Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for football fans!
Gave this a 5. I really enjoyed it and couldn't put it down. Very interesting insights into the cogs of a football club. Rather interesting as a Preston North End Fan to hear his side of the Darren Ferguson & PNE episode.
Published 16 months ago by Adam Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
An interesting read for serious football minded people, giving an insight into the general behind the scenes running of a football club. . My one real relevant criticism is that for such a self confessed 'Football mad' he makes no mention of his own playing career. This I find,most most puzzling. surely he must have played the game at some level or other. Was a brief...
Published 11 months ago by Thomas Waterman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for football fans!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gave this a 5. I really enjoyed it and couldn't put it down. Very interesting insights into the cogs of a football club. Rather interesting as a Preston North End Fan to hear his side of the Darren Ferguson & PNE episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Hobby to Obsession (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my brother, he said it has been one of the best books he has read and would recommend it to all football fans irrespective of the team they support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darragh MacAnthony has some ego, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great insight into the day to day runnings of a professional football club but my god does the author need to keep his ego in check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From "Big Ron" to the Championship...., 12 Aug 2012
By 
Steven Knifton (Beverley, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book for any Peterboro' United supporter who wants to know how we got from the 'low' of the "Big Ron" television programme to getting into, then finally staying in the Championship.

For a 'little' team like us it is a great achievement and story.

I do thing some of the reviewers are missing the point....!!!

He is not a 'professional author'. He is a football chairman with a story to tell, that genuine football supporters will understand, whether they are from Peterborough or not....

I thoroughly recommend this book...!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a Peterborough United fan but I really enjoyed reading this book. Got a lot more time for Darragh MacAnthony after reading this. Very honest book worth reading for any footie fan. Barry Fry stories made me smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book. Thoroughly enjoying reading such a wonderful book from Darragh Macanthony. As a Posh fan myself it's truly wonderful to read a book written by the clubs chairman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Hobby to Obsession (Hardcover)
An interesting read for serious football minded people, giving an insight into the general behind the scenes running of a football club. . My one real relevant criticism is that for such a self confessed 'Football mad' he makes no mention of his own playing career. This I find,most most puzzling. surely he must have played the game at some level or other. Was a brief holiday kickabout with Kenny Dalgleish and Alan Hansen the whole extent of his footballing experience. Despite that, although my loyalties still lay with Arsenal I am now also a 'Posh' fan! Good luck for the coming season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BOOK, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book with interesting stories by all 3 men involved with posh in the last few years we'll recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "politics" of running a football club, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Brian Barrett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Hobby to Obsession (Hardcover)
This book portrays the madness, volatility, fervor, loyalty, and passion as well as the strengths and weaknesses of those people who would dare to take on the running of a football club - not to mention the vast egos that come with it. The book contains many typos, choice language, incorrect spellings, omissions, and factual inaccuracies, which, added to a mixed-up chronological order, strongly reflect the absolute chaos that hit Peterborough United Football Club when Darragh MacAnthony took on its ownership. His startling impact on Peterborough United and his bewildering working relationship with the Manager and the Director of Football is anything but dull The book is an absolutely compelling read. Once started, the reader will find it hard to put it down. I am a season ticket holder at Posh and have lived through the turbulent but hugely enjoyable and exciting reign of the current owner. During this time the fans have been privileged to enjoy watching fantastic football on the pitch whilst at the same time looking bemusedly on at the antics of their crazy management team off the pitch. I can fully understand the reasons behind the book's title and I'm sure it would appeal to football supporters everywhere. Pure entertainment I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Egotistical Manager, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a particular interesting story about an Irishman who makes it to the top in Real Estate buys a football team and loses it all.The arrogance of this man is amazing. His treatment of his colleagues and business partners is appalling. How the fans could support a club with this man at the reins is difficult to comprehend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Hobby to Obsession
From Hobby to Obsession by Darragh MacAnthony (Hardcover - 30 Jun 2012)
Used & New from: 21.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews