Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bird in a cage and a tin of paint, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put down this heart pulling tale of a lonely boy starved of the unconditional love that every child is entitled to. Throughout the book you feel the pain and frustrations experienced by the author who writes plainly about his life and maintains your interest with a pure raw humanity. He endures cruelties and indignities that would shock every loving parent and caring teacher. Not a book to read for pleasure but a worthwhile read to remind us that society needs to be alert for hidden disabilities and abuse in innocent children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 17 Sep 2012
By 
J Couzins "John Couzins" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who was not identified as being dyslexic until the age of 22, I found this a very enjoyable and thought-provoking book. While my experience was from a different era, I found some of the alienation suffered by Chris throughout his time in the education system humbling. The book is very well written and does an excellent job of translating the torment suffered by Chris throughout his early life onto paper (Kindle).

While Chris was unfortunate enough to have grown up in an era that did not recognise dyslexia as a real condition, anyone who has grown up with the condition, whether it was recognised or not, would get a great deal from reading this.

Chris also has the additional unpleasantness of growing up with an abusive mother, but finds comfort in embracing his imagination to escape the pain of his real life.

Much the same as Chris the author, I have never read a book for pleasure, but anyone wanting to benefit from Chris's experiences should know that the Kindle Text-To-Speech function on the Kindle is fantastic. So no excuses :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done., 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A heartbreaking read, very honestly written you get a feeling that this has been a difficult story to tell, but also that writing it has helped the author to heal some of his past.
I was unsure about reading the book, but Iam so pleased that I did.
Well done to Chris Stewart.
S.Huddleston.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true & powerful read offering hope,wisdom,courage and inspiration, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bird in a Cage and a Tin of Paint (Paperback)
Clearly an outstanding narrative.Chris, in his childhood story has both moved me to my core with sadness and hope bound together with an inspired courage.I can see that for many people who have experienced prolonged challenges and setbacks in their lives,reading or hearing(for those who find it difficult to read)this true and reflective life story will provide comfort,hope and inspiration to overcome many of life's challenges.

For a child who often experienced a communicative and emotional mismatch of who he was, to be able to forge ahead in life and courageously reflect,write,put himself forward as an author and publish, regardless of his past,including traumas or any neuro-psychological deficits experienced,this is a remarkable story.
Chris' story will offer wise teaching in respecting people's uniqueness,understanding of loving parenting,preventing abuse through understanding the trauma and scars that it leaves upon the human psyche; it will encourage respect for all society who have experienced suffering at the hands of others,through no fault of their own.

Chris, among many things, clearly shows that his Dyslexia and IQ are not interrelated. He clearly had co-occurring developmental and emotional challenges as he grew up. He in his story shows an acute awareness of life and he displayed high emotional intelligence. I found myself wanting to send him some new toy cars. When you read the book I am confident you will understand.

In many places in the book I was emotional and also challenged to see the world from a unique, talented and fantastically enthusiastic little boy who experienced serious emotional and physical abuse.
I hope Chris continues to share his story. I am confident the students and people who are lucky to spend time with him will be both encouraged,inspired and valued, most probably loved.

This clever and moving book needs to be shared , discussed and reflected on.
It clearly will benefit all who choose to hear it,feel it, and take some time to deeply understand what it has really taken for this story to be told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most powerful insight to dyslexia, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Zak Sly (Lancaster, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bird in a Cage and a Tin of Paint (Paperback)
This has to be one of the easiest books to read but at the same time the hardest! The way the book is written and set out is a dyslexia readers dream! It so easy to read; I could read the book and at the same time not have to think about what the words or sentences mean. I could read and form a picture of what Chris is saying at the same time!

Reading about the up bringing of Chris and what went on to him was hard to take in, a small innocent young boy being abused by his mother and finding his imagination to hide from the pain and suffering.

The most powerful insight to dyslexia - Zak Sly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Bird in a Cage and a Tin of Paint (Paperback)
A good read, very honest and heartbreaking at times. Made me realise what a good child hood I had, brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story of true grit and love for nature, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. V. B. Brier "Poppy" (By the coast NW UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
what an amazing story that will grip you all the way through, ups and downs of a real life story. A must read book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 19 Sep 2012
This is book you will not be able to put down till you have finished it is,it is unbelivable at times to imagine that this actually happened being born in the 70s in a very loving and caring family and growing up living in swinton and still do today things have changed so much since the life that chris encountered back then.Being a mother and a grandma myself it was hard to think this went on but as we no it takes someone like chris to talk about his life experience,just like to thankyou you chris for sharing with us and i no your life is very different now and having a wonderful wife to share much happier times,wish you much sucess with your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad but true, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book five stars, its a good read. Taking us back through Chris Stewarts life, not a lot of laughs a lot of sadness and he found a way to deal with it. It made him the man he is today, Love makes you strong, makes you feel safe that was missing until he met his wife. He comes across as funny, caring, kind and someone you want to spend time with. I got all that from reading his books. Which I have enjoyed very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bird in a Cage and a Tin of Paint
A Bird in a Cage and a Tin of Paint by Chris Stewart (Paperback - 21 Feb 2013)
12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews