Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful as finals get close!
This book was well used in our medic house in the run up to finals!
I would say this book is particularly useful for two things:

1. Making sure you have the basics covered - the pass/fail stuff.
The cases are mostly straightforward (esp. the histories) and therefore high yield in terms of essential knowledge. Similarly, the mark sheets do not go into...
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I have learnt that the best way to prepare for OSCEs is with others
I have learnt that the best way to prepare for OSCEs is with others. The difficulty arises is that the person marking may not have a structure to follow. This book avoids that from occurring and provides a clear scenario and mark scheme to follow.

I personally feel this book works very well with "The unofficial guide to passing OSCEs" and its use with...
Published 21 days ago by sadhia khan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful as finals get close!, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book was well used in our medic house in the run up to finals!
I would say this book is particularly useful for two things:

1. Making sure you have the basics covered - the pass/fail stuff.
The cases are mostly straightforward (esp. the histories) and therefore high yield in terms of essential knowledge. Similarly, the mark sheets do not go into the level of detail that our exam ones did, but are a really useful indicator of the crucial information.

2. Specialties/topics that you get less "hands on" experience with
We used this book a lot for psychiatry as it was an area that we had less experience in and one in which I found it more difficult to make up histories to practice with!
I also found the radiology section useful and wish I'd known there was an entire book with radiology cases in it (Unofficial Guide to Radiology)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing!, 30 April 2015
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book is meant to be an addition to the “Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs” of the same series. The books complement each other and ensure you are well equipped to simulate the actual exam as close as possible. However, I found the book to be sufficiently useful on its own, as I was after ideas for actual stations to go through.

The example scenarios are realistic and comprehensive enough to make them a great role-playing script. Stations are accompanied by useful examples of correct performance, e.g. radiology reports, answers to examiner questions, etc. This is great for practicing your spiel at the end of stations. There are plenty of follow-up questions (or vivas) that you can challenge yourself with and ensure you have mastered the relevant stations sufficiently.

One of the most useful aspects, I feel, is the breakdown of the marking for each station. This gives you a good idea of what is expected in each scenario and enables you to focus your revision and technique in order to tick every box and succeed in the exam. The mark sheets at the end of each station allow for further practice to smooth out any issues.

This is quite picky, but I would say the book could include a few more history scenarios of presenting complaints, e.g. syncope, palpitations, SOB, etc. This would ensure you do not need to consult any other sources and can just focus on practice. All else is perfect to enable you to master OSCEs quickly and painlessly. I recommend this book and will be using it for the rest of my time at medical school (currently, in year 3).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful textbook, 21 April 2013
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Finally, a user-friendly book that truly feels like it equips you with the knowledge and understanding you need to go into the OSCE examination with confidence. Laying the book out according to topic and highlighting commonly seen problems makes this both an easy to read and easy to remember text book - a safety net when your mind blanks during the exam! Having guideline questions means knowledge is rapidly consolidated and recalled. Highly recommended for any med student!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I have learnt that the best way to prepare for OSCEs is with others, 1 May 2015
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
I have learnt that the best way to prepare for OSCEs is with others. The difficulty arises is that the person marking may not have a structure to follow. This book avoids that from occurring and provides a clear scenario and mark scheme to follow.

I personally feel this book works very well with "The unofficial guide to passing OSCEs" and its use with the book I would give it four stars. I have given it three stars as I think it cannot be used alone without a base knowledge of the topics, because of this I would say this book is best recommended for people who have knowledge but need more practise.

It is a great aid for revision. It also means you can practise with those with medical knowledge or no medical knowledge as such a clear structure is provided. It enables you to see your weak areas because of the clear structure provided. The additional questions at the end allow your knowledge o be exercised as it would be during your real exam.

The scenarios provided are sufficient and all specialities are covered; with radiological scenarios as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shahs, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Brilliant aide to accompany the parent book. Perfect for practising close to exams! A must have for finals in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good variety of scenarios for OSCE role play. Examiner's mark scheme is exceptionally useful., 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
The variety of stations in the candidate briefings book gives a good coverage of the important core areas that would be tested in final medical school examinations, making them good texts for OSCE practice. It is a very good complement when used together with its parent book (The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs). Furthermore, the examiner's mark scheme and Q&A are helpful in aiding learning. It gives students an idea of what examiners are normally looking for, as well as the type of questions that examiners are likely to ask at the end of a typical OSCE station. Moreover, the set of additional questions at the end of each 'station' in the book also help to consolidate and encourage active learning by probing into areas relevant to the particular skills area or OSCE station. At the end of the day, doing well in OSCEs is all about having enough practice and going through the different scenarios in this book by role-playing with a friend definitely boost confidence for the actual OSCE exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to being sleek and professional at OSCEs, 27 April 2015
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book which addresses the main barrier to performing well at an OSCE station. Carrying out required tasks under the watchful eye of an examiner is quite daunting. Most students are anxious about what is expected of them and this book answers those unspoken questions with detailed mark schemes and feedback. The key to OSCEs is practice and this is a fantastic tool to aid you in that and mimic the exam scenario as closely as possible. As a medical student I’ve had OSCE stations where I read the briefing and forgot or still wasn’t sure what to do once I started the station. Practicing with the briefings given and reading the examiners briefing helps build up confidence. This is an excellent companion book to the ‘Unofficial Guide to OSCEs book’ and should be read by anyone who wants to feel at ease and perform their best as OSCEs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to use to practice!, 19 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
When it comes to revising for OSCEs, the best method of perfecting clinical and communication skills comes through practice. This book provides all the resources for students to go through examples in groups under examination settings as roleplays. The examiner mark schemes allows the student to know what is expected of them as an ideal candidate and professional and thus know which areas they are good in and which they can improve in. The concise information and additional questions is useful in consolidating your knowledge and recalling the main points required for the 92 stations covered in this book. This a fantastic book to put your clinical and communication skills into practice and test what you really know and don't know, without having to make up stations and improvise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Practice makes perfect!, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This user-friendly book is perfect for practicing OSCEs with fellow Medical Students, or even family/friends. I found the candidate briefings reflected those given in my real exam, written in a very similar style and covering common and important OSCE topics. There are loads of different stations to practice along with usable mark schemes for each. The "Additional Questions to Consider" accompanying each mock station help to further simulate the OSCE situation. An excellent accompaniment to "The Unofficial Guide to OSCEs".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for passing OSCEs!!, 24 April 2015
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs: Candidate Briefings, Patient Briefings and Mark Schemes (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book accompanies the parent book, 'The Unofficial Guide to OSCEs'. It is extremely useful in the lead-up to exams in order to practice real stations with mark schemes and useful tips and strategies to learn from in order to prepare effectively. It has little tips to make the student go that extra bit to look professional and truly deals with the situation from an OSCE point of view, rather than just skill/examination + knowledge. Great way to learn those 'extra questions' at the end of OSCEs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews