Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars58
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
49
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2012
I have purchased this from Amazon for the past 5 years. If you are a movie fan then this is a really great publication. No you won't find any pictures in it at all but you will find the following-
1370 pages of films arranged alphabetically and with the following information. Title, star rating out of five by various film critics, BBFC certification,year it was made,the genre of the film,country of origin,whether black & white or in colour and the length of the film in minutes.There is usually a brief synopsis and critical evaluation. In addition the names of the main actors and directors together with scriptwriters, cameramen and other notables finish each entry.
Next there are 130 pages devoted to directors and the names of the films they directed.
Following this section are about 200 pages detailing main actors and the films they appeared in. Very useful if you know who the actor was in a film but can't remember the film's title.
A few pages deal with alternative film titles and there is a list of awards covering The British Film Academy awards, The Oscars and The Golden Globe Awards for each year.
At the end of the book are genre lists of five and four star
films.
I have only one slight comment to make on this excellent publication. It would be useful to have a list of films which have been removed from the guide since last year.There are usually about 500 new films rated every year so consequently 500 must be thrown out if the total page numbers remain the same year after year.
However this is an indispensable book which you will refer to often. Recommended reading for all film buffs.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
See my review of last year's guide (2012) for more comments, but this is the same, indispensable excellent guide from Radio Times. I buy this every year now and wouldn't go without it. It includes latest film reviews like Prometheus, The Bourne Legacy and Avengers Assemble (which by the way is under "Marvel Avengers Assemble") and less commercial titles like The Turin Horse. Highly recommended.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
One of the most useful reference works about films returns boasting 500 new entries in its total of 23,000 film reviews. The full spectrum of film - from obscure classics to the blockbusters of tomorrow - is covered in here, along with an invaluable list of award winners and an index of works categorised by directors and actors - in short, what any reader should demand from their film guides. There's also an indication as to whether a film is available on DVD or Blu-ray or both - a nice touch making for easy online searches and store-scouting. The book is a mighty tome - weighing in at some 1600 pages - and some of its reviews will invariably divide readers, but it's still the most up-to-date reference book (at the time of writing this review) and highly recommended for those who prefer their film compendiums to be relatively plain-speaking in their approach.

An ideal Christmas gift - and it still doubles as a useful doorstop.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
As a long time devotee of the pithy Leonard Maltin Movie Guide - essential for those many stateside releases that do not make it over the pond,the Radio Times Film Guide is comfortably the best UK guide and knocks spots off the Time Out and Virgin Guides.
My last one was the 2010 guide so I thought I would update and was very glad I did.

On the plus side there are over 23000+ capsule reviews with a decent cast list for nearly all the entries(something not offered in Maltin)which is excellent and an inconsistent tone in opinions (which I like) for the more contemporary stuff e.g 4* to Prometheus(utter dreck )and the same to Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter(fun but hardly one notch below say Odd Man Out).Importantly also a treasure trove for films that you probably have not heard of(in the b's alone there are films like Blue Black Permanent,a 1992 drama with Celia Imrie and Jack Shepherd and Bolweiser,a Rainer Werner Fassbinder from 1977 that was edited down from a tv project,etc etc.

However the above examples are also illustrative of the book's only real weakness, namely that they are not available to buy on any format at present and the same goes for quite a number of entries.Still if you look at it as broadening your film knowledge ,then maybe it's not such a fault after all.

Add to the mix,comprehensive filmographies for both actors and directors of work released in the UK and you have a good all round package ideal for beginners as well as confirmed enthusiasts.
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
A very comprehensive list/review of films available on DVD,with succinct summaries of the plot, cast, etc.A very useful reference book to possess.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Comprehensive review of every film you're likey to see on television with synopsis and rating.
Good fun checking out the films you have seen and useful information about the ones you're thinking about watching.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Bought this for my Husband for Xmas. Used to buy the Halliwell's but sadly with his demise no more were produced. This is an excellent alternative and well worth the money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Streets ahead of the (old) Halliwell guide I used before this. Succinct, excoriating when necessary and - best of all - so far I am in accord with its ratings. Not afraid to admit to liking rubbish on occasion when it is truly entertaining, so especially helpful in sorting out Channel 5's offerings. Definitely worth the money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
I ordered 2 of these for xmas presents. Arrived quickly. Packaged well and great value for money at £17.50 each.
I'd recommend for people that are really into their films rather than a casual read. This book is massive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
I admit I miss my Halliwell's but the Radio Times guide is almost as good, and is certainly the best currently on the market. Film reviews are always going to be subjective, but with a large group of reviewers, this book is going to get it right more often than not, with thousands of reviews covering all ages and types of film. Minority and foreign films get a good look in too. Newer films are "previewed" rather than reviewed, a useful added facet of this large and indispensable boo. Anyway, Halliwell always was a touch idiosyncratic in what he liked or didn't, wasn't he? Buy this boook with complete confidence that it is as fair and comprehensive as you will get anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)