Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sure sign that cycling literature has come of age., 18 Jun 2013
By 
D. Cook "Don Cook" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
Certain sports inspire great writing. For example cricket and mountaineering. Others fail to achieve this consistency, despite the overwhelming popularity of the sport in question. Football most obviously fits this bill, though there have been some notable exceptions of late. This book is a collection of original articles that really hit the spot. Articles really well written, interesting and involving, critical and analytical. At a time when most of the ever increasing number of cycling magazines are little more than marketing exercises, this book really shows that some of the very best writers are now fully involved with cycling. The opening article, twenty eight pages by William Fotheringham on Bradley Wiggins, is really good journalism and those that follow keep up the standard. I believe this is the first of an on-going series; if that is so we are in for a regular treat. As I throw down yet another magazine full of latest ways to spend money on cycling stuff I really look forward to the following editions of this anthology. It brings back the days when the likes of J.B. Wadley could be read and enjoyed at weekly and monthly intervals in 'Cycling' and 'Sporting. Cyclist', days that seemed to be gone long ago. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth finding!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
J. Beattie "padbeat" (Sunny Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
Simply put this is an excellent collection of cycling literature and reportage. The pieces are intelligent, interesting, sometimes challenging and always written with a love and passion for the sport. Please hunt out Prendas Cyclismo and get a copy for the cyclist in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
Great collection of short stories. An easy book to pick up at intervals. The short essay format suits my "dip in, dip out" style of reading. The essays are all well written and informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VGI, 1 April 2013
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
What a cracking little book this is. Every piece is a succulent indulgence and just right with a cup of tea while sitting in your favourite comfy chair. Cannot wait for Volume 2. Hats off to all involved. Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
For everyone who loves cycling this will be great reading. A collection of different perspectives that offer a richly different perspective on current issues in the sport. reall enjoyed it! Prendas are excellent suppliers too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital new addition to cycling literature, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
Just to be clear, I initially ordered this book on Amazon only to be told by the publishers that Amazon wouldn't be selling it so I bought it direct from them (keeps the profits in house, cycling anthology.com or prendas.co.uk). Now I notice Amazon say the volume isn't available from them so I expect this review will disappear eventually but until it does can I ask you please to get a copy if you are interested in cycling or good sports journalism or perhaps both, because if you are it fits the bill. It is a collection of essays from prominent cycling journalists, writers and even professional cyclists themselves (David Millar writes in this edition) and is the first volume of what is hoped to become a regular series. It is a smashing little book, it's presence has never been more vital and it proves beyond doubt that in the past boxing and cricket have arguably been seen as the sports with the best writers and now cycling can be added to this list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Anthology Vol 1, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
Bought as a Christmas present for our racing cyclist son-in-law and he was delighted with it. Vols 2 & 3 were bought separately by othe member of the family and were received with equal enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
I hope this series continues. Some excellent essays included here with insight from both lovers of the sport, journos and those inside the peloton themselves. Looking forward to volume two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but it's 2013 now..., 6 Mar 2013
By 
Dean Wanless "Deanos" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
An enjoyable read (apart from the Voeckler piece, one of the most charismatic racers in the world, not that you'd know it from the very short, abrubtly ended piece about him) and I'll be buying the next one. But unless a Kindle edition is offered that'll be it for me. I've got limited space for books these days and tend to purchase on Kindle when offered. I don't want it to be cheaper than the paperback, I enjoyed it enough to pay a premium for it even, but to not even offer the option in a periodical starting in 2013 is pretty poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars splendid, insightful writing, 15 Jan 2013
By 
S. Martin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 (Paperback)
Now that cycling is the Next Big Thing you will have noticed bookshop shelves groaning with hastily produced books, packed with photos and very little time or effort spent on the content. This collection is very different. Reading this you feel you are getting an insight into the sport by people who know what they are talking about. I am already looking forward to volume 2. I have cancelled my subscription to a cycling magazine (which was starting to churn stuff out) and will instead spend the money on this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1
The Cycling Anthology 2012: Volume 1 by Ellis Bacon (Paperback - 25 Nov 2012)
7.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews