Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go ahead and treat yourself, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
A beautiful book of photography and words.

Having seen some the images of Chloe on Damien's blog I couldn't wait to receive the book.

The book is a wonderful collection of images and words. I've looked through it a number of times already and my favourite image keeps changing as well as my favourite line or poem.

If you're a photographer it's a great source for reference (not technique or f stops!!) and if you're looking for a treat for yourself or as a gift you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Must Have!, 21 April 2011
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
This book beautifully put together by Damien Lovegrove & Chloe-Jasmine Whichello is a simple must have in any collection. Wonderfully shot with such a fine eye this book will become a real collectors piece. If your sitting on the fence, go for it, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de force, 11 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
There are that many books available to photographers that it's rare for something really different to come along. But something has. Chloe Jasmine Whichello by Damien Lovegrove (let's just call it CJW for now) is a triumph in three parts...

Firstly, it's a very fine item to have on show; the quality of the book, from the binding to the print, is first-rate and the images are an attractive tour de force, showcasing not just the masterful technique of a photographer at the top of his game but also wit and warmth.

Secondly, it will become an invaluable reference to photographers - professional and enthusiasts alike - who are looking for inspiration, either for day to day portrait ideas or to create a really special work for a valued client. The use of lighting, be it available light, flash or continuous, creates looks from classic Hollywood, through modern mixed-light and 'relaxed Sunday morning' right through to epic set pieces. All the while, CJW herself inhabits the environment in a way that inspires us to set the scene then forget about the lights and create a story.

And that's what the third part is about. CJW (the book, this time) isn't about f-stops and ISO settings; it's about taking the next step on and adding another dimension to our basic skills. Recognising that photographing people is about, well, people. CJW shows what can be done when you can light up your work with enthusiasm and communication and it's this honest, unselfconscious offering which sets the book apart and makes it a must for anyone serious about making their portrait work fun, expressive and desirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star on the rise, 6 April 2011
By 
R. Jackson "Kerching" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
Chloe-Jasmine Whichello is a star on the rise.

This is a beautifully shot book with truly gorgeous photos. Destined to be a collectors item in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damiens Book, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
I bought this book yesterday at a photography convention. I have rarely put it down since. Truly fantastic and it will provide me with inspiration for the future. A great book to have on display. It will have pride of place in our photographic studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
Having photographed Chloe on one of Damien's workshops, I'm not sure it's possible for me to give an unbiased review.

However, this is only because I appreciate her ability to, with seeming effortlessness, reach out from the page to grab and hold your attention. These images truly convey a thorough and touching evocation of her beauty wrapped in the light and shadow of a photographer who really knows his craft.

From her wistful gaze to her supernova of a smile, every page captures an aspect of her personality, and you reach the end of the book feeling as if you have just had a conversation with her which immeasurably brightened your day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The photo bible., 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
I opened it in the evening and after the first chapter i realized it wasn't another "sober" book. This one has got it`s unique atmosphere. So i took a glass of port wein and put some piano jazz on. With every picture and every Chloe`s poem i was imagining her in beautiful streets and posh hotels of Paris. Everybody was gazing after her, admiring her! I wish i was a smoker, `cause after the last chapter i needed a cigarette.
The book is now standing before my eyes as a photo bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous and intimate portrayal of someone beautiful, 4 May 2011
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
If you love quality photographs, this book is for you. If you love beautiful women, this is for you. If you love pukka photobooks, this is for you. If you love all of the above, found all in one book, this is for you!

There are few photobooks that take one person as the photographic subject throughout, and even a couple of well-known examples that I can think of - Mario Testino's portayal of Princess Diana, David Bailey's portrayal of his wife - don't achieve it in quite so much depth as this book from Damien Lovegrove achieves its portayal of Chloe Jasmine Wichello, which it does to as good a standard, if not better, than the two famous names.

There's a consistently beautiful quality in each photograph, yet a great deal of breadth and depth across the book - amazing, considering they were all taken in the same year. Poems written by the model are also included against some of the plates, and these afford even more intimacy. You feel like you're sitting next to this wonderful and beautiful girl.

Damien's descriptions of his times with Chloe also form an entertaining and incisively-written introduction to the person coming to us via his lens, though he also adds his own couple of attempts at poetry, which are no match for Chloe's poems. A punchy writer as well as a top-notch photographer, the fact that he was drawn in by Chloe to also attempt a poem somehow adds to this portrayal of her.

It's the icing on the cake that this book is printed beautifully on thick paper and given a quality binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 23 April 2011
By 
M. Griffiths (West Mids, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
The fine art photography in this book conveys a welcome 'feel good' mood during this time of austerity. The imagery provides food for the soul for the art lover, and inspiration/motivation for photographers. As a tool for photographers, the review by TedRW sums up it's value perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chloe Jasmine, one of the most beautiful women in the world! Probably!, 12 April 2011
By 
Mr. B. Gerrard "Brad J" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover)
What can one say about a book that strives to capture one of the most beautiful women in the world, a book by one of the leading photography teachers in the United Kingdom.

When they recently made a movie about Troy, there was some criticism with regard to the choice of the actress who played Helen of Troy, some said that she simply didn't have the presence of character, and whilst being pretty didn't have the merits that would launch an army into war...No such criticism would have been countered against the very beautiful Chloe Jasmine about such a woman the statement that 'she would launch a thousand ships', must surely have been posed! A woman of presence, and with the most exceptional profile of any model i've seen.

Damien Lovegrove has strived to capture the presence of such a woman, in black and white and in colour he has delivered this book. Much can be learnt from this Master photographic aficionado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chloe-Jasmine Whichello
Chloe-Jasmine Whichello by Chloe-Jasmine Whichello (Hardcover - 31 Mar 2011)
Used & New from: 35.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews