Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a book of Cypriot recipes
The book is everything I'd hoped it would be: loads of recipes for small plates, big plates, sweet plates (desserts) and even drinks (cocktails, etc). All the recipes are of of Greek or Cypriot provenance. Indeed, most recipes are handed down from Tonia's mother and family members and include such perennial favourites such as: Dips; Tabouleh; Elli's Orange & Chilli...
Published 18 months ago by Happy in Cyprus

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was lost in the post
Unfortunately this item was lost in the post and they did not have a replacement - What a shame would have been a good xmas pressie.
Published 20 months ago by Mrs I H Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a book of Cypriot recipes, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
The book is everything I'd hoped it would be: loads of recipes for small plates, big plates, sweet plates (desserts) and even drinks (cocktails, etc). All the recipes are of of Greek or Cypriot provenance. Indeed, most recipes are handed down from Tonia's mother and family members and include such perennial favourites such as: Dips; Tabouleh; Elli's Orange & Chilli Chutney (many of us know Elli from having visited her jam and chutney shop); Feta Cheese Parcels; Pan-Fried Halloumi; Spinach Filo Pie; Olive, Tomato and Caper Tart; Dolmades and Keftedes. These are just some of the Small Plates.

The Large Plates include: Grilled Lemon Chicken; Afelia; Stuffed Peppers; Sheftalia; Souvlakia; Stifado; Mousakka and Kleftiko. Loads of other recipes including many fish and seafood dishes. Too many to list here.

Desserts also: Pavlova; Loukamades (Honey Balls); Galadoboureko; Rizogalo; Glyko; Ice Cream (Cypriot-style); Kateifi; Sweet Anari Puffs; Baklava; Poached Pears in Red Wine...and so on.

Bakery items include biscuits and cakes. All in all, a fabulous book. Being a humble male - and having never cooked a proper meal in my 65 year life - I was so inspired by this book that I surprised my family by cooking them 'Chicken with Lemon & Olives' as a main and 'Pavlova with Greek Delight' for dessert. They loved both dishes.

This book makes a great Christmas or birthday present for anyone who loves Cyprus or the Cypriot way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant & easy to follow recipes, 13 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
Tonia's passion for all things Greek & Cypriot as witnessed on her award-winning cookery shows shine through in this fabulous book. The photographs are fantastic, the recipes delicious and easy to follow, and the flavours of Greece and Cyprus literally bounce off the pages. Packed with anecdotes, snapshots of her family life, and glorious images from Cyprus this book makes you want to get on the first plane to Greece or Cyprus or, if you can't do that, get into the kitchen and try some of the recipes to bring a bit of Cypriot sunshine and flavour into your household. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book-Must have, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
If you watch the TV programs then you got to get the book, can easy make you fat or visit Cyprus..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cook book, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
Having enjoyed the tv programmes I was looking forward to tonia bringing out a book.Having a Cypriot partner I am used to Greek cooking and already create some of the recipes ...the same way tonia does.
It was good to find some new recipes too and I have enjoyed trying them out.
The pictures in the book are great and it was good picking out places in the photos that I recognise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
Loved this book, have read cover to cover and reminds me of why I love my time spent in Cyprus!!!
A quick pick me up when missing the way of life and the sun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
I'm enjoying the book did buy three. The others were presents, for my children, better than newtons cradle. Can,t think of anything else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All your favourites, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Miss S. Demetriou (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
This book is more than a recipe book it gives snippets of the Cypriot way of life. Food in Cyprus is the central element that brings friends and family together on all occasions food is the focus. You can taste the sunshine. All the firm favourites are here with a few individual Tonia twists handed down through the family and a few little tips and tricks to help with the fiddly things. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
My mum now cooks every day following this book. we are Greek ourselves and this helps us a lot!
Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 3 Mar 2014
By 
A. Kosta (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
I was relly happy to find this book because i loved tonia's TV series. The book is fab, she has personalised it with photos of her family and there are lots of lovely colour pictures of the food. I havent yet made anything from it but Im sure it will be perfect. Would definetely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and long awaited book, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Tonia's Greek Kitchen (Hardcover)
Having watched the show, both my mother ad I have been waiting for years for a cookbook from Tonia and this lives up to expectation. Bought as a gift for my Mum, this book is beautifully presented and well written with familiar and tasty Greek recipes that we love.
Posted was prompt even though it was Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tonia's Greek Kitchen
Tonia's Greek Kitchen by Tonia Buxton (Hardcover - Jun 2012)
Used & New from: 17.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews