Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book!
Very good book covering a lot of basics OSCE stations for medical school - it details pretty much 100% of what you need to know for passing OSCEs at medical school level without all the extra details many other books go into. It's colourful, easy to read and you're able to flick to sections quickly, however, it's pretty heafy so not very good for carrying out and about,...
Published on 16 July 2012 by Sarah

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I'm a final year medical student and bought this book after it came recommended by several people in my year.

Superficially it looks great. It covers a wide range of potential OSCE stations from histories, examinations and specialties to prescribing and radiology.

However, it quickly becomes obvious that this book is lacking depth. One example of...
Published 21 months ago by Medstudent


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book!, 16 July 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Very good book covering a lot of basics OSCE stations for medical school - it details pretty much 100% of what you need to know for passing OSCEs at medical school level without all the extra details many other books go into. It's colourful, easy to read and you're able to flick to sections quickly, however, it's pretty heafy so not very good for carrying out and about, or reading on the bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 24 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Pros

-A variety of scenarios to learn (from histories and examinations, to specialities, radiology, and practical skills).
-Good depth of information provided.
-The information in the textbook is clear and well written with extra tips to help in the OSCE.
-Unique in that it is written by junior doctors and medical students.
-Excellent if you have just started your clinical years.
-Personal experiences from doctors and medical students are provided.

Cons

-Although most areas are covered in good depth, some areas are slightly vague and requires a bit more explanation.
-A little more information in history scenarios would have been better.

Review

As a 3rd year medical student, this book is particularly good at providing knowledge on a whole range of OSCE scenarios that I will potentially be examined on. The book also has many other scenarios that I will need to know in my 4th and 5th year of medicine so it's a book I can use for my forthcoming years which I am pleased with.

When comparing what is expected from me during mock OSCEs with the information in the textbook, it's pretty close. However, on some scenarios a little more depth and detail would have been good to get those few extra points! (e.g. when listening for mitral stenosis, I have been taught to roll the patient to the left, patient's breath held in expiration and to then listen over the apex with the bell of the Stethoscope which isn't fully mentioned in the text). Therefore, some information can come across as slightly vague which can leave the reader a bit unsure on how to perform those specific parts, particularly if they are just starting to practice OSCEs.

What is expected from you will vary depending on the university you are at so it is best to combine this book with other resources.

However, the book does cover a healthy amount of background information to help us understand why we are asking or looking for particular things in histories and examinations.

The communication scenarios are really good at making sure you explain and communicate information to a patient in a logical and well-constructed manner. The textbook also provides extra pieces of information which aids you if the patient has any extra concerns or if the examiner asks any questions at the end.

In general, the the text is easy to read and the layout is very good (it doesn't feel like you're reading endless amounts of text!) and the pictures from the examination scenarios help to visualise what you need to physically do when performing an examination.

Overall, I would recommend this book since the information provided is clear, informative, and very engaging which helps when you feel like you have to remember a lot of information!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful book for finals, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Extremely useful book - I will definitely use this for my final exams!
Concise and very clinically relevant information packed into an OSCE book - it goes beyond any of the other OSCE book I have seen,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
I'm a final year medical student and bought this book after it came recommended by several people in my year.

Superficially it looks great. It covers a wide range of potential OSCE stations from histories, examinations and specialties to prescribing and radiology.

However, it quickly becomes obvious that this book is lacking depth. One example of this is the abdominal examination station. The book mentions clubbing, but not a list of abdominal causes of clubbing. There is no mention of Murphy's or Rovsing's sign, which are fairly standard in other textbooks. However, the worst bit is that there is no explanation on how to palpate the abdominal organs. This is the most important part of the examination and since specific organs are palpated differently it seems crazy that this book misses this out all together! (It merely says 'palpate the liver, spleen and kidneys')

Another example is the upper limb neurological examination. When testing power there is no reference to the myotome or nerve roots tested- knowledge of this is essential for making a neurological diagnosis. Although dermatomes are mentioned, a picture of the areas would have made this much clearer.

With this book I find that I have to be constantly cross referencing with other textbooks in order to get enough information on each topic. It's fine for supplementing notes, but I would definitely not recommend this for finals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Australian Medical School OSCEs, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
I loved this book!
Easy to read with great concise and relevant information. The book provides more than just explanations of commonly tested History and Physical Examination stations, it is filled with Consultant tips, Cases to Learn from, review questions and tables of vital information.

A based my OSCE study from this resource, great for students of all levels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful for my 3rd year OSCE, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Great book that I found really useful for my OSCE in 3rd year. No doubt it will be making an appearance again come 5th year. Would strongly recommend this book to anyone even if you aren't struggling with OSCEs. Nice concise information on what to get accross in explanation stations too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for OSCE revisions!, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book is written in a clear and organized manner, very easy to follow and covers what you really should know for your OSCEs. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book was invaluable in revision for my finals. thanks to everybody who has contributed. I can definitely definitely recommend it to anybody else studying for finals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 July 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Just want to pass on a big thank you to the editorial team from myself and friends in Southampton (year 3), it was all we used for OSCE prep and all went well. Really an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Really clear text with good pictures. Aimed at the right level for medical finals with great examples of scenarios and tips for how to improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine)
£31.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews