Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About the Music
If you're looking for the gory details of the Excess and Debauchery that followed UFO tours from the 70's and probably beyond, this is perhaps not the book you are looking for - You'll have to wait until Phil OR Pete tell their story! However, as a book lovingly compiled by a Mega fan, it focuses on what most people forget - How Fantastic the Music was, so on that level...
Published 14 months ago by Doyle

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scratches the surface
The positives first: there aren't many books available on UFO which is a real shame as the group is worthy of this - in terms of quality of music and a story worth telling. I did learn plenty of things I didn't previously know too. Clearly referenced, but that makes it feel almost like a dissertation.

What didn't hit the mark for me...well, it's not an official...
Published 16 months ago by Stevejmo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About the Music, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
Doyle (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story (Paperback)
If you're looking for the gory details of the Excess and Debauchery that followed UFO tours from the 70's and probably beyond, this is perhaps not the book you are looking for - You'll have to wait until Phil OR Pete tell their story! However, as a book lovingly compiled by a Mega fan, it focuses on what most people forget - How Fantastic the Music was, so on that level this is a great read and it sent me back to rediscover UFO classic music that had been long forgotten about. It's not Rose coloured spectacles either: Phil Mogg doesn't become Mother Teresa; Misdemeanour doesn't become a 'Classic Album' so it's realistic enough to recognise the flawed genius that epitomises UFO. It's a great read for any fan of the band, or for those who've heard a bit and want to find more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scratches the surface, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story (Paperback)
The positives first: there aren't many books available on UFO which is a real shame as the group is worthy of this - in terms of quality of music and a story worth telling. I did learn plenty of things I didn't previously know too. Clearly referenced, but that makes it feel almost like a dissertation.

What didn't hit the mark for me...well, it's not an official release so there's no direct input from any of the main UFO members specifically for this book, quotes fro magazines etc but that's not enough really. No road stories, the highs and lows of touring and recording...nothing to really get your teeth into. Neil Daniels (and readers) would no doubt have liked the participation of the group (especially the Strangers in the Night lineup), and that's the book which needs writing on UFO. Written slightly too much as an enthusiastic fan...a book like this reads better when the author writes in a completely impartial way. I have seen UFO 3 times and have most of their catalogue but do you care what I think? Quite.

In truth, many UFO albums have been inconsistent since the original departure of Schenker, and not much has really been a 'return to form' (a term a little over-used in this book). UFO are a little confusing in this respect as the benchmark this implies is the Strangers in the night era, and, let's be honest, nothing has touched this since, as good as some songs have been since then. However, if the book acknowledged this it might tail off a little quicker than it already does reflecting UFOs very slow decline from one of our absolute top hard rock groups to where they are now, a group which appears to receive very little interest in the press (even the guitar magazines, which Vinnie Moore might expect to hold some interest for). A few more pictures, tour tickets, t-shirts, import record sleeves etc would have really enhanced this book too (see Martin Popoff's book on Judas Priest for a glorious example of how to do this).

Overall then, worth owning if you are a UFO fan, and Neil Daniels had the right intentions with this book. Not essential, but there's almost nothing to recommend as an alternative. Needs more content to fully satisfy the reader, and those who need to provide that content aren't available for comment here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative book, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story (Paperback)
A pretty good read, neil daniels takes most of his stories and anecdotes from the various music press around at the time and collates it in chronological order. It is quite informative and does answer questions you may have been wondering about.
The only thing that could probably outdo this book would be written by Mogg and Way in their own definitive words, warts and all..
One criticism, photos are o.k but would of like to seen a few more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story (Paperback)
High Stakes & Dangerous Men is the first biography of UFO not including Martin Popoff's equally good book which focuses more on the albums and songs. There's been some complaints that this is a cut and paste effort. Sure, the author doesn't include interviews with the band and so it is not official, but he's gone into depth on the stories behind the albums especially High Stakes with interviews with Kit Woolven, Laurence Archer and Clive Edwards. Daniels has interviewed ex members and producers and has written a detailed yet compact book on the history of the band going back to 1969. he obviously loves the music and the band but he is objective in his account. I've read some of Daniels' other books, including his excellent tomes on Judas Priest and Journey, and this is probably better. It makes a nifty companion to Popoff's own book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... generous with the star rating because they are my favourite band. The book is okay, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story (Paperback)
I've been over generous with the star rating because they are my favourite band. The book is okay, it's the early Schenker years I'm interested in and their is not much meat on the bones here. This stems from not much information being kept on the band in those years apart from some interviews, snippets which are presented here. Most of the book concentrates on the later Chapman years which is interesting......all the bands albums are reviewed but not in great detail....so all in all a fairly okay 'scrapbook' type book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great band but not so great book, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
milphogg (Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointing.. Light on detail, too many errors.. Lacking insight into the actual music ... If you want to read a decent book on this great band search out the Martin Popoff book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't knock it - Enjoy, 11 Sept. 2014
This review is from: High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story (Paperback)
The simple fact that there are so few books about one of the greatest rock bands to never have been properly recognised, deserves 5 stars from me. The book is described from the outset as being an unofficial auto-biography, so I never expected it to cover interviews etc. I've only just started reading it, and no doubt there might be some errors but to me it doesn't matter - having been a proper fan for 40 years I know quite a bit about the group line ups and have seen each of those line ups on stage at various locations home and abroad, but already I am learning new little snippets about the band - so I know the book will be worthwhile to me.
Anyone who can put a script together like this, especially about UFO gets my thumbs up. Hopefully someone will do the same about Yngwie, Vinne Moore (before UFO), Jason Becker and the almighty Paul Gilbert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story
High Stakes & Dangerous Men - The UFO Story by Neil Daniels (Paperback - 15 Nov. 2013)
£13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews