Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best book for scenic bike rides near London
I've ridden about 5 of the rides so far and all of them have been great, I've ended up in scenic villages and wild islands and coastal paths, all within one hour of London on the train. It has proven to be really lovingly researched, which I knew would be the case, having heard the authors podcast 'The Bike Show', which is a really quality show. The book cleverly doesn't...
Published 14 months ago by Rose Clark

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit waffly and not practical to use
I don't want to sound all down on this book, so I will start by saying it contains some good ideas for rides.

Having said that, there is a lot of unnecessary dialogue from the author, which are just his opinions. The directions for rides are intricate in places, so you need to be paying attention to follow them. This makes it a bit hard work.

You...
Published 1 month ago by ecsjcoop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A present for my son who has taken to biking ..., 5 July 2014
By 
Madge "Marge" (Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
A present for my son who has taken to biking and lives in the area. My girlfriend and her crew, all in their prime , have been very adventurous using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative guide, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
got it from our library originally and then decided to buy it - a good recommendation if you think so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars idyllic england, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who is a cycling enthusiast and he has enjoyed it although he says some of the journeys seem rather strenuous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Lanes, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
The Book arrived on time and in good condition .So I would recommend the Supplier I hope the content of the book was helpful to my son. As he loves Cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
Clear written book. Ideal for people who enjoy exploring different areas. Areas are very broad, would have liked to see more trips focused in each area rather than one but maybe I missed it when scanning the book. Diddnt want to damage it as it is a christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 36 rides, 18 Nov 2013
By 
M. Foster "Viking Mike" (Londinium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
Really useful and reassuring that i have already done some of these pre-book and done subsequent to receiving the book.. Bought it for a friend as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cycling book for the SE of England, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
Top quality and very useful book. Agreed with other reviewers about the photos - they do make you want to go out on your bike. The SE of England being the crowded place it is, we are always amazed at how Jack managed to plot fantastic routes through truly quiet lanes and minor roads. It also provides online maps, which in 2013, is a must have. Best of all, he updates the routes online if there's minor mistakes, which is an advantage of having a digital files available.

With regards to the routes, we've done 5 of them, all really good and scenic, including the one in the East side of London. We don't tend to eat in pubs when we ride, so cannot comment on their quality, but we do stop by other places he recommends such as bike and occasionally cafes - all well chosen.

It has a ton of work in it, you can really tell straight after you do one of his routes. It is also great that he includes sections such as wild camping, which we always welcome. Definitely worth it if you are in the SE of England, and even if you are a regular of some of the areas covered by this book, let me tell you you might be surprised by some of the lanes and off road sections used here. This brings me to mention that, for all the routes we've done, you are better off on wider tyres than the usual 23 mm skinny road ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book. Well worth it!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
ceppm (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
It's a beautiful book with well thought routes, nice pictures and descriptions.

Jack Thurston really understands how to make a guide book in the era of apps and the web. This is a big and too beautiful book for a guide, you certainly don't want to carry it with you on your ride but the author knows that! You can download the turn by turn instructions and gpx files for whatever app/gadget you use when you're out.

All routes can be reached by public transport which is another well thought thing. Many cyclists don't have cars so you don't have to worry about that.

This book is about telling you about these nice rides. It really makes you wish you want to be out on your bike riding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Falling in love with freewheeling, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
This book is magical. We have done rides 17 and 18 on consecutive weekends and discovered so many delights on both - Western Oxfordshire laid out before us in the early evening sun, as we swept off the Chilterns and headed to The William IV pub at Hailey for a welcome Brakespears pint, kingfishers irridescent in flight by the quiet Thames at Shiplake, an unexpected Maharajah's Well in a small village, Mapledurham's rosy bricks glowing and a welcome cup of tea....

Buy this book. It will turn your weekends into mini-holidays, and re-vitalise your heart (the hills!!!) and awaken your sense of wonder at England's off the beaten track joys. And the photos are gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great present for a bike lover, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East) (Paperback)
Bought this for my partner who is a keen cyclist. It's a beautiful book, well written with photos and great explanations of the sites along the routes. You can look the routes up online too. We are looking forward to trying them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Lanes: 36 Glorious Bike Rides in Southern England (London and the South-East)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews