Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the middle of reading...
I have been ambushed by The Perpetual Astonishment. It was lying around our house waiting for my husband to read it, and I was in that unnerving state of being 'between books' so I picked it up, loved the cover, started reading and have since resented any interruptions like sleep or work or children complaining of being hungry. In fact I'm enjoying it so much I'm leaving...
Published on 11 Jun 2012 by Fanny Johnstone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm
I became a little bored and just put it down. I doubt I will pick it up in future to finish...
Published 11 months ago by MaggieWilliams


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the middle of reading..., 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax (Paperback)
I have been ambushed by The Perpetual Astonishment. It was lying around our house waiting for my husband to read it, and I was in that unnerving state of being 'between books' so I picked it up, loved the cover, started reading and have since resented any interruptions like sleep or work or children complaining of being hungry. In fact I'm enjoying it so much I'm leaving work an hour early just so that I can read it in bed.

It is very funny, well written, charming, intelligent and although it could, if it wanted to, swagger about being blatantly cool it has chosen to do it in a modest unassuming way (which, of course, is way cooler).

If you need cheering up or just need entertaining then I recommend it 100%. And no, I don't know the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book well up in my top 50 books ever read, 13 Dec 2013
By 
John Maddock "Terry Maddock" (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As so often happens, I chose this book by mistake - but waddamistakatamaka. It's well written, includes some innovative approaches (it opens with the hum drum thoughts of a newly murdered person!!) and is somehow believable. Get it, read it, be sorry when it's finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A witty novel that reminds us all to be a bit more astonished, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christopher Shevlin can really write. This novel is packed with elegant, funny turns of phrase, slantwise ways of looking at the world, which actually make sense and are genuinely amusing, plus a set of charming and bizarre characters and a really entertaining and satisfying plot. Definitely worth a read.

This is Shevlin's first published novel (I think - I haven't seen any more - maybe there are hundreds!). It's an absolute joy to see a new, self-assured, funny,light-hearted comedy voice emerge through this book.

The author pretty much invites us to compare the book with Douglas Adams' Dirk Gently books. That's a brave thing to do, considering Douglas Adams is one of our great comedy stylists. Gulp. But this actually stacks up creditably against Adams' work - and is not dissimilar. It's witty, erudite, and long on well-described set pieces where things happen... quite slowly... but are described in very interesting ways. The down sides are that the plot sometimes plays second fiddle to the author's love of wordsmithing; and the narrative voice is so distinctive that it can overwhelm the different characters.

But Shevlin doesn't need to lose any sleep because these are criticisms which could fairly also be levelled at Douglas Adams too - so he's in august company. When it comes to the plot of Dirk Gently's Holistic Detetctive Agency, Douglas Adams himself freely admitted he didn't understand what the hell was going on for most of it.

It's worth saying this is not a Douglas Adams pastiche; Shevlin is still emerging from the Douglasian shadows, (as are many writers!) but is very much his own man. It's particularly pleasing the way humorous asides are included but not clunkingly pointed out. (Like the many different government departments and projects which are mentioned in passing and all have inappropriate acronym-names). As a reader I felt gently smug and discerning, which is always a good feeling to have when reading comedy, I find.

So what's it about and why would you read it? Well basically there's this chap called Jonathan Fairfax who bumbles his way through all sorts of murder mystery shenanigans, with a bit of political thriller thrown in. He's hamstrung by his own donnish analysis of his own emotions. He's the kind of guy who doesn't know what expression to pull when he's feeling sincere, because he has to work out what sincerely expressing an emotion would look like.

Shevlin is at his best when we are in the inner world of this character. His set-pieces on talking to the opposite sex, or when Fairfax has concussion, are very funny. The nice thing about this book is the way we feel for Jonathon Fairfax, because he's got such basic goodwill, even when he's a bit confused.

The word astonishment is, I suspect, carefully chosen. An astonished character is so much lovelier than a wryly amused, supercilious or self-important one.

This book is, in a way, a manifesto for us all to recapture our childlike state of astonishment with the world - which we might have lost as we wrestle with the hurly burly of life. Which is good. It comes from a happy place and made me laugh. I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracking read!, 1 July 2012
By 
John Lenahan "John Lenahan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax (Paperback)
What a cracking read! I just spent my holiday with my nose in, The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax. It was funny with compelling characters and a plot that astonishingly turned into a page turner. The only down side was the annoyed looks I received from people in nearby beach chairs as I guffawed aloud. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this one, great characters, funny and quirky. Would recommend this book to everybody. Can't see how anyone would not find something to like and laugh at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really funny and pacy. Some of the writing is reminiscent of P G Wodehouse. Very witty and accurate descriptions of London mixed with complete fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and would definitely read more by Christopher Shevlin. It's funny and fast paced, very well written and I couldn't put it down. The characters are all marvellous and likeable- even the bad guys! Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax (Paperback)
A great read so funny and witty interwoven storyline line , cracking characters had me laughing page to page and plenty of intrigue through out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read with Acceptance of Quirk, 19 May 2014
By 
Sue Ryan "Sue" (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seemed that every Amazon 'recommended for you' had the title of this book in it somewhere. After a good length of time, I finally succumbed and bought it onto my Kindle. After even more time spent trying to ignore it, I started to read it, stuck with it, though slightly puzzled and, finally, stayed in bed this morning to finish it. It is a strangely enjoyable book, well written and full of big personalities. I can only liken it to watching both series of TV's the 'Blandings', one after the other, but with no pictures. It involves a socially inept young man who through no skills of his own (except naivity) gets 'adopted' by two others. These two, in turn, involve him with a ghost, a murderer, a private eye and the Government of the United Kingdom. Other reviewers write of laughing out loud and guffawing - it didn't cause such outpourings of mirth from me, but has left me with a half-smile on my face and a feeling of gentle enjoyment. Christopher Shelvin asks that I express this enjoyment and interest in the possible appearance of his next book and I rather think I will. I would recommend you read it and suggest that by doing so, you may be in on the beginning of a 'cult'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What fun!, 15 May 2014
By 
I don't go for funny books - Christopher, you've converted me. Quirky, weird, fun, crazy, amazing. MORE PLEASE! And keep some of these characters too (at least the ones still alive).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax
The Perpetual Astonishment of Jonathon Fairfax by Christopher Shevlin (Paperback - 1 Jun 2012)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews