Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars In plain view
This is a truly ground breaking work that will in time receive wide recognition. Here are the most striking revelations of the discovery of the art of the neolithic and bronze age that has been hidden in plain view. The evidence of the art is demonstrated with superb photographs and explained in the text in a way that is truly eye opening. The author has opened his mind...
Published 21 months ago by Pendragon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmm
I certainly haven't read the whole book, but two things struck me. First, the author claims to see all sorts of figures (human, animal, conceptual) in the surface of stones from numerous monuments which he 'illustrates' with photographs, but for the life of me they seem pretty tenuous, highly subjective, and lighting-dependent. Second, he claims to have solved...
Published 18 months ago by Michael G. Sharpe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmm, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Michael G. Sharpe (Findhorn, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
I certainly haven't read the whole book, but two things struck me. First, the author claims to see all sorts of figures (human, animal, conceptual) in the surface of stones from numerous monuments which he 'illustrates' with photographs, but for the life of me they seem pretty tenuous, highly subjective, and lighting-dependent. Second, he claims to have solved definitively a number of great mysteries relating to these monuments, etc., but I saw no sign of this. Am I missing something? The book generally has the appearance of what used to be called 'vanity publishing': In other words, self-published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality binding, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
My book began falling apart after just a couple uses. There is good information within but it cost me about $70.00 to get it and I would expect more concern for quality. I am very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
Firstly one reviewer refers to self publishing as "vanity" publishing. This was once the case and some authors such as Rowling say they would not think of working outside the publishing system. But the Kindle has transformed publishing. Last year 25% of amazon best sellers were self published, 4 authors sold over a million copies on line with no fewer than 23 selling over 250K copies. The most widely known is Wool where the author used the review system on Amazon to create a multi million selling event where publishers had to go to him to negotiate a published book version on his terms..

So let us treat this as a serious book and not snipe at it (though editing is plainly something the self published should be able to out source). The novel idea is that standing stones ,as well as being scientific, are also artistic with many in the shapes of heads or complete humans. Now that is a unique and mold breaking idea.I have at least 20 books about standing stones and not one other looks at the actual shape of the stones themselves. As the author says they are in "Plain view".

As a resident of Lewis with 6 standing stone circles or semi-circles within 20 minutes drive, my immediate reaction is to go out and have another close look at each stone to see if I can detect artistic content.

As a perceptual psychologist I will be doubtful of the idea. The human mind is always trying to make sense of shapes it is 'seeing'. Look at clouds and try to see what is happening. Remember the old Hancock scene where he is seeing shapes and people in a wallpaper pattern; "There is Winston Churchill - you must be able to see him - now he has got a little dog with him. Can you see that Bill?" Bill Kerr; "No".

So a fascinating idea and I will rush out and revisit sites I have seen hundreds of times.If you live near stone circles go back and look at the stones themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In plain view, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
This is a truly ground breaking work that will in time receive wide recognition. Here are the most striking revelations of the discovery of the art of the neolithic and bronze age that has been hidden in plain view. The evidence of the art is demonstrated with superb photographs and explained in the text in a way that is truly eye opening. The author has opened his mind and eyes to those our ancestors to reach very credible answers to some of the mysteries of our ancient monuments, the people who built them and their beliefs and drivers. This book is a must if you want to fill in the gaps left by the conventional view of prehistory and be amongst the first to modern observers to see this great art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pre-history at your fingertips, 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
A truly amazing and thought-provoking publication. The author has carried out a huge amount of research over a period of years and puts his case across in a thorough way which any reader can follow. Backed up by detailed sketches and B&W and colour photographs, this is a volume to return to again and again. I enjoy dipping into it over a coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An intreaguing approach to pre-history, 20 Sep 2012
By 
O2BGR8 (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
This is an intreaguing approach to pre-history that on the face of things appeared to be quite unsophisticated, but this author argues his case well that there is more to it than first meets the eye and proves it with some stunning photographs. An interesting and thought provoking read and the photos make for a super "coffee table" book. I love it. I keep coming back to thumb through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read & super photography, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age (Paperback)
For Neolithic & bronze age enthusiasts, this is a must read! A great deal of hard work and research has gone into this book, I enjoyed it immensely. An enjoyable and insightful book, much credit must be given to the author. **Highly recommended**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pictures from the Past: Solving the Major Mysteries of the Neolithic and Bronze Age
Used & New from: 25.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews