Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
Ever since I was a child, I was fascinated with Elvis. I loved his music and found his personal life fascinating too. I thought that I had read almost everything that had been ever written about this mega star, so you can imagine how I bowled over I was to come across `Elvis and Ireland' by Ivor Casey. Before reading this well researched, well written and beautifully illustrated book, I had no idea that Elvis had any connection with Ireland at all. The author has a wonderful way of telling stories with humour and he definitely knows his stuff. I couldn't put the book down until I had read it from cover to cover. I felt I was sitting in a cafe chatting with an old friend, only when I was leaving, instead of being satiated with caffeine, I was filled with numerous stories and facts about Elvis that I never knew before...
I would definitely recommend everyone to purchase at least three copies of this fabulous book: One to keep in your bookshelf and the other two to be given away as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable piece of social history, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
"Elvis and Ireland" is an indispensable piece of Irish social history: it examines how Catholic Ireland had its mores shaken by the "subversive" influence of Elvis, the King of rock 'n' roll and prototypical rockstar. Casey's research shows that Elvis's influence ran so widely and deeply in Ireland that he was the subject of debate in Dáil Éireann, the principal chamber of the Irish parliament; furthermore, the book examines in fascinating detail how the "King" provoked the animosity of Bishop John Charles McQuaid, the quintessential pillar and symbol of Irish Catholic conservatism. What "Elvis and Ireland" does so successfully is thread the reactions and feelings of the media, members of government and of Church, of musicians and artists, into a single coherent and lucid account. This is the métier of any biographer or historian. And then there is the music: I was delighted to learn the details of Elvis's devotion to the recordings of the great Irish tenor Count John McCormack in particular, and I admire "Elvis and Ireland" for the huge degree of research which went into the acquisition of opinions of figures in Irish life on Elvis and his personal influence and/or importance to them. I look forward to reading "Elvis and Ireland" again, and revisiting some of Elvis's music and then music of some of the Irish stars he influenced, and by whom he was influenced, on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new twist on the Elvis story., 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
I loved this book. As an Elvis fan I found it very interesting about the influence he had on the Irish music scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and interesting book., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
Whether you're a fan of Elvis, or Ireland, this is a great read that is thoroughly researched and exceptionally well written book that explores a side of the King that we've never considered before. Full of great anecdotes, interviews and archive material, this is a must read. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed. A++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this it is brilliant !!!!!, 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
I am a massive Elvis fan and i thought i had read everything about him and i certainly know everything about him.
So when i heard about this new book by Irish Elvis fan Ivor Casey, it sounded very,very fascinating, appealing to not just the Elvis fan but to those interested in Irish music and it did not disappoint, very, very interesting and from a different angle, if you love or just like Elvis and Irish music then this book is a 'MUST' read !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
Purchased for the wife, an avid Elvis fan, she knows the author personally and had him sign it, the book was then auction for a childrens charity and sold for 40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well researched - a good read., 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and can recommend it to all Elvis fans. Interesting to read how Elvis influenced the music scene in Ireland and contemporary bands. Serious Elvis music lovers will enjoy reading how his music slowly but surely overcame religious prejudice and was enthusiastically embraced by Irish youth. I have sent a copy of this book to a friend in St. Louis, Missouri who is of Irish extraction and she greatly enjoyed it. Don't hesitate to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Exploration of Elvis's International Appeal, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis and Ireland (Paperback)
A very interesting read! The book charts Elvis's life and how his various releases helped to transform popular music culture in Ireland. I found the book to be well researched, going into considerable detail about Elvis's effect on Ireland.

Although there have been many biographies of Elvis written already, I found it particularly refreshing to read about his life and music from the perspective of an Irish author. After all, Elvis not only touched America - he touched the world, and few books focus on his international appeal.

One minor criticism is the lack of photographs in the book, though I appreciate that photographs connecting Elvis with Ireland would be very difficult to source.

As someone with a growing interest in Irish popular music, I particularly enjoyed reading about the many Irish artists who were influenced by Elvis's music such as U2 and Thin Lizzy, and how they were inspired by different stages of Elvis's career. It was also interesting reading about all the Irish artists who have recorded his songs such as The Cranberries, Aslan and The Pogues.

Overall, I recommend this book to fans of Elvis as well as anyone interested in learning about the history of Irish popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis and Ireland
Elvis and Ireland by Ivor Casey (Paperback - 7 Jan 2013)
10.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews