Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book!
Very good book covering a lot of basics OSCE stations for medical school - it details pretty much 100% of what you need to know for passing OSCEs at medical school level without all the extra details many other books go into. It's colourful, easy to read and you're able to flick to sections quickly, however, it's pretty heafy so not very good for carrying out and about,...
Published on 16 July 2012 by Sarah

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I'm a final year medical student and bought this book after it came recommended by several people in my year.

Superficially it looks great. It covers a wide range of potential OSCE stations from histories, examinations and specialties to prescribing and radiology.

However, it quickly becomes obvious that this book is lacking depth. One example of...
Published 18 months ago by Medstudent


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
I'm a final year medical student and bought this book after it came recommended by several people in my year.

Superficially it looks great. It covers a wide range of potential OSCE stations from histories, examinations and specialties to prescribing and radiology.

However, it quickly becomes obvious that this book is lacking depth. One example of this is the abdominal examination station. The book mentions clubbing, but not a list of abdominal causes of clubbing. There is no mention of Murphy's or Rovsing's sign, which are fairly standard in other textbooks. However, the worst bit is that there is no explanation on how to palpate the abdominal organs. This is the most important part of the examination and since specific organs are palpated differently it seems crazy that this book misses this out all together! (It merely says 'palpate the liver, spleen and kidneys')

Another example is the upper limb neurological examination. When testing power there is no reference to the myotome or nerve roots tested- knowledge of this is essential for making a neurological diagnosis. Although dermatomes are mentioned, a picture of the areas would have made this much clearer.

With this book I find that I have to be constantly cross referencing with other textbooks in order to get enough information on each topic. It's fine for supplementing notes, but I would definitely not recommend this for finals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book!, 16 July 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Very good book covering a lot of basics OSCE stations for medical school - it details pretty much 100% of what you need to know for passing OSCEs at medical school level without all the extra details many other books go into. It's colourful, easy to read and you're able to flick to sections quickly, however, it's pretty heafy so not very good for carrying out and about, or reading on the bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful book for finals, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Extremely useful book - I will definitely use this for my final exams!
Concise and very clinically relevant information packed into an OSCE book - it goes beyond any of the other OSCE book I have seen,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Australian Medical School OSCEs, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
I loved this book!
Easy to read with great concise and relevant information. The book provides more than just explanations of commonly tested History and Physical Examination stations, it is filled with Consultant tips, Cases to Learn from, review questions and tables of vital information.

A based my OSCE study from this resource, great for students of all levels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful for my 3rd year OSCE, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Great book that I found really useful for my OSCE in 3rd year. No doubt it will be making an appearance again come 5th year. Would strongly recommend this book to anyone even if you aren't struggling with OSCEs. Nice concise information on what to get accross in explanation stations too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for OSCE revisions!, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book is written in a clear and organized manner, very easy to follow and covers what you really should know for your OSCEs. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
This book was invaluable in revision for my finals. thanks to everybody who has contributed. I can definitely definitely recommend it to anybody else studying for finals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 July 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Just want to pass on a big thank you to the editorial team from myself and friends in Southampton (year 3), it was all we used for OSCE prep and all went well. Really an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Really clear text with good pictures. Aimed at the right level for medical finals with great examples of scenarios and tips for how to improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine) (Paperback)
Very clear, easy to reference and informative guide. Arrived on time, and came in really useful for the end of year osce, as well as for my elective work experience on AMU. No doubt I'll dipping back throughout year 5. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unofficial Guide to Passing OSCEs (Unofficial Guides to Medicine)
26.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews