Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing...
This book is a must have. Every page is a journey of exploration into a magical world......going to Hell has never been so much fun! The viewing scope designed by Brian May is a joy to use and it will take you into a world beyond your imagination. Even though they were done 150 years ago, the humour and satire still rings true today, and the stereoscopic effect will...
Published 8 months ago by Paumanok

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Gift
A well presented gift bought for my brother at Christmas. Fascinating subject and enjoyed by all the family
Good coffee table book
Published 4 months ago by Tricia Camm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing..., 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
This book is a must have. Every page is a journey of exploration into a magical world......going to Hell has never been so much fun! The viewing scope designed by Brian May is a joy to use and it will take you into a world beyond your imagination. Even though they were done 150 years ago, the humour and satire still rings true today, and the stereoscopic effect will knock your socks off. I can't recommend this book enough....so step into the world of Diableries....you were expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of love, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in HellYou can tell when something is a work of love by the sheer quality and completeness of the final result. Diableries by Brian May, Denis Pellerin and Paula Fleming is a work of love. The book is a collection of 3-D images that were originally created between 1860 and the mid 1890s in France - the theme is Diabolic Imagery (Satan is the main character) - and you are provided with Brian's own design of OWL stereoscope to view the images. Needless to say, dating from the late 1800s a lot of the original 3-D images were in a fairly poor state and required a huge amount of work in Photoshop (that's where the love comes in) to get to the quality of image reproduced in Diableries. If you can remember the excitement you had as a child looking at stereo images that used to come with "Weetabix" packets, then you can relive that excitement with "Diableries" - a great Christmas present book for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
It's a very nice book to own and the stereoscopic images are just wonderful!
Also perfect book to put on the coffee table, so every time you have guest, they will be fascinated as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding work of scholarship., 8 Jan 2014
By 
JOHN BRADLEY "jb3d" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
I was delighted that my family bought me this superb book for Christmas. It combines the detail and rigour of an academic study with the excitement and visual impact of a 'coffee table' book. The production values are excellent, with high quality images that come to life in the clever 'OWL' stereoscope. The story behind these wonderful stereocards takes us through the history of 19th century France. For anyone who enjoyed 'A Village Lost and Found' this will be equally enjoyable. We are very lucky that three of the leading historians of stereoscopic photography have come together to create this book. Given the very high production values and the inclusion of a good quality stereo viewer, it is also a great bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars diableries, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
what an amazing work of art this book is. brian mays owl spectacles allow you into a peculiar vision of hell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
This was bought for a Christmas present and though it would not have been my personal choice I thought it was fantastically produced and when the recipient opened it I am surprised you did not hear the whoop of delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
I attended a talk by Dr Brian May et al at my university and it was amazing. From the word go, their talk kept me hooked and it's not hard to see how much this book was a labour of love, not just for Brian May and his cohorts but for the artists of the Diableries themselves. So I thoroughly reccomend this book; the Diableries are beautiful and well worth getting this to dive into the world of Sterescopes and Diableries because not only do you get to see beautiful masterpieces but you get to find out about them too! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
Excellent value for a superb book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever product!, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
Very interesting coverage of the topic. 3D effects work well. Buy for experts only - not a gift for just anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell (Hardcover)
I chose this book as a birthday present for myself. Wasn't sure what to expect but have not been disappointed in the book at all. I have found it fascinating and well worth every penny. Well done Brian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell
Diableries: Stereoscopic Adventures in Hell by Paula Richardson Fleming (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2013)
26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews