Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for PPE/Economics students and City trainees.
This book explains the point of an industry regarded by many as a pointless paper-shuffling exercise, which unjustifiably enriches a small group of nerds and chest-beating speculators, and routinely spits out and discards those who don't make the grade. Ben brings together his knowledge of history, economics, literature and social anthropology, as well as twenty seven...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Marcus Edwards-Jones

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Read
Extremely poor book. Read it to learn more about investment, but found it dense and unreadable - certainly a disconnect between the cover and the content. Not for the layman, and not for the investment professional, the book falls between 2 stools. Try John Kay's The Long and Short of it if you're looking for a great book on investment.
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by ideaman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for PPE/Economics students and City trainees., 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book explains the point of an industry regarded by many as a pointless paper-shuffling exercise, which unjustifiably enriches a small group of nerds and chest-beating speculators, and routinely spits out and discards those who don't make the grade. Ben brings together his knowledge of history, economics, literature and social anthropology, as well as twenty seven years of industry experience, to get to the heart of the matter of investment. This is an essential and not unentertaining read for anyone studying PPE, economics or a business-related degree, or lucky enough to be embarking upon a career in the capital markets. As CEO of a stockbroking firm I will make sure that all my analysts and sales staff have read and understood this book, and would encourage others to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking about investment, 30 Mar 2012
By 
This is the first book on investment that I have read in my long career in investments that examines critically the thinking process that has to be embarked on before making an investment. It should be of interest to the general layman, investment professionals and students of philosophy alike and in this respect the style of the book as a conversation is particularly appropriate. The author uses this style cleverly to reinforce important concepts in investments. One should come away clearly understanding the difference between value and price and therefore the need for a long term approach to investments with no 'quick money' solutions. The notion of risk and its relationship to value is very clearly elucidated It also examines the key drivers of value in different industries although the reader would clearly have to do more work before making any specific investment. Although a few pages may be a little difficult to read at first nothing is lost in either skipping over these or returning to them later. A book that is technical but not onerously so and strangely for books of this genre an entertaining read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investment Must Read, 19 Mar 2012
Valuing The Future is a tour de force through the investing landscape, which ambitiously tackles the "why" of investing as well as the "how"- few authors attempt this.
The chapters on fundamental analysis, archetypal business models and financial assets are particularly worthwhile for anyone who invests their own money and gave me a much better understanding of how the system works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A facinating journey through the investment process, 12 Feb 2012
Valuing the Future takes the reader on a extensive but concise journey through the investment process. It addresses the 'hows' and 'whys' which often go unanswered in a conversation about investment. The reader comes away with the feeling that they have just shared in the years of insight and experience of the Author. It is refreshingly objective and extremely well written - quite unlike any other investment book I have read. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Insights, 3 Feb 2012
Investment is rarely simple and never easy. Yet, the wisdom and experience of ex Fidelity money manager Ben Paton is worth-reading. Most investment guides are penned by journalists who have typically never invested other people's money. Valuing the Future explains concisely and very clearly what most investors need to know about the art and science of making money. Professionals will also learn from his many insights. Ben Paton is a 'value' investor and his philosophy is spelt out through a dialogue with a prospective client. Well-written, peppered with erudite quotes (!) and amusingly illustrated (check out the 'safe sex' cartoon), its a great read. Buy, don't sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thinking person's guide to investing!, 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Valuing the Future. a Conversation about Investment (Paperback)
Having had little luck in trying to teach my kids about investing this book became a revelation to them and something they could relate to. It is difficult enough to get children to engage with this subject at the best of times, however this book makes what can be very dry topics accessible. Totally reccomend it to anyone wanting to learn the proccess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of the investment universe, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Valuing the Future. a Conversation about Investment (Paperback)
Most books on investment "delve right in" and, hey presto!, you're into a world of stocks and shares, mutual funds, and pension products. Before you know it, you're flailing about without really a clue what you're doing. I'm an investment analyst by profession, and have read many investment books (some several times) during my career. The delight of Ben Paton's "Valuing the Future" is that it is the first investment book I've come across that takes a step back and examines the basics of the investment universe. The assumptions we all take for granted. The proper definitions of terms we commonly use. The "why invest", taken several steps back. And all this is approached in a very accessible format of a Socratic discussion between a neophyte investor and knowledgeable and well-meaning financial advisor (good luck finding one of these in the real world!). I found the result thought provoking, and, ultimately, clear. If you do your own thinking along the guiding lines of the text, you'll think about definitions and concepts such as time, capital, value, and credit, and come out the other end with a much clearer idea of these oft-used, but frequently opaque, terms. And there's a fair amount of humour in Ben's book, too. As it's so important to take a step back and think about the "woods" of investing before you delve into the detail of the "trees", I cannot recommend "Valuing the Future" highly enough. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to the Financial World!, 26 April 2012
I find that my children rarely want to do what I ask them to do... I left the book on my kitchen table and my daughter, who recently took a BA in business administration, picked it up and out of curiosity began to read it on her daily commute to work. Now I gather her colleagues are standing in a queue to read it.... This is an excellent introductino to the financial world which everyone should know about but sadly the majority probably still does not understand...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cutting Edge and Highly Conscientious Work, 8 Feb 2012
Valuing the Future is a meticulous and big picture tour of the investment planet and pretty much all those other planets which inhabit the fiscal universe and thus it is directed at everyone and anyone with an interest investment.

As an ex-investment researcher, I had the feeling of completion and thoroughness after reading this book, which can only be derived from an examination of the truth based on years of experience. 'Valuing the Future' tells the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

In fact, NO ONE should be without a copy of this work at a time when many parts of the world plunge into an economic abyss for the simple reason that no one but the 'experts' knew what was going on. And if this state of affairs continues then the evolution of the commercial, the academic, the creative, the moral in fact ALL systems will cease and may even go into reverse.

When one reads 'VTF' one adopts the lense of the systems theorist, Ludwig von Bertallanfy, who recognised that a system has to be examined in entirety, as well as in terms of its individual parts and their interactions with each other. `Valuing the Future' makes this as easy as possible, but like climbing Everest, if attempted honestly, some projects just can't be circumvented for the sake of entertainment or an easy life and the only way is through. Like a highly qualified electrical engineer, the author recognises only too well that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, so he has sacrificed a great deal of time in his attempt to include everything and anything worth knowing about the subject matter, so that the reader is provided with an encyclopaedic view of the investment world, literally.

`Valuing the Future' is for the serious students of life - those who don't want to take the exams but want to inform themselves in a way that they are armed with an excellent body of knowledge on which to make personal decisions and also make thorough and informed contribution to national (and local) debate.

This is a niche but growing group: `the conscientiousness big picturists' - are you one of them? They want to understand everything and know the value of the detail AND the big picture and instinctively know that the root of most world problems is to ignore, or be denied access to both viewpoints. And they are on a crusade to find works such as `Valuing the Future' which share the fruits of a long and successful career sans flannel. For these publications free us from the shackles of intellectual snobbery and slavery and allow the doctors to be doctors, the engineers to be engineers and the taxi drivers to be taxi drivers. The Knowledge philanthropists allow people to be themselves by providing the means for taking control in all aspects of life. Knowledge is power, as they say and VTF sure gives it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Read, 6 Mar 2012
Extremely poor book. Read it to learn more about investment, but found it dense and unreadable - certainly a disconnect between the cover and the content. Not for the layman, and not for the investment professional, the book falls between 2 stools. Try John Kay's The Long and Short of it if you're looking for a great book on investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Valuing the Future. a Conversation about Investment
Valuing the Future. a Conversation about Investment by Ben Paton (Paperback - 31 Jan 2012)
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews