Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars12
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2013
Message to Mr. Savage: Isn't it about time you wrote a new book, sir? Rather than regurgitating England's Dreaming (the book AND the accompanying compilation) for the Nth time, I mean?

There are many MANY incredible images included in this latest (actually rather unimaginative tome), but you'll already be familiar with the vast majority of them &, ultimately, it leaves me wondering who this book is actually intended for - the J. Clarkson-adoring late-to-the-party spamheads who used to beat me up for liking this music in the '80s, presumably?

All in all, a very poor show.
0Comment19 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
for a man with his history this is terrible,nothing that isn't widely known .Why not put in full page pictures of those very easy to find records so nothing new is brought to the table.Nice package but content so poor.
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
Have to agree with previous comments- so much opportunity was lost with this project- lack of info, dubious entries and limited scope of singles. The highlights were the interviews with a range of key people- very informative and appreciated.The best book in this category is the hard to find '45 Revolutions' which is simply superb and the best punk title to come out in the last 30 years - so save your money and buy a copy of 45 Revolutions NOT Punk 45.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
303 covers of punk singles, some of them not truly essential. Many omissions of truly essential worldwide classics.

Comment to each single very short, with a few absolutely INCREDIBLE mistakes.

An example?
Page 89:
THE DAMNED - NEAT NEAT NEAT
Comment:
Third single from the group.

What????? THIRD single?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
66 comments26 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
I'd love to write a good review of this book, but having not seen it, I can't. I'd planned to do this subject myself, It's a minefield, there will always be ommissions. Where do you end? should it be just UK releases, worldwide bands, just the classics. - Impossible! not to mention the rear sleeve designs of which I'd be very surprised if they were included.
Check out my website at www . 45 sleeves . co .uk to see lots of these sleeves at (almost) full size
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Perfect book for anyone who wasn't buying 45s in the 70's or for someone who did but has since parted with them or can't be bothered to get them out of the loft. As is said in the book, there has always been more to music than just the music. In the punk era, I wouldn't buy a single if it had an awful sleeve, and some of them sure did. I'm not sure if some of the weaker sleeves have improved what with the distance we are now at from punk (almost 40 years woah). Maybe bad design is just bad design. I still don't like the art for the Killjoys or Slaughter & the dogs 1st single! Strange that the sleeves work fine as art works, separated from the music they contained. They are stand alone objects. Its not just Brit punk included here, there are lots of rare US records, most of which were hard, or impossible to find in the UK. These include some of the great 45s by Californian bands, championed by book author Jon Savage on his amazing 'Black Hole' CD. There is also a CD available to accompany this book (sold separately).
The text sheds new light on the complex relationship between musicians, fans , label owners & activists in Paris, London & NY /CA and the relationship between 60s garage punk and the 70s phenomena. A highlight for me in Punk 45 is the interview with Skydog label boss Marc Zermati who had a lot to do with helping to introduce to London the likes of MC5 (although they had played in London in the 70s) The Flaming Groovies (the Grease EP is such a fabulous record with a wonderful sleeve) Iggy, and some great Pub Rock - just great raw Rock n Roll. This was a golden period, when it wasn't exactly clear about what punk should be (something to do with reality and energy), before cliché and the lowest common denominator & the cash-ins kicked in. A nice piece from Soul Jazz main man recalls him being impressed by the huge collage of punk/new wave 45 sleeves at Bonaparte records in Bromley as I was too.
The single really was the perfect medium for punks short sharp musical shocks (Ok there were at least 3 rather good LPs too..)
as it was for other once vital youth musics, 60s soul, 70s funk, rockabilly, reggae... If you weren't there, get this book, and if you were I think you'll enjoy looking back without getting those tatty and musty old records out! Rock On!
0Comment5 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
The book is just, as written on the cover, an art book with original size reproduction of hundreds of punk singles cover (and smaller size reproduction of many others) and for me it works, since I love the records sleeves but i don't have the time or the money needed to collect original punk records. I'm enjoying this book even if it is not perfect (and there is the occasional error, it seems, like the second single of a band listed as the third single, big issue, sure....), and, well, there are dozens of books written on punk history published, and I have a few of them, but the focus here is on the images, simple as this.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
fab book
lots of good pics
it sums up the punk era really well and is a great gift for anyone with an interest in art
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
great
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
AS A MASSIVE PUNK FAN BACK IN THE DAY, THIS BROUGHT BACK A TON OF MEMORIES FOR ME.....LOVE IT BIGTIME
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.