Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2014
Bought this not for the music but as I'm interested in all the different youth cultures the UK has produced. As someone else commented its a re-hash of old articles Bushell wrote (for Sounds mainly) with a few recent after-thoughts also added to the articles. There is some interesting stuff in the book about the north/south mod divide, the Glory Boys, bank holiday trouble etc. but as they were mostly articles from Sounds it mainly covers the music which I'm not into. Another criticism is Bushell's style of writing, I used to love him when I was 13/14 years old as I could understand him (unilke some other writers then) but now he grates on me. His metaphors are embarassing, in-jokes about his mates are tedious and his constant harping on about London/working class begins to grate.

It also seems to be a re-hash of a previously published re-hash eg. in one footnote Bushell gives info on who people in a photo are but the picture doesn't appear in this version of the book. Also with the articles its difficult to differentiate where the original article actually finishes and his 'contemporary' footnote's begin which can be confusing to the narrative. So it hasn't been put together that well.

Just enough useful info in the book to give it 3 stars though if you're interested in the 70's/80's Mod scene I'd try 'This Is The Modern Life' instead.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
excellent read. bought back so many great memories. brill pics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Fantastic book! Bushell's writing is great - very funny at times! However, I was irritated at the dismissive attitude of the book towards the Merton Parkas. OK, like most people, I thought "You Need Wheels" was an unfortunate first single, but COME ON!!! "Plastic Smile" "Give It To Me Now" "Put Me In The Picture" "You Should Be So Lucky" - all great tracks. The Merton Parkas have been unfairly maligned here.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Great book from the man who witnessed it all first hand from the pubs of London then opening up across the UK. Loads of great pics and original gig flyers. Most other Mod books are written in retrospect but this one reproduces articles from when it actually happened. Amazing to see how quickly the renewal scene grew (and faded). All the key bands and more get a mention. Time for action indeed!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
Sweet and dandy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
poor book ,badly written,all re cycled articles from the dismal sounds music rag.
some good photos,but bushell really didnt have a clue about mod,and was just looking ,as ever,for the next big thing.
some great bands covered of course,the chords,secret affair,purple hearts,but really thats about it.
what did i expect from the man who went on to invent the oi!oi! punk movement.
a poor purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Fascinating read about a time which brings back happy memories for me. Interesting to hear how the Mod Revival got started and who was involved.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Great, great book!!!! Gary Bushell can write an easy, understandable English!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
love it,and im in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)