Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punk no is dead no?
Perfect book for anyone who wasn't buying 45s in the 70's or for someone who did but has since parted with them or can't be bothered to get them out of the loft. As is said in the book, there has always been more to music than just the music. In the punk era, I wouldn't buy a single if it had an awful sleeve, and some of them sure did. I'm not sure if some of the weaker...
Published 9 months ago by reco-fan

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I don't wanna go down to the basement.
Message to Mr. Savage: Isn't it about time you wrote a new book, sir? Rather than regurgitating England's Dreaming (the book AND the accompanying compilation) for the Nth time, I mean?

There are many MANY incredible images included in this latest (actually rather unimaginative tome), but you'll already be familiar with the vast majority of them &, ultimately,...
Published 9 months ago by Rooksby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I don't wanna go down to the basement., 25 Nov 2013
By 
Rooksby (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
Message to Mr. Savage: Isn't it about time you wrote a new book, sir? Rather than regurgitating England's Dreaming (the book AND the accompanying compilation) for the Nth time, I mean?

There are many MANY incredible images included in this latest (actually rather unimaginative tome), but you'll already be familiar with the vast majority of them &, ultimately, it leaves me wondering who this book is actually intended for - the J. Clarkson-adoring late-to-the-party spamheads who used to beat me up for liking this music in the '80s, presumably?

All in all, a very poor show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
for a man with his history this is terrible,nothing that isn't widely known .Why not put in full page pictures of those very easy to find records so nothing new is brought to the table.Nice package but content so poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So much potential lost!, 1 Dec 2013
By 
J. MOORE (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
Have to agree with previous comments- so much opportunity was lost with this project- lack of info, dubious entries and limited scope of singles. The highlights were the interviews with a range of key people- very informative and appreciated.The best book in this category is the hard to find '45 Revolutions' which is simply superb and the best punk title to come out in the last 30 years - so save your money and buy a copy of 45 Revolutions NOT Punk 45.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPPOINTING, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
303 covers of punk singles, some of them not truly essential. Many omissions of truly essential worldwide classics.

Comment to each single very short, with a few absolutely INCREDIBLE mistakes.

An example?
Page 89:
THE DAMNED - NEAT NEAT NEAT
Comment:
Third single from the group.

What????? THIRD single?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punk no is dead no?, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
Perfect book for anyone who wasn't buying 45s in the 70's or for someone who did but has since parted with them or can't be bothered to get them out of the loft. As is said in the book, there has always been more to music than just the music. In the punk era, I wouldn't buy a single if it had an awful sleeve, and some of them sure did. I'm not sure if some of the weaker sleeves have improved what with the distance we are now at from punk (almost 40 years woah). Maybe bad design is just bad design. I still don't like the art for the Killjoys or Slaughter & the dogs 1st single! Strange that the sleeves work fine as art works, separated from the music they contained. They are stand alone objects. Its not just Brit punk included here, there are lots of rare US records, most of which were hard, or impossible to find in the UK. These include some of the great 45s by Californian bands, championed by book author Jon Savage on his amazing 'Black Hole' CD. There is also a CD available to accompany this book (sold separately).
The text sheds new light on the complex relationship between musicians, fans , label owners & activists in Paris, London & NY /CA and the relationship between 60s garage punk and the 70s phenomena. A highlight for me in Punk 45 is the interview with Skydog label boss Marc Zermati who had a lot to do with helping to introduce to London the likes of MC5 (although they had played in London in the 70s) The Flaming Groovies (the Grease EP is such a fabulous record with a wonderful sleeve) Iggy, and some great Pub Rock - just great raw Rock n Roll. This was a golden period, when it wasn't exactly clear about what punk should be (something to do with reality and energy), before cliché and the lowest common denominator & the cash-ins kicked in. A nice piece from Soul Jazz main man recalls him being impressed by the huge collage of punk/new wave 45 sleeves at Bonaparte records in Bromley as I was too.
The single really was the perfect medium for punks short sharp musical shocks (Ok there were at least 3 rather good LPs too..)
as it was for other once vital youth musics, 60s soul, 70s funk, rockabilly, reggae... If you weren't there, get this book, and if you were I think you'll enjoy looking back without getting those tatty and musty old records out! Rock On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Singles cover art, simple as this., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
The book is just, as written on the cover, an art book with original size reproduction of hundreds of punk singles cover (and smaller size reproduction of many others) and for me it works, since I love the records sleeves but i don't have the time or the money needed to collect original punk records. I'm enjoying this book even if it is not perfect (and there is the occasional error, it seems, like the second single of a band listed as the third single, big issue, sure....), and, well, there are dozens of books written on punk history published, and I have a few of them, but the focus here is on the images, simple as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
AS A MASSIVE PUNK FAN BACK IN THE DAY, THIS BROUGHT BACK A TON OF MEMORIES FOR ME.....LOVE IT BIGTIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars punk 45, 19 Dec 2013
By 
C. Slape - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
fab book
lots of good pics
it sums up the punk era really well and is a great gift for anyone with an interest in art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class punk book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 (Paperback)
Coming across this massive book was the best find in years! Seeing and reading about some of the best punk singles ever was brilliant. Some of the rare covers/vinyl etc was great to see again and also coming across bands that I hadn't heard of was even more interesting.... I only hope more would follow of the same thing, the punk era was life changing for so many young people....punk 45 volume 2? More vinyl covers and info covering the same era would be fantastic ( if possible). Still go through page by page in case I have missed anything, class!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80
Punk 45: The Singles Cover Art of Punk 1976-80 by Jon Savage (Paperback - 4 Nov 2013)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews