Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Wilko
There have been plenty of rock 'n' roll autobiographies, probably too many if truth be told. Like me you've probably read more than your fair share of them. Too many times I've finished a lengthy tome only to think 'well that was all very interesting, but it didn't actually tell me what they were really like'. However, Wilko Johnson's new autobiography, written with help...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by Derek Longstaff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Really, it does need editing
The visual elements of this are good, particularly Wilko's caricatures and paintings. The words are just direct transcripts of dialogue with no concessions whatsoever to how they might be better presented in the written form. I couldn't even agree this is a sad product of the texting generation. It's just lazy. You can get away with this in a filmed documentary. You can't...
Published 8 months ago by Victoria


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Wilko, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
There have been plenty of rock 'n' roll autobiographies, probably too many if truth be told. Like me you've probably read more than your fair share of them. Too many times I've finished a lengthy tome only to think 'well that was all very interesting, but it didn't actually tell me what they were really like'. However, Wilko Johnson's new autobiography, written with help from Zoe Howe, positively reeks of the man behind the black and red Telecaster. As soon as you open this book you are drawn into Wilko's world.

And what a world it is. Howe has done a superb job editing Wilko's scattergun verbiage to tell his story. The first thing that strikes you is his voice, both his voice as storyteller and his unique, twisted, amphetamine driven take on estuary English. It's a powerful voice that has been on an extraordinary journey, both physically and intellectually, and it really comes to life on the pages of this book. As Howe says in her introduction, 'this is your portal to Planet Wilko'.

Planet Wilko is a fascinating place that's made all the more interesting by the amount of photos and memorabilia taken from Wilko's personal archive. It ranges from photos taken by the hippie Wilko on his trip to Afghanistan, paintings, press cuttings and photos of the man in black at the height of his powers with The Feelgoods and as a solo performer.

This is the book that fans of Dr Feelgood and Wilko Johnson have been waiting for. A rare example of autobiography it is as interesting and quirky as its author, quite simply it is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising adventures of a polymath, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Philtrum (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
More of a coffee table book with long anecdotes. I saw Dr Feelgood back in the late 70s (after Wilko had left) and I'd half followed his career. I was sad to hear the other day that he's been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer. I would like to get tickets for his farewell tour. He's clearly something of a polymath and I enjoyed the tales of his travels in India. He was obviously a talented artist and the later sections about his interest in astronomy were also good.

What was never really discussed and what would have been very interesting was his marriage. He says he was devoted to his wife, Irene, and they were together for 40 years until she died. But his girlfriends were mentioned a lot throughout the book. There was one mention of the band not approving of his "lifestyle" but further detail here would have been interesting, and not in the prurient sense.

Very enjoyable.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
Top class story really well told. Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's tinged with sadness due to his terminal illness. Such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilko lookin back, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
this tome is a real addition to any Wilko fans collection , gives his insight not only into his music but his life and interests, great photos and wonderful text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking Back at Me, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
Incredible book by a much loved legend. following his announcement that he has terminal cancer, it makes this brilliant book all the more poignant and treasured
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely genuine book, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
surprised by how good this book was. excellent stories and well laid out in chronology. fabulous photos.arrived in superb condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really, it does need editing, 6 April 2014
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
The visual elements of this are good, particularly Wilko's caricatures and paintings. The words are just direct transcripts of dialogue with no concessions whatsoever to how they might be better presented in the written form. I couldn't even agree this is a sad product of the texting generation. It's just lazy. You can get away with this in a filmed documentary. You can't on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much told me everything about Wilko I'd like to ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
Pretty much told me everything about Wilko I'd like to ask him if I ever had the chance to meet this iconic R&B rock guitarist .

Lots of personal pics in the book so it's a a complete scrap book of this intellectual working class guitar god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He does it right!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
A slightly idiosyncratic but highly readable memoir. Insightful,interesting,informative and uplifting. Sad to read that Wilko and Lee B were not to reconciled before Lee's premature passing.Highly recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars looking forward to it, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: Looking Back At Me (Hardcover)
A few of us went up to Kendal in 2005 for the 'Mad, Bad & Dangerous' tour. Decided to pick tickets up early and bumped into Norman Watt-Roy. Got him a drink whereupon Wilko saw us and came over for his glass of pop. I gave him my condolences for the passing of his wife and he was genuinely touched. As the conversation continued the team was graced by the presence of Mr Otway and I can honestly say it was one of the best afternoons of my 58 years on the planet. Saw the original Feelgoods and asked Wilko about what might have been, he said " I wrote the songs, the rest of them were permanently pissed". I thought autographs would be a bit naff so I still have a fuzzy picture of me and Wilko and a cracker of Norman's famous left hand. Not being from the South I think he epitomises what they would call a 'diamond geezer'. I look forward to getting this book and will put my picture of the man inside for posterity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looking Back At Me
Looking Back At Me by Zoe Street Howe (Hardcover - 4 Jun 2012)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews