Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I admit ...
... that I purchased this book primarily for my husband because, for many years now, he has been lamenting the situation in this country concerning the way men are treated and portrayed, especially in the media. I never really thought too much about it (one doesn't, really, does one ?) even though I respected his views and could see - to an extent - what he meant...
Published 11 months ago by Fiona Ventura

versus
19 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exposing misunderstandings of Feminism
one wonders if the author is living on the same planet as the rest of us as he appears to believe men have no political or cultural representation in Britain and that a virulent form of man-hating Feminism (a narrow-minded reductive view of what Fenminism means)has taken over...? The front cover is the most alluring feature of this book - at least that depicts somebody...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Not a Feminist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I admit ..., 29 July 2013
By 
Fiona Ventura (Stotfold, Hitchin, Hertfordshire. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
... that I purchased this book primarily for my husband because, for many years now, he has been lamenting the situation in this country concerning the way men are treated and portrayed, especially in the media. I never really thought too much about it (one doesn't, really, does one ?) even though I respected his views and could see - to an extent - what he meant.

After having had three girls I had a son a few years ago and, as he has grown, I have started to see things differently. And so after my husband read this book (and I had to endure cries of "Yes !", "At last !", "It's SO true !" and the like) I felt I owed it to him ... and to my son ... and to myself to read what all the fuss has been about.

Apparently I am "betraying my sex" by writing this review. This book is EXTRAORDINARY. The author has laid out - very clearly and in an easy-to-read format - EVERYTHING one could ever want to know about feminism. The chapters on domestic violence and rape were particularly illuminating and I can see just how successfully we have ALL been brainwashed. The writer uses quotes from a considerable number of other authors and academics and it is apparent that much work has gone into this publication.

Could I find myself disagreeing with what he writes ? Well, quite simply, no. I tried so very hard to remain objective and, although I imagined that my gender would interfere with this aim, I discovered that it made no difference whatsoever and I found it virtually impossible to argue - to any logical degree - with what I read, to any extent that could render the author's points invalid. I truly don't think it can be done.

And then, yesterday, (and what prompted me to write this review), I had a (lesbian) friend round to visit and she saw the book next to the bed. When I asked her if she wanted to borrow it she replied, "No, I would burn it." Shocking. Upsetting and disappointing. On questioning her further she explained that she had not heard of the book, knew nothing about it and responded solely on the basis of what was written on the cover. (She hadn't even read the more emotive back page.) And it was then that the author's point really hit home - especially his chapter on lesbian feminism - and I realised that this is a book that NEEDED TO BE WRITTEN and, completely and utterly, NEEDS TO BE READ. In fact, and I know it could never happen (and I know that with even more certainty after reading how feminist teachings have infiltrated the very heart of our education system), this book should be required reading in every school in the country.

You see, I know now that my husband has been right all along. The pendulum has swung far too far in Britain (and elsewhere) and I despair for the future of my son (and my daughters also, but less so). Men are becoming weak, sterile and impotent and much of that is down to how the last thirty years of Ideological Feminism (and the author explains the difference between that and Equality Feminism - with which he has NO issue - very clearly) have eaten away at masculinity. We are slowly eroding what it means to be a (proper) man. "Gutta cavat lapidem, non vi sed saepe cadendo."

And how hugely sad that is ...

FV

P.S. Right, I KNOW that the ONLY people who will disagree with this review will be feminists and weak, brainwashed males both of which groups need to take very long, hard and honest looks inside their own souls. You are directly and indirectly responsible for an awful lot of society's ills. You can insult me and click on "No" as much as you want - it won't change my views and it won't 'unpublish' this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposing Misandry at the Core of Gender Feminism, 26 Nov 2012
By 
D. F. Dodds "ddfo22" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
In this comprehensive and thoroughly researched book Swayne O'Pie exposes how in the UK (and throughout western society) the issue of women's rights has been hijacked by feminist extremists and unscrupulous politicians.

Feminism has become, not a movement which seeks equality of opportunity, but one that seeks increasingly greater privileges for women at the expense of men.

It does this by creating false issues and false statistics (e.g. the gender wage gap) in order to attract tax-payer and other funding to organizations and initiatives for the exclusive benefit of women and girls, while using the vilification of men and boys to justify their exclusion.

Feminism has become an ideology which destroys lives, families and creates and exploits divisions in society.

A timely and important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
Excellent book exposing the less than altruistic motivations of britains feminist movement. Very succinctly dispels 30 years of feminist dogma/conditioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why The World Hates Men: Feminism Exposed, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
Swayne O'Pie's book is by far and away the most remarkable and most forensically detailed exposure of the negative and destructuive agenda of militant feminism I have read. The equality feminist versus the militant feminist is examined in depth and highlights the scale of distortions , exaggerations and lies that the militant feminists espouse to achieve their goals at the expense of all males and any female who disagrees or has an opposing view of their goals.This book should be read by all parents of young men and girls because the future of a society lead by the sort of women that Mr O'Pie identifies is truly horifying. Mr O'Pie identifies how the militant feminsits use "shaming tactics to crush any and all dissent by men or women who have the temerity to challenge them by shouting mysoginist or sexist or worse and their ire is significantly more pronounced if you happen to be one of the majority of women who do not agree with their misandric agenda that negitavely affects men and boys. This book should be read by all Politicians, CEO's of corporate and SME organisations along with Acedemia and the media who will be shocked by the sheer scale of underhand, devious and dishonest tactics militant feminists uee to undermine and belittle men and poison the minds of women and girls that have been indentified by Mr O'Pie.

This is a 5 * book and only militant feminists will not like it because it challenges the whole validity of their misandric bigotry. If they disagree with any or all of the contents of this book the militant feminists should ask Mr O'Pie for a prime time TV debate or newspaper ineterview to put their view on condidtion that they engage in adult debate without the usual "shaming tactics" and defensive or dismissive posturing that they use to stifle debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long-overdue and damning critique of Feminism in the modern era, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
There can be few people better qualified to critique the state of Feminism in modern-day Britain than Swayne O'Pie. A former socialist already holding two bachelor degrees, in 1995/6 he took a Masters in Gender and Social Policy. Later studying for a second Masters in Gender and Education, he was elected student Equal Opportunities Officer for 2004/5.

In this book O'Pie convincingly shows that Feminism in Britain today (`Ideological Feminism') bears little relation to the `Equality Feminism' of the past. Its primary objective is to give special advantage and employment to `Professional Feminists'. Feminism has become a lucrative industry employing many thousands of these people (mainly but not invariably women) who continually strive to justify their existence into the indefinite future - hence O'Pie's term `Forever Feminism'. Their `Grievance Gravy Trains' must keep rolling, otherwise they have no jobs.

O'Pie explains that spreading misandry (the hatred of men) lies at the heart of the Feminist project, as is blaming, demonising and punishing men. Feminists deliberately induce fear and loathing of men in women, and especially in young women, the next generation of `gender warriors'. Women are taught that everything with which they are unhappy in society, and in their own lives, stem from the influence of men, directly or indirectly, individually or collectively.

Misandry is spread in many ways including by misandric comediennes and writers. If the type of language they regularly ascribe to men were applied to other groups (e.g. gays, blacks, disabled people, Jews and other religious adherents, women...) there would be an outcry. In some cases they would be illegal `hate crimes'.

O'Pie shows that misandry is now deeply embedded in the worlds of politics, the public and private sectors, the law, media, culture... at one point he states that despite the huge influence of Feminism on modern-day Britain, he's never encountered an in-depth critique of the movement on the radio or television. Nor have I. This might help account for the almost universal unawareness of the dire impact of Feminism in modern-day Britain - what O'Pie terms the `Quiet Revolution'.

O'Pie points out many of the double standards used by Feminists to keep women's anger on the boil. If a man doesn't rise to the level in an organisation which he deems appropriate, he has only himself to blame. A woman facing exactly the same scenario can blame the `glass ceiling' and will be encouraged to do so. If she lands a senior position despite the glass ceiling, but then fails in the position, the failure is due to the `glass cliff' created by men. In this and countless other ways women are infantilised by Feminist thinking, and taught that Feminism protects them, and promotes their interests. It's a cynical fraud.

The replacement of the commendable (and meritocratic) objective of `equality of opportunity' has been replaced in British law by the odious (and totalitarian) objective of `equality of outcome'. It's a good example of `Forever Feminism' and will advantage only the small proportion of women who are highly competitive and ambitious in the workplace, among whom Feminists themselves are disproportionately represented. What a surprise.

O'Pie describes in detail Feminist academics' inventions and exaggerations of information and data to support their cause, and omissions of information and data which don't support their cause. It's conclusively demonstrated that almost all `feminist research' is unsound. Numerous examples of feminist academics admitting the political objectives of their `research' are provided.

O'Pie shows great courage in addressing controversial areas of interest to anyone seeking to understand the true nature of the Feminist mission. The areas include Lesbian Feminism (the book outlines how lesbians, many of them misandric, have played a key role in the `women's movement' since the Suffragettes), as well as Feminist lies and distortions concerning rape, domestic violence, pornography, prostitution, single motherhood, paternal access to children following divorce, men's and women's choices relating to employment, the gender pay gap, the `glass ceiling', and many others.

Virtually the only groups informing British governments on `gender issues' are Feminist groups, often staffed with Ideologues who graduated from university Gender Studies / Women's Studies courses. Along with other people who have studied social sciences, they are almost universally left-wing. In a 2004 survey of sociology professors, 90% reported their personal political convictions as left-wing, only 3% reported themselves to be Conservative voters.

We'd expect Labour and Liberal Democrat politicians to be broadly supportive of Feminism, but O'Pie points out that the current leadership of the Conservative party is actively supportive too, and prime minister David Cameron in particular. One of the coalition government's first actions after assuming power in May 2010 was the enactment of the Equality Bill (2010), despite the gender-related aspects of the Bill having been drafted by the dismal Feminists of the previous Labour administration.

We've waited many years for a book to start a backlash against the scourge of modern Feminism. This book may be the one that does so, and I hope it is. It certainly deserves to be. It's a `must read' for anyone wanting to understand the origins and influence of Feminism in the modern era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Exposing misunderstandings of Feminism, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
one wonders if the author is living on the same planet as the rest of us as he appears to believe men have no political or cultural representation in Britain and that a virulent form of man-hating Feminism (a narrow-minded reductive view of what Fenminism means)has taken over...? The front cover is the most alluring feature of this book - at least that depicts somebody grasping at something concrete and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism (Paperback)
Just a plain awful book. Full of logical fallacies, completely cherry picks certain bits of information and complete distortion of the truth through out. I've also had the pleasure of seeing O'Pie involved in a debate on this subject and he came off as just as obnoxious and misinformed as he does in his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism
Why Britain Hates Men: Exposing Feminism by Swayne O'Pie (Paperback - Sep 2011)
Used & New from: 9.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews