Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am immersive, enjoyable adventure, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
Much like the first book in the series, the second provides the reader with a vast landscape to explore at will without a prescribed quest or mission. It is entirely the choice of the adventurer which side quests they follow, where they explore, what allegiances they make and how they make investments. Rather than a set quest the aim is for the reader to develop their character and their material assets. As the reader does so they will ascend in rank and increase their various attributes.

Unlike ‘The War Torn Kingdom’ which placed the adventurer in the uneasy environment of a land recently suffering from a military coup, ‘Cities of Gold and Glory’ is set in a peaceful, almost pastoral land. Although there isn’t the tension in the air that ‘The War Torn Kingdom’ possessed this book is not lacking in atmosphere. The writers have created a very believable world that becomes more enticing and addictive the more you explore.

Initially it feels like there isn’t a great deal to do. Many of the towns and cities lack scenarios in which to become involved. Most of the side quests are to be found in whilst wandering around between places. Many of these encounters can only be reached by random dice rolls. Although this makes exploring quite fun as there is often something else to be found in places you have previously passed through, it does mean that to complete some missions or locate certain items you have to repetitively walk up and down the same bit of road occasionally.

The seafaring element suffers in much the same way as ‘The War Torn Kingdom’ in that there is actually very little to do on your ship but sail up and down the coast from port to port. However, there are a couple of interesting discoveries that can be made doing this.

The highlights are probably the Forest of the Forsaken (which is better if you obtained certain information in ‘The War Torn Kingdom’) and Castle Ravayne. It is at castle Ravayne where the largest collection of side quests can be found and some good alliances can be made. These quests are of a varied nature and also invoilve some of the other books in the Fabled Lands series.

Promising, perhaps, more interaction with the other books in the series than its predecessor does, ‘Cities of Gold and Glory’ is a very rewarding adventure gamebook. Possibly it lacks anything challenging, but it compensates for this with a multitude of varied things to do. Entertaining adventuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinnacle of the genre, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
Have the original releases of all of these books and they are nothing short of phenomenal. Collect all the books and you have a fantasy world of gigantic proportions and amazing depth. There are many different classes and quests as well as huge areas to explore ships to buy and many ports to trade at. Set up a stall in Aku market or join the ranks of the nobility, kill dragons and many other monsters. Use magic, charisma and a variety of other skill to achieve your goals.

The books are written in such a way that you imagination can really take over and fill in the details of the world so the adventures will be unique for everyone. I first played these books when they were first released back in the mid nineties and over the years I have gone back and played them many times over as have my siblings. The books are well worn from use and I will be purchasing them now for a second time and all going well the full series will be published this time.

I can highly recommend these book for anyone who likes RPG games, and if you've tried games books before start here with the very pinnacle of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the nostalgia buffs, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
I bought these re-issues to add support to the possiblity of books 7-12 being published at some point in the future.

Fabled Lands may not quite be my favourite gamebook series (Steve Jackson's Sorcery gets that honour)but these books have so much replayability and the authors know every trick in the (game)book. They write with a gentle humour but always treat the fantasy seriously. The books are steeped in atmosphere and the interactive element is incredibly high; fancy just taking to the seas and being a merchant? No problem at all.

For anyone who has never played a gamebook before I would recommend this series with the only "blip" being that you might find it frustrating not owning Book 2 from the outset.

Books 3 and 4 are both superb but significantly tougher than the earlier books; think of them like levels in a computer games - if the game didn't get tougher you'd get bored anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but..., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
Books are just as fantastic as i remember... the size of the book is an issue, the first release was printed in a much larger format with a cardboard cover with all you need for your adventure. Now you get a flimsy paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something has finally torn me away from my iPad of an evening. High praise indeed..., 6 Oct 2014
By 
Richard Smithston (Wiltshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
Until recently I hadn't bought a game book since my early teens. I noticed the 'Fabled Lands' books when I came across author Dave Morris' blog. There is nothing I can add to the other reviews except more high praise.

I would highlight the fact that these books are so open ended. They are in a league of their own. The book never tells you what to do. Just explore, trade, acquire and quest your way around a world that is six books in size and allows for movement in all directions on land and by sea. This is genius and I believe unique to game books!

There are in fact 12 books in the series but only six have ever been printed. If enough books in this new edition are sold the publisher will commission the remaining 6. For the love of all that is fun in the world please buy these books and do all us fans a favour. We need books 7 to 12 as soon as possible!!!

Something has finally torn me away from my iPad of an evening. High praise indeed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the adventure..., 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
The second book in the Fabled Lands series is a worthy successor to the War Torn Kingdoms. Not only does it provide you with a big long coastline to build your shipping/trading empire, it also adds a splash of the fantastic and fae to the Harkunan mix. There's definitely a more faerie tale feel to Golnir, which is a nice change of pace. Watch out for one of the most potent magical items in the whole series hidden away in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gamebook!, 15 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory (Paperback)
This is not your regular single player adventure game book. It's a unique book that allows you to play multiple quests, but also trade, own a house and (if you're lucky) even a ship. You can rob or charm the characters you meet. Yet the game is still easy to understand and play. Each book in the series describes a separate section of the game world so the more books you own the larger your play world. But since each book is self-contained you don't need to buy more if you don't want to.

The Fabled Lands series is highly recommended for anyone who likes single player role playing games and is tired of PC games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory
Fabled Lands 2: Cities of Gold & Glory by Jamie Thomson (Paperback - 1 Dec 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews