Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for special diets
I love these recipes - clear, simple and imaginative. A welcome change from the usual recipe-book selection, even if you put the sugar and gluten back in.
Published 19 months ago by J. Andrade

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ever eaten a whole pack of sugar-free Polos?
Ever eaten a whole pack of sugar-free Polos? You know what happens. Diarrhea. I bet that's the same reason you've given up gluten.

The publishers of this book must have links with the Xylitol industry (Xylitol is the sugar substitute in Polos and gum). All the recipes contain it in vast quantities, often over 200g. The book offers no alternative i.e. Stevia...
Published 6 months ago by pixie225


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for special diets, 26 Nov 2012
By 
J. Andrade (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
I love these recipes - clear, simple and imaginative. A welcome change from the usual recipe-book selection, even if you put the sugar and gluten back in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Woderful Resource!, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
It is stated that some 6 - 8 % of all UK children have a proven food allergy (National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence, 2011) and that an estimated 21 million adults in the UK suffer from at least one allergy with some 10 million adults suffering from more than one allergy (Mintel, 2010).

Given that the range and extent of allergies to food types in on the increase it is becoming ever more important that people are offered good, wholesome and tasty alternatives.

In 'No Naughties' Tarja Moles seeks to address the problem that many sufferers from food allergies face which is how to keep your diet both interesting and varied - especially in the case of sweets-loving children.

The book focuses upon sugar, wheat and yeast allergies in the main and offers a tantalising and mouth-watering collection of recipes which the author has developed herself. These include cakes, ice cream, pancakes, biscuits and sorbets. The range of recipes includes meals for different periods of the day - from breakfast through to supper.

However, No Naughties goes a lot further than this for it includes valuable information on the ingredients themselves, where they can be obtained as well as organisations that deal with specific dietary issues.

This is a terrific book! It stays away from the more regular alternative food types such as olive margarine and soya milk. (Most of our soya products are sourced from genetically-modified soya beans and there is a growing belief that these are the source of many other dietary and digestive issues.)

It is a book that is clear to read and convenient to refer to whilst cooking, it is extremely well well-presented and leaves the reader feeling that the author has thoroughly engaged with the challenging issue of food allergies and how to stop them from controlling your life.

I whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a real resource of information and ideas to make food fun and palatable once again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well researched book, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
Research is critical for a book like this and Tarja Moles is an expert in the subject. Any writer will find her monthly articles on research matters in "Writing Magazine" vital reading.

Ms Moles also has personal experience of the health issues that led her to write this book. Take these two things together and you will understand why this is such a valuable book and why it is so expertly put together.

I have purchased it for relatives with health issues and the feedback has been very positive. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect dessert recipes for those with intolerances, 29 July 2012
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
Members of my family have intolerances or a simple dislike of certain foods such as eggs, gluten, dairy etc. This book if perfect for dessert ideas because each recipe clearly states which foods it is 'free from', and then offers further substitute and alternative ideas. The directions are simple and clear and the start of the book provides more detail on substitute foods and their properties.

The strawberry boost is delicious for breakfast, and the apple and mango jelly layered with fruit, apple cake and custard makes an impressive dinner party dessert. I'm looking forward to trying the heavenly chocolate cake and the baked peachs with raspberry sauce next....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful recipe book, 12 July 2012
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
Living with multiple food intolerances is no fun, but this book can help you to make sweet treats without several common ingredients. The recipes are gluten-free, sugar-free, yeast-free, soya-free and peanut-free, and there are also recipes which are dairy-free, lactose-free, egg-free, nut-free and corn-free. All the recipes are naturally sweetened.

Although this book does not have glossy photographs, it is, nevertheless, very useful. It's full of recipes that are straightforward to make. The instructions are clear and take you to the finished treat step by step. I also found the information on the various substitute ingredients handy. I now feel better equipped to try and modify other recipes.

I have not tried all the recipes yet, but I have set myself the task of making all the treats in the book. I've now tried five recipes: chocolate mousse, heavenly chocolate cake, strawberry boost, instant mango sorbet and profiteroles. They're all really yummy. You would never know that they did not have sugar in or that the cake and the profiteroles were gluten-free. Being a chocoholic, my absolute favourites (so far) are the chocolate mousse and heavenly chocolate cake. Both of them just melt in your mouth. Yum!

I would truly recommend this book if you're after recipes that work and sweet treats that taste great. I found out that Tarja Moles also blogs about living with multiple dietary restrictions and includes recipes on the website [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
i love the recipes, but it would be much better if there were photos of the food, as in most other recipe books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Delight, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
Very easy to follow recipes. Clearly written, only down side is no pictures. Also gives extra tips within the recipes & at the back of the book a list of websites where people can get help for various heath issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must for the allergy cook, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Blossom2day "Blossom" (Dawlish , Devon,,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
I am married to a coeliac , recently diagnosed diabetic so you can imagine the problem for cake making. This book is so good that I have ordered another one as a gift for my daughter in law , who makes the most delicious cakes. Have yet to actually cook from a recipe but am very confident all will be OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ever eaten a whole pack of sugar-free Polos?, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast (Perfect Paperback)
Ever eaten a whole pack of sugar-free Polos? You know what happens. Diarrhea. I bet that's the same reason you've given up gluten.

The publishers of this book must have links with the Xylitol industry (Xylitol is the sugar substitute in Polos and gum). All the recipes contain it in vast quantities, often over 200g. The book offers no alternative i.e. Stevia or Agave. The only advice it gives is that 'most people can manage about 40g of Xylitol a day'. I don't know about you but I'm not prepared to play Russian Roulette with my bowel movements.

And besides, do you really want to only have 1 slice of that banana bread you just made and let it get slowly staler over the course of a week?

Please don't bother with this book unless you want to poop your pants. Go for Barbara Cousins cookbooks instead where she sweetens recipes with dried fruit, bananas and apples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast
No Naughties: Sweet Treats Without Sugar, Wheat, Gluten and Yeast by Tarja Moles (Perfect Paperback - 16 July 2012)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews