Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynn Barber in Sunday Times Magazine April 15 2012
(EMPRESS BIANCA) BY Campbell, Lady Colin(Author)Paperback Sep-2008To quote from Lynn Barber's article Palace Indiscretions in the Sunday Times Magazine for which she interviewed the author after reading her book on the Queen Mother:- "I am always a bit reluctant to dismiss Lady Colin's assertions since her Princess Diana book. In 1992 she published Diana in Private which...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Super Sleuth

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Shocking
I guess that Lady Colin Campbell is telling the truth, or is some of it conjecture? I was surprised at the depth of her bitterness towards the Queen Mother, who I am sure was a strong and demanding woman, but the book appears to be a hatchet job with no redeeming features. We all have a light and a dark side and it is unfair to only dwell on all the faults the author...
Published 6 months ago by Lucinda


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gem, 4 Jun 2013
By 
S. Lean (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Untold Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
Finished reading this book the other week, absolute gem!! Well researched and well written. Found myself laugh, crying and pondering the facts and insights this book offers. A very human and unbiased account of the Queen Mother's life. Would highly recommend if you are interested in the Royal Family or history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive read, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Untold Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
Enlightening book, more about the person than the media image. Digs deep into the life that moulded the queen that was loved by millions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-opener., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lady Campbell reveals the life of The Queen Mother as a person who masked her true identity from 'her' public. Campbell's sources are well documented which adds authenticity to her revelations. The subject herself can only be described as a horror behind feathers. For anyone wishing to know the other side of the Royals this read is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Untold Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother, 15 Jan 2014
By 
D. F. Louis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Untold Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother (Hardcover)
I could not put this book down. Such revelations about this woman. She was so controlling of everyone around her and was most certainly the power behind the throne when she was married to the King. Lady Colin Campbell knows so much about the aristocracy and the royals, her research is impeccable. I could not believe some of the secrets that were exposed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always wondered/doubted about the Queen Mother being a genuine type of person and she was never a favourite of mine. My answer was in this book and no she wasn't a pleasant person to know from what is written. Princess Di was an angel in comparison as QM was a most dangerous person to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always suspected the Queen Mother was not the sweetness & light she appeared to be. This book really sheds some light on her life & times. Not sure how Lady Colin Campbell is not locked up in The Tower for some of the revelations. Wicked & wonderful stuff. Just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Untold Story of Queen Elizabeth, The Queen Mother, 2 Jan 2014
Elizabeth, Queen mum. Only one third through but it's proving to be the only truthful biography I have read. Mostly, biographers skirt around the issues but as in the case of royals, do not have proof. This book says it all, warts and all, mostly warts..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars execpetionally well researched and thought out profile, 1 Jan 2014
By 
pv (Tyne and Wear) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book as it is fair and objective. It shows the characters of the key players in a way that clearly highlights why they were successful in the public eye whilst at the same time, manipulating their families for their own ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story of almost unfettered ambition. Gives a whole new light on Wallis and Edward. Shows that some people will do almost anything to better themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where are the photos?, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book but the author mentions a collection of photos in the book but there aren't any! I have the kindle version so maybe they have not been included for e readers. if this is the case then the price should be lower!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Untold Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother
The Untold Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother by Lady Colin Campbell (Hardcover - 23 April 2012)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews