Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get set for more fun adventures
If you have any of Daniel Start's other books: Wild Swimming, Wild Swimming Coast, ..... France etc., then you will be over the moon with this one. In the same style as those others, the area is broken down into regions, with a location map, GPS coordinates (and a British Grid conversion at the back of the book for those of us who think folding out a paper map is an...
Published 17 months ago by BigSplashSwimming

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit mean on details
Intended for a camping week in May, I was a little disappointed with this book. Each location is given just a few words and doesn't really say anything except where it is and if it's a beach, cave, relic etc. Not very informative in other words.
The layout is also bad......each photograph is numbered, but the description associated with the photo is invariably on a...
Published 7 months ago by D. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get set for more fun adventures, 19 May 2013
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
If you have any of Daniel Start's other books: Wild Swimming, Wild Swimming Coast, ..... France etc., then you will be over the moon with this one. In the same style as those others, the area is broken down into regions, with a location map, GPS coordinates (and a British Grid conversion at the back of the book for those of us who think folding out a paper map is an essential part of the adventure experience). Then each region has headings such as secret beaches, food, sunset hilltops, accommodation, sacred and ancient etc. each with the necessary info about how to get there who to contact and some well researched little gems of local information. This is a first class guide for anyone who wants something different from a day out (or weekend, or longer) and not only does it cover interests you may already have but you will find yourself going, 'oooh, I fancy trying that out'. Hence, I now have a very long list of new things to see and do.

Again, the quality of the photos, as in all of Daniel's publications is first class. I've been to a lot of the places in the book, I've taken lots of photos but Daniel somehow has a way of taking a photo that leaves me thinking 'why didn't I see it like that?'.

And the book itself seems designed for adventure: compact, with large in-folded cover sleeves for use as page markers, and the covers are coated giving the feel that they are both highly durable and water resistant. I certainly plan to thoroughly test out that durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
Got this book today and have studied some interesting places already. The authors have certainly done their research and home work resulting in a very informative and pleasurable book. I am already planning a few away road trips over the coming weeks. The attention to detail and directions etc is first hand. Accompanied by some beautiful photographs you cannot fail to absorb the atmosphere and feel yourself getting excited as you browse. A definite book for anyone who loves wild places, swimming, walking and camping. Thoroughly recommend this book. Worth every penny.
Will further update when visited planned locations.
Cheers Guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
Just got back from a three week dawdle around the south west - we didn't book anywhere in advance and used this book to eat, camp and plan days out...easily the best holiday i have had in the UK. Buy it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chock full of interesting stuff, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
Used it only a couple of times, but it's come up trumps so far. I think it's going to become a habit that before we head out somewhere, we check the book first for advice.

So, highly recommended, although try not to feel pressured by all the pictures of naked swimming/jumping/canoeing. If you want to keep your kecks on, that's cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit mean on details, 15 Mar 2014
By 
D. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
Intended for a camping week in May, I was a little disappointed with this book. Each location is given just a few words and doesn't really say anything except where it is and if it's a beach, cave, relic etc. Not very informative in other words.
The layout is also bad......each photograph is numbered, but the description associated with the photo is invariably on a different page, so you have to turn back or forward to find the text.....very annoying.
I'll take it with me on the trip, but I suspect that a OS map and local knowledge will serve me better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful addition to the wild series of books, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
A brilliant guide to places off the beaten track with easy to follow routes.lovely photography,and a handy size for the rucksack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
The book arrived the next day after ordering. I used this book for our Cornwall trip over Easter, it was very useful and we visited many places. I would reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
Lovely book if you're looking for more out of the way and unusual things to do. Locations in there that you would be very unlikely to find on your own. Lovely book to just browse as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
A very interesting guild to the South West. I have been out and found a couple of the locations already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only guide book I needed, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) (Paperback)
I don't often bother to write reviews but have just come back from a month on the road in my campervan and this book has been my absolute bible. I didn't really use any other of my travel books whilst in Cornwall and Devon and was not disappointed once with any of the locations I visited. Even in July many of the deserted coves and rivers were truly deserted and mind blowingly stunning. There has been lots of news stories lately of tourists risking emergency services lives by doing stupid things, so before you go off with this book, ready to strip your clothes off and jump into rivers and coves, make sure you do your research on how to do so safely. Hope the author has more of these in the pipeline for other areas of the uk :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides)
Wild Guide: Devon, Cornwall and South West (Wild Guides) by Joanna Keeling (Paperback - 1 May 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews