Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to children's WW1 stories, 28 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
Where The Poppies Now Grow is the only WW1 book I've come across that is suitable for 5 year olds as well as 15 or 50 year olds. It opens slowly, as any good picture book does, drawing us in with two simple lines on the page, but the prose becomes more detailed and demanding as the story builds and builds. The reader follows Ben and his 'best friend Ray', who leave their quiet, rural lives on a farm for the battlefields of France. It is a war pals' story repeated and repeated in books, plays, paintings and poetry about the Great War but somehow Hilary Robinson's gentle touch and Martin Inkpen's subtle watercolour drawings ensure Where The Poppies Now Grow is moving yet bearable and suitable for all ages. That is such an achievement, given the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for all ages to understand, reflect and remember those involved in WW1, 10 April 2014
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
Read and enjoyed equally by my children and those in the family who can relate more closely to WW1. At the back of the book it gives you the opportunity to dedicate it to the memory of someone who devoted their life to the cause of peace which helped the children to understand and question the involvement of their great, great grandfather in WW1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, Lovely book..., 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
This is such a lovely book, the illustrations are fantastic and it is easy to read. My two boys aged 6 and 4 love it and enjoy helping me read it too. It captivated them from the beginning to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great War for my Grandkids, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
I bought a copy of this for each of my two grandchildren ( 5 and 7). Two of my uncles were killed in WWI; my mother never knew them as she was born in 1919, but there are photographs and the big gold medals. I would like the grandchildren to know about them and this is the perfect story - a lovely poem about two young friends that builds up as it goes, perfectly judged, affecting and not too frightening, and makes you cry and cry, like War Horse and the last episode of Blackadder 4. Would recommend to anyone trying to explain the next for years commemorations to those too young to know, and absolutely no glorification of war, just small but might acts of courage and endurance. A lovely book, and the illustrations are beautiful and moving things in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book - one to own and hand on. Simple but sensitive with amazing depth. Fabulous illustrations., 15 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
I will share this book individually with children and in class work with children from 6 upwards An excellent combination of text and illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful picture book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
A moving story which can be read at a number of levels. Older children will understand it at a deeper level as the repetitive pattern builds up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
This is a touching tribute to all those who fought and worked for peace during the first world war. I would recommend it for both key stage 1 and key stage 2 children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book!, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
Really great book, very touching.
Absolutely beautiful illustration, one to actually enjoy reading to the kids!
My 3 and 5 year olds both enjoy reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasdtic resources, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
Thus is to be introduced to the whole school on the centenary. A lovely book telling the tale. The children have scattered poppy seeds in remembrance also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, educating and fun, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: Where The Poppies Now Grow (Paperback)
This commemorative book for the centenary of WWI is a great way for children to understand the significance of the war and of remembrance day, written as a rhyme that builds on each page, children will want to turn the page to find out what happens next. The Illustrations are also second to none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where The Poppies Now Grow
Where The Poppies Now Grow by Hilary Robinson (Paperback - 6 Mar. 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews