Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique and interesting
now , im not the best cook, but i surf, and have done for 25 years, i also film a hell of a lot of cooking shows,which you will have seen no doubt,and i looooove eating. so i was at first hugely skeptical about yet another shabby-chique-rustique cookbook. not to mention using surfing as a vehicle-"how trendy and ridiculous" thought i!

i couldnt have been...
Published 19 months ago by simon weekes

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a Lifestyle book than a recipe book
Nice visuals and lovely surf pictures. The actual number of recipes is small. Go elsewhere if you want a decent cook book.
Published 7 months ago by Irish Mammy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique and interesting, 11 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
now , im not the best cook, but i surf, and have done for 25 years, i also film a hell of a lot of cooking shows,which you will have seen no doubt,and i looooove eating. so i was at first hugely skeptical about yet another shabby-chique-rustique cookbook. not to mention using surfing as a vehicle-"how trendy and ridiculous" thought i!

i couldnt have been more mistaken, the book is a treat and pleasure to flick through or delve deeper when the eye is caught.
the recipes are mostly simple to follow and not filled with a million ingredients that you will never own.
lovely photos,( these i have seen and done before-soft backlight, narrow depth of field stuff, but hey , it works and the food looks very appetising)
but also fun tricks with design, and some great surfing /skating iconic images
lovely little stories,
and most importantly for me anyway, the book is not at all pretentious.sure it looks good, and its a bit chic, but its the real deal, these guys live the cold damp dream in ireland,not everyones cuppa, but they have found the magik and warmth and hospitality and fun and joy of the irish and of surfing and of food and of cooking and eating and laughing, and managed to beautifully illustrate, photograph and package it all into one neat book.they have created a unique and interesting book, and i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious practical recipes and a very beautiful book, 31 July 2012
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
The Surf Cafe cookbook is a real treat for anybody who likes tasty, good food fast and also wants some eye candy. This is a very cool, funky book, especially for all those ocean lovers. The lemon squares recipe is DIVINE! Works as both a coffee table book and for your recipe book shelf. Will be giving one to all my friends and family as gifts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a cookbook!, 31 July 2012
By 
M. Capilitan "m_capilitan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
Having eaten in the cafe which inspired the book, I was keen to get my hands on the book as soon as it came out. And I wasn't disappointed...the recipes inside are fab and as my title suggests, it really is more than just another cookbook, with a lifestyle theme running throughout the book, with tips on how to get the best ingredients and where to find them to how the make great coffee! It's called the Surf Cafe Cookbook, but for any non-surfers don't worry, there's only a few pages on the sport of surfing, it really is more about the culture and lifestyle that accompanies the location of the cafe where the authors work/run. And the photography inside also really compliment the actual content, it's a real colourful book....definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the perfect coffee table book with some truly excellent recipes., 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
I would of give it five stars but I'm just too poor to really share the dream, I'm just being mean as it truly is great. The recipes I've tried have all turned out great and I want both a cafe and more of the outdoors in my life as a result of my reading it. I even want to go back to Ireland so I guess it does everything right. I even want to give it five stars but I can hear my own excuses for not following my own path and not truly living the dream and as a result my revenge is just the four. Buy it whatever your circumstances it might just change your life for the better even if it only means you learn a few simple recipes to make your life a more tasty place to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrumptious lemon squares, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
This book is beautiful to look at and has some stunning recipes - the buttery shortbread based lemon squares are outstanding and the recipe worked out perfectly. They were wolfed down when I took some in to work.
I love the book's styling and format with little tips and ideas for craft makes as well as recipes. There are also some lovely surfing stories and recommendations on surfing locations that I enjoyed, even though I am not a surfer (yet)!
Some other recipes from the book include:
Honey Surf Energy Bars
Cranberry Flapjacks
Flourless Chocolate Cake
Potato Rosti
Breakfast Pie
West Coast Chowder
Campervan Casserole
Hangover Cures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it love it love it!, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
This is an amazing cookbook for anybody who wants to bring a sense of colour, vibrancy, flavour and freshness to their table. The recipes are easy to follow and have great images to compare from. Not only that it has a romantic story about a couple with a love for food and surf and how they combined the two basing themselves on the west coast of Ireland. Where the best surf is to be had, Co.Sligo. This cookbook is amazingly lush with imagery of food recipes and seascape. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely wee book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
Beautiful pictures, great recipes. Again this was for my son the surfer and he has tried some of the recipes(he is also a keen & very good cook) the food was really delicious and he has improvised and improved some recipes. Lovely book as a gift for anyone especially travellers and keen cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely cookbook, 10 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
This is a fabulous cookbook with wholesome food recipes. I was given this cookbook by my husband because he knows how much I love going to the author's cafe, Shells, on Ireland's west coast. The food there is unreal and always fresh. So he figured why not tap into their secrets and buy the cookbook to save us the 2.5hr drive from Dublin! The Thai pumpkin soup is literally to die for and can not wait to try out the rest of the recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eat, sleep, surf..., 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
Saw this book advertised in a surf mag and my girlfriend said we should get it. She's a great cook while I'm, er, lets say average...so maybe it was a subtle hint!! Anyway, wow, what a cool book. Exactly the kind of grub I really like...and the recipes are not too complicated. Plus, anyone who is into surfing will love it. There are loads of wicked surf shots and stuff about trucking around in Ireland. I've been there a coupla times and I love it...must get over there again sometime soon. The pics make the food look deee-lish, so I'm gonna roll up my sleeves and get cookin'. Reckon I'll be an ace cook in a few weeks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The surf cafe cook book, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland (Paperback)
Does what it says on the tin. Easy recipes, telling you how to make good quality food, I'd particularly recommend the fish chowder.
If you want hundreds of recipes with expensive exotic ingredients don't buy this book, if you want a selection of easy to prepare , quality food then this is the book for you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Surf Cafe Cookbook: Living the Dream: Cooking and Surfing on the West Coast of Ireland
15.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews