Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars69
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2013
I've ridden about 5 of the rides so far and all of them have been great, I've ended up in scenic villages and wild islands and coastal paths, all within one hour of London on the train. It has proven to be really lovingly researched, which I knew would be the case, having heard the authors podcast 'The Bike Show', which is a really quality show. The book cleverly doesn't bother with route maps inside the book itself, but instead gives a detailed turn by turn instructions and mapping with a printable online link. I used the printable maps provided, turn by turn instructions and occasionally the GPS file included, and I found my way perfectly well. The book itself is really readable without even doing the rides, with some interesting local history and very pretty pictures. It's inspired me to have a lot of staycations, and explore the beautiful landscape and culture just outside my hometown. As the title of my review says, this definitely is the best book for scenic bike rides near London!
0Comment26 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Love the photos, narrative and maps in the book...

AND each chapter also comes with a set of online resources too: a detailed one page route summary sheet to print out and take with you (with special folds so it fits in your top pocket), plus full ordnance survey mapping (including 1:50,000 purple Landranger) to either print out or save / email to your phone. There's also a GPX so you can also set up your phone to guide you if you have GPS (though use a lot of battery).

This is a really neat idea and means you don't have to take the whole book with you on a ride.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment20 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
A beautifully put together selection of rides including inspiring photos and a bit of history of the areas. You only realise the full potential of the book if you download the gpx routes (I imported them to the ride with gps App on my phone easily), as the book itself only gives a vague map of each ride.The rides are all achievable as day trips from London, maybe they're a bit on the short side if you're a serious cyclist (the longest ride is about 70 miles). A great purchase if you are looking for cycling inspiration.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
Bought this for my mum and her partner as they are, to put it lightly, cycling enthusiasts. They are really excited about all the new trips they're going to do and love the book.

Great to give as a gift but I would also recommend to anyone wanting to do some trips on two-wheels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
I have recently bought this and had a good look through it. On the plus side It is nicely presented and has lots of beautiful photographs and so makes an excellent coffee table book and definitely provides the inspiration to get out and explore the beautiful areas that are described in the book. However the book is not really very practical to use. The line drawings in the book are not really sufficient and the text is not good as a guide. The map extracts and route directions should be printed in the book themselves and not on an external website. As for the text, it is a little confused and reads more like a Sunday Supplement travel piece than providing detailed information on the routes covered. I think the writer was a little confused as to whether he wanted to write travel prose ( he tries to be lyrical on occasions) or a practical guide. It is ok but I really suspect that this book will be more popular with armchair travellers than those who really want to get out and about. Nick Cotton's book on Cycle Tours in Kent and East Sussex (though visually less appealing) is much more practical in this regard.
0Comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
My friend for whom it was bought thinks it is fantastic, reminds him of childhood rides and can't wait to try out other rides when he moves to the south-east. Photography also good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This is a great book for anyone looking for new ways to discover cycling around London. The routes are great and inspiring, and you can download more detailed maps and GPX files from the website. One thing to also highlight are the photos which are amazing and atmospheric - they really make you want to go out and ride.

I'm pleased to see this addition to the local bike route selection as most books covering cycling in and around London focus on rather (too) short routes. This book gets the distance about right, and if you fancy longer routes (like I do) there's the potential of combining two into a longer ride.
0Comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Lovely book with inspiring rides and great photos. You don't even have to take it with you when you get on your bike, the routes are available to download and print individually. The rides are manageable for the enthusiastic amateur and there are several routes ideal for families, but you can often join two together if you fancy something a bit more ambitious. Great guide for places to eat and drink too. We have done one of the London-based rides and will be venturing deeper into the countryside this summer armed with the downloaded maps.
0Comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Great book, but who on earth made the decision to omit the photos on the Kindle edition.
Big big mistake, the atmospheric photos make up the book.
Big mistake!
33 comments5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
The copy is unpretentiously poetic, the photography totally sizzling, the content compelling - it makes you want to leap onto your two-wheeled steed immediately, and the design super classy. A sophisticated piece of cycling literature that is irresistible. Am so definitely up for pursuing cycling adventures inspired by this triumphant tome this summer. What this book does brilliantly is change your perspective on the potential for London and its surrounds as cycling destinations, whether its linking together's London Parks and green spaces via canal towpath cycling routes, or suggesting sneaky ways of sojourning out into Essex this book should be an essential read for the Capital's urban cyclists in search of some superbly structured microadventures! Great work. More please!
33 comments9 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Award-Winning England Bike Tours. Book the Trip of a Lifetime!