Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull reader
I have read all the English language books about Jethro Tull and in my 43 years as a fan many interviews,articles etc. about the best band since The Beatles.This is one of the best.
As always when I have read about people who are still alive I wonder what has been edited out.
Thoroughly recommended for all Jethro Tull and Ian Anderson fans.
Buy with...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Allen Graham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
It's ok ish
Published 28 days ago by David S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull reader, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. Allen Graham (Workington,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
I have read all the English language books about Jethro Tull and in my 43 years as a fan many interviews,articles etc. about the best band since The Beatles.This is one of the best.
As always when I have read about people who are still alive I wonder what has been edited out.
Thoroughly recommended for all Jethro Tull and Ian Anderson fans.
Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An opportunity missed., 22 May 2015
By 
Colin Murtagh "Colin Murtagh" (Rotherham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book that has a lot to recommend it. However it also has a lot of things that could be so much better.
Let's start with the good points. . The author has laid out the book to give a chronological history of the band, going back to the days of Blackpool and the John Evan Band. From there he moves forward, going through each album, and discussing not only the album, but also where the band was at that point in time. This would take in what was happening on tour, changes in line up etc.
The last quarter of the book is taken up with an interview with Ian Anderson. Given the size of the interview it will come as no real surprise that some bits do come out that are perhaps not as widely known. The questioning could perhaps been a bit more in depth; however that is a minor quibble.
On the whole the writing style is fairly relaxed, giving the book a reasonable flow, it would be incredibly easy to make this book dry, however the authors’ obvious passion for the band translates itself onto the pages.
It is perhaps the author’s enthusiasm and passion that bring up the biggest issues with the book. He obviously has albums that he particularly enjoys. So, for example, Aqualung gets ten pages in the book. By contrast Songs from the Wood gets less than a page. The really early albums get even more space, although a lot of that has to do with some big interviews with Glenn Cornick and Clive Bunker. Given the access he has had to members of the band, it would be easy to expand the later stuff out so much more. Each album deserves a decent review even if it's something you don't like. At one point he even boasts about the fact that he refuses to include the Classic Case album.
My other major issue is the tone of the book towards Anderson himself. The book feels like too much of a hagiography. There is rightfully a lot of content from Anderson in the first part of the book. He is after all the driving force behind the band, but, for the likes of David Palmer to get a total of 12 mentions in the entire book, would tend to point towards a lop sided view. There are some fairly big, fairly good pieces from some former members of the band, but given how much of the book is given over to Anderson, it feels very unbalanced.
Despite my reservations above, I still thoroughly enjoyed the book. It's a cracking read and even a long term fan like me found things I was not aware of. I would recommend it, but I can't help feeling it's an opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Tull/IA book, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Coller (Garden of Eden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
Brian Rabey deserves praise for coming up with such a concise and readable history of JT. Its easy when you are dealing with a band of some 45 years and counting to overdo the facts and detail.
The structure works really well. Each album and period is not over analysed. Brian presents the facts and then gets the inside story from the relevant members with Ian getting the final say ( as it should be).
Ian's final interview in the second part of the book is the most revealing you'll read anywhere.
For fans that have been with the band for a long long time the reflection now of albums that are long gone is interesting too. How many of us thought that .com in 99' would be the last 'proper' Tull album? You have to agree that the Nightcap album was very underated at the time.These reflections are very true and will strike a chord with older fans.
For recent fans they can read the story and listen to the back catalogue now on a regular basis brilliantly remastered. Another IA album is planned for 2014 and the next remaster is the much maligned Passion Play. The story goes on and theres a good few chapters to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I read this on holiday and loved it. It's funny how a band like Tull ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
I read this on holiday and loved it. It's funny how a band like Tull who never did drugs or indulged in any wild excess can have such an interesting story.
The writer's style isn't the best it has to be said, but he does a good job of putting everything together. There's quite a bit of repetition but overall it's a very hard book to put down.
Ian Anderson is a genius musically, and probably in lots of other ways too, and I lap up any book or DVD I can find about them. This one sits high up there with the best of the bunch and I highly recommend it to any prog-rock fan.

Steven A. McKay, author of Wolf's Head: 1 (The Forest Lord)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
Quick delivery and in excellent condition recommend seller.
The book is as it says on the tin and it is a very good informative read. A surprisingly easy fit for a 45+ lifespan into a couple hundred pages but it all seems to be in there. I collect books mainly biogs on bands and musicians and there is actually not a great deal out there on Jethro Tull. Perhaps because Ian Anderson is a very intelligent man and an amazing songwriter/musician. There is no rubbish involved, most if not all of other books on th 'greats' of the rock genres are half filled with books and stupid obscene drug fuelled binges. This is simple it's about the man/band and the music. Excellent recommend it if that's what you want to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for students of prog rock, 12 Dec. 2013
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
It is interesting to see such "passionate" reviews of this book. Die hard fans are hard to please, and will almost never be happy with some texts. But for the student of prog, perhaps music students or academics looking for a solid reference from which to quote or use as a textbook, this book fits the bill.

Written by a music journalist who is also a musician and fan of Tull, it shows balance and insight into how Ian Anderson and the band "progressed" (which is kind of interesting when you think about it a book on progressive rock written in a progressive way, but I digress). And its funny how prog fans (you know who you are) constantly want to hear the same sound out of their favourite bands and fail to realize the meaning of the word "progressive" (as opposed to static). (*cough* Genesis *cough*)

I would love to read more from this author. He clearly understands the music and the motivation, or the formative elements that allow talent to come together. I am sure that bands like Yes, Genesis, ELP and King Crimson have similar stories. If today's musicians don't want to merely reference these influences but actually create something as innovative as the prog sounds of the 70s, they would buy this book and encourage the author to make it into a series about other bands from that era.

I read this book just before seeing Ian Anderson in concert, doing Thick as a Brick part 1 and 2. I thought the progression was brilliantly done, and I instantly recognized what Rabey was trying to accomplish in this book. It is not reportage, but a book dedicated to the art form. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of Jethro Tull's history and the band's musical ..., 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
A good overview of Jethro Tull's history and the band's musical output until very recently. The section on Ian Anderson's musical journey and motivation was interesting but still left me with questions. Presumably we wait until Anderson actually writes an autobiography. I would have liked more photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Passion play truly interesting read, 26 May 2014
By 
Ms Z. Braidy (Wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth reading, so interesting I only wish I had the paperback instead of ebook as it would be easier to flick through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Passion for Tull, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull (Paperback)
A good insight into Jethro Tull, many of the musicians have provided information for the book, it's worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well written, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull
A Passion Play: The Story of Ian Anderson & Jethro Tull by Brian Rabey (Paperback - 15 Sept. 2013)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews