Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
Just received this book as a present, a fantastic book for beach lovers! Beautiful pictures, clearly laid out - i particularly love the Pit Stop section (good thinking Mr Smith) and a must have summer guide book. I do have all the wild swimming and cool camping books and Secret Beaches fits perfectly alongside them. I'm loving it!! Can't recommend it enough. Good for...
Published on 16 July 2011 by Katy

versus
12 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so secret now, eh?
Yet another guidebook that does its absolute best to take all the adventure out of finding special spots in Britain for yourself. I live in the southwest and there are some places that you just let people find for themselves (eg Nanjizal) - they're special precisely because it takes work to find them. Then some numpty comes along and thinks it's a fine idea to tell the...
Published on 15 July 2011 by arkonline


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
Just received this book as a present, a fantastic book for beach lovers! Beautiful pictures, clearly laid out - i particularly love the Pit Stop section (good thinking Mr Smith) and a must have summer guide book. I do have all the wild swimming and cool camping books and Secret Beaches fits perfectly alongside them. I'm loving it!! Can't recommend it enough. Good for pressies too! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peachy beachy, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
I am really enjoying reading about the secret beaches and looking forward to visiting them - responsibly. I think anyone buying and using this book will do the same.
The codes make it really user-friendly. Great idea, great execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your ordinary guidebook, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
This is a really smart book in all respects - the style and layout, the pictures, maps and diagrams, the use of colours, and above all the actual content. It's well written and very readable, and acually you can imagine the walks and almost feel you're doing them while sitting in comfort and leafing through the pages! So there you are - you just need to buy the book and read it and and not go to the trouble of actually doing the walks. There is a theory that thinking about exercising is almost as beneficial (and certainly safer) as wearing out your joints doing it. The pitstops, however would be a must! I don't agree that these secret places will be inundated with visitors because of this book. In my experience anywhere that requires a walk away from the car of more than a mile only attracts those few people that are usually respectful of the remoteness and beauty of the place, and they deserve the rewards for making the effort. For my part, I'll definitely do some of the walks but will read all of them and imagine I'm there! Although it's not too weighty to carry with you, if you have a smart-phone you can scan the barcodes for each walk and just leave the book behind and navigate using the phone - very clever. A very worthy addition to the travel section of your bookshelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SECRET BEACHES, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
We purchased this book to give as a present to mark a 50 year wedding anniversary which was to be spent on a walking holiday in Cornwall. The descriptions of each beach were excellent providing information on access, difficulty, length of walk and pit stops and extra info for dog owners. Very well presented and lovely photographs. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift. I love the way it is set out, the photographs and the straightfoward directions. I borrowed it and did one of the walks in Cornwall, followed by the recommended pub visit .... lovely. The "secret" beaches written about the area I live in were all well known beaches to me, but for someone visiting it makes a nice off the beaten track kind of guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shhhhhhhh!, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
I'm almost loathe to review this wonderful book - the irony of sharing secrets! The book covers all of the West Country coastline from North Devon all the way back round to Poole. Born, bred and living in Dorset I am always interested in finding out parts which are unfamiliar and while I'm aware of a few of the beaches on here there are some places new to me.

The layout is superb and simple - beautiful photography, a pithy description of the benefits offered by the individual spot (e.g. swimming, rock-pools, sand grade, seclusion, accessibility etc.), and a circular walk to each beach. There is also a nifty QR code for Smart Phone access to all the info (as it's quite a hefty book).

All in all, this is a perfect addition to anyone's bookshelf who wants to travel a little off the beaten track and avoid the summer throngs of grockles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 2 Jun 2012
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
I live in the southwest and I wanted some adventures but I didn't know where to start, so I bought this book. Went on one of the walks last week to Mupe bay and it was beautiful. We were the only ones on the beach for most of the time even though it is around the corner from lulworth and the sun was out! It was a short walk to get there and really easy to find.
What is great about this book is that every page has a QR code, so I scanned it into my phone so I did not have to take the book! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super summer book!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
Super book, beautiful pictures - the barcode reader is a very useful addition. Will certainly use it this summer. Will look for more by Rob Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
I bought this as a Christmas present it was much appreciated. I also got to use it! Thought we knew all the beaches, pubs etc...but we didn't! A few lovely surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for beach lovers, 23 Oct 2013
By 
R. G. Cooper "Robert" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.) (Paperback)
Really good guide to find those tucked away beaches missed by the masses. Great book either for taking on holiday or reading in an armchair whilst planning your break
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92b8654)

This product

Secret Beaches: Southwest (50 short walks to the secluded shores of southwest Britain.)
Used & New from: 14.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews