Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tips and techniques book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:17 Mins
Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art is a more of a tips and techniques book rather than a structured course on drawing manga from start to end. The book covers only characters.

It starts with lessons on features, expressions, anatomy, poses, clothing and character designs. The lessons are brief and are covered under 30 pages. For...
Published 18 months ago by Parka

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Patchwork of manga
I found this book to be a convoluted patch work of manga wannabe artist. The instruction segments are so complex and difficult to follow unless you are already very good at using digital art programs and procedures. This is not a good book for the beginner because it could end up confusing young artist. I feel this book is more of a showcase of artwork than for learning...
Published 1 month ago by Donnie Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tips and techniques book, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
Length:: 1:17 Mins

Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art is a more of a tips and techniques book rather than a structured course on drawing manga from start to end. The book covers only characters.

It starts with lessons on features, expressions, anatomy, poses, clothing and character designs. The lessons are brief and are covered under 30 pages. For example, for drawing of heads, the front and sides are taught. But for heads at other angles, while there are illustrated examples with guidelines, there aren't enough in depth explanation to go with it. This section is just an introduction on figure drawing.

The second part of the book features tutorials from various artists on designing characters. There are many useful tips on drawing, what type of materials to use and things to look out for. Many artists are using traditional medium but there are a few tutorials on Photoshop.

The third part is on colouring the characters that were drawn in the previous chapter. The tutorials cover a variety of tools that are used, such as coloured pencils, markers, watercolour and Photoshop. Again, there are good tips on handling the specific mediums.

The last few pages feature a manga art gallery from various artists.

Overall, this book is more on understanding the style of manga art, and the tutorials that show you how to create them.

For beginners, I would also recommend getting dedicated books such as Drawing the Head and Hands and Figure Drawing for All It's Worth. With basic figure drawing skills, stylizing characters for manga will be much easier.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide but Not for Beginners., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
This guide is a lifesaver for someone who is good at drawing but struggling with painting. I am not using photoshop but Manga Studio 4 and I still managed to pull off similar results to what has been done in the book. However, on this note I DO NOT recommend this book for beginners to be honest. Sure it can teach a few tricks on how to draw faces and body etc...but it lacks in depths and a beginner would quickly feel lost. It is a great guide for amateur or level slightly above, but beginners I would recommend Mastering Manga by Mark Crilley. Then obviously if you wish to level up, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Patchwork of manga, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
I found this book to be a convoluted patch work of manga wannabe artist. The instruction segments are so complex and difficult to follow unless you are already very good at using digital art programs and procedures. This is not a good book for the beginner because it could end up confusing young artist. I feel this book is more of a showcase of artwork than for learning techniques and basic instruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you know how to draw even a little bit., 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
"Beginner's guide" well this just insults me because I am underneath even this level. but no i can tell this is a book for people who maybe can draw in real life but first time doing it digitally which is fair enough, its a great book and as soon as I can master things like wrist movement and stuff I am sure i will enjoy this book a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. very well written., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
I love this book. Not a fan of manga, i was surprised by this book. The advice is sound and workable and dependable. This is great instruction. Not simply for manga but all forms of drawing and design. In this book, manga reaches up and away from the usual, and it makes surprising reading. Any book on art ultimately comes down to the artist holding the pencil, how much drawing they do, how hard they work and there is no magic that can replace that. This book though does offer plenty to tips and tricks to help an artist along and into what ever direction their art takes them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book - for the aspiring artist or the Manga art lover, 25 May 2014
By 
John Joyce "Author - Masterpiece" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
This beautifully illustrated book works magnificently on a number of levels. For the aspiring Manga artist it provides a simple, step by step guide on how to draw wonderful Manga images, for the more experienced artist it provides a wealth of insider tips on the use of computer coloring and advanced techniques. For the advanced artist it provides a list of useful website links to the gallery of other artists and, for those who just love Manga, an array of fantastic artwork - both in the book and on the galleries suggested at the end of various chapters. A work of art in itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review of Creating Manga Art, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
Book rated ok, wasn't enough technical detail as to how to achieve painted effects however, gives insight into Manga Art, ok for absolute beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
This is a fantastic little book. It covers alsorts of different techniques and had lots of detailed instructions and pictures to look at. I think I'm going to order one of these for myself too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book.., 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
this book is absolutley brilliant.. the quality of the content is just amazing.. 3dt have done it again and have produced a masterpiece... this i would say is a must even if your not a beginner at drawing stuff.. the art and the content make it such an excellent read that you have to get it just to see what i mean..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art (Paperback)
This is a good beginners book and far better than others i have seen, well worth the money. It's definitely one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art
Beginner's Guide to Creating Manga Art by Ordoñez (Paperback - 2 April 2013)
£14.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews