Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£49.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2014
Brilliant book. Bought it as a present for my brother at Christmas and we both got really stuck in to reading it. Some brilliant pictures of some little seen cars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Surely the most obsessively comprehensive book ever written about this era of motorsport. I was hooked after just the introduction, and the concept of looking back on such a different era through modern eyes and sensibilities is an interesting one. The race reports are pretty detailed but in particular give much different narrative about fatal accidents than would a contemporary report. A surprising highlight is a refreshingly candid piece by the head of the Matra team, looking back at everything they did wrong.

I have three minor gripes:
They have some very good pictures, but I was left wanting more!
It was odd that the race report for the British GP omitted to mention that the car in which Rindt won was probably illegal (this detail is buried in the technical analysis).
Drivers' biographies didn't look ahead to their future careers beyond 1971, and often not even that far, which would've been useful information for novice readers who mightn't know, for example, that early in 1971 J.P. Beltoise did something very silly that killed Ignazio Giunti.

These minor gripes aside the book was gripping in its narrative and a joy to read in its tactile beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I must admit to being a Mark Hughes fan. His Autosport column is the first I turn to each Thursday morning. As usual this is well written and captures the spirit of the age. Copiously illustrated with mainly colour photos. Not cheap but shop around.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
This is a superb book, end to end brilliant and well written. Ok it was a dangerous time we know it was, but boy does this era blow away modern day F1 on so many counts. Do not pay too much attention to some of the reviews on here where knocks are concerned, especially saying how it compares poorly to other books written about the period as not all of us had the pleasure of being around then. The anecdotes such as the suggestion (and bordering on proof) that Rodriguez' - Spa 1970 win with BRM had an illegal engine, was just the sort of thing I love to read about and a real eye-opener. Bring on the next book please Mr Hughes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
I have a new found respect for Mark. A well written book which goes that little bit further with a healthy incisive style which was normally the preserve of Nigel Roebuck.
An amazing season of F1, headlined by the tragic death of Jochen Rindt, Emerson Fittipaldi's debut, March's first GP win, the list goes on.
Pleased I have bought it to complement my Autocourse library!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Nice pieces on the technology and drivers but the race reports are a bit dull. If you can get hold of it, buy the Ted Simon book of the same season. That is one of the best books about motor racing ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Great work, really enjoyed it - as always with mark Hughes writings.
Superb text, many previously-unseen pictures, only found one possible error in text so far!
Can't wait for 1971 version.
Buy it - if you have any interest in 1970s F1, you certainly won't regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Can't wait for F1 Retro: 1971 to come out. Essential book for any fan of F1 of the era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
I was impressed, good photo and printing quality. Filled a nice niche in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
An excellently researched and wonderfully written book,I would definitely recommend this book to any fan of formula one. The fact that it covers not only all the drivers from this particular season but also profiles every team which car or cars used and even engines and tyres. The photography is stunning and acts as a reminder of the prodigious changes in the sport over time. It is also a very clever idea to get views from some of the people involved then and how they view this season in retrospect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)