numerous smaller battle dragons and soldiers and mages ...

Detailed descriptions of battle plans and surroundings never make the book drag - on the contrary, the chapters are generally short and snappy, switching between the two main sets of protagonists and thereby cleverly keeping the reader's attention while allowing him or her the chance to draw breath when the tension rises unbearably!

Children of many ages will enjoy the book - my husband and I are hoping that Lucinda will bring out the next instalment SOON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She's done it again!, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How does she do it? The standard of Lucinda's books keep escalating, chilling, thrilling and down right brilliant! Definitely the best yet! If you haven't read the first books, read them. All of the books are must reads for dragon lovers. Quenelda and Root change so much. I love books like this where, you know most of what's happening but no-one else in the book does which makes the story. One fault i would give is that Lucinda is cruel when she leaves chapters on cliff hangers so you have to read on, lost a lot of sleep there. At the end of this book i had to abandon my real life for a little i was so into it, so gripping. Amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Dragons? Then get this book!, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Stealth Dragon Services: On wings of vengeance...: 4 (The Dragonsdome Chronicles) (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of dragons and bought the first in this series (The Dragon Whisperer) on an off chance, that was the start of a love affair with the dragons and characters in this series.
This latest book hasn't dissapointed and there is no sign of the action letting up, Lucinda Hare has an unique ability to be able to cater to children and adults without dumbing down the storyline.
Can't wait for the next book, Get cracking Lucinda!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Along with other fans of Lucinda Hare’s fantastic Dragonsdome fantasy series, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Along with other fans of Lucinda Hare’s fantastic Dragonsdome fantasy series, I waited for this latest installment with bated breathe. What would happen with Rufus, Quenelda and Root? Would Too Gulps Too Many ever stop eating like a little piggy? Would Hugo be unmasked as the traitor he is and would he be caught? Would Quester survive? What ever would become of Root’s people? All of this, and much more, is explored in this new book. Yet again, the author takes you on a breakneck, exciting journey around the Seven Kingdoms, following the heroes in their endeavors. I loved the breaks from “Tradition” that are starting to take place around court, with Armelia providing some very good character development to move the story forward and open new avenues to explore. The queen is really starting to become more three dimensional as she is bought deeper in to the plot line and you find yourself loving her as much as Quenelda, Tagnost or Too Gulps. There is so much love and care taken over these stories, such emotion in the scenes between friends and family, that you almost feel that they are a part of you. You care deeply for the brave people of this story. You even feel for Darcy, in his confusion and turmoil!
I saw somebody compare these books to Harry Potter recently, but to me, these books are so much better than anything that Rowling puts out. Lucinda is so much better, don’t miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking for action and adventure...., 9 July 2014
By 
M. J. Morton "mortonmerl" (West Cumbria. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all four (so far) in this wonderful series I would highly recommend them to anyone who loves dragons and adventure.....irrespective of their age! I have become very fond of Quenelda, and her friends & dragons, and it was great to read more of their adventures and character development. These books have lots of action, an evil sorcerer, heroes and villains, wars and weddings....they are gripping...I defy you to put them down once started....and they make me laugh and cry!
The best books that I have read since the Harry Potter series....and I read a lot and don't say that lightly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stealth Dragon Services: On wings of vengeance...: 4 (The Dragonsdome Chronicles)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews