Customer Reviews


8 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each story is a gem, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Roberts (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biting Point (Paperback)
This is a fascinating collection of short stories - each one a gem. Each one takes you into someone else's life. The first line immediately makes you want to read on. Beautifully written, concise, not a word wasted. A neat little volume to carry around with you, to transport you to another world whenever you have a moment to immerse yourself in a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling story telling, 14 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Biting Point (Paperback)
The Biting Point is a bold, blistering portrayal of human nature; its twelve short stories crackle with tension as Catherine Smith explores the unsettling aspects of humanity without ever losing compassion. The writing is a joy, perceptive, confident, mortifying and delicious, direct and humorous, her pitch and pace perfect. Here you'll meet characters so complex and so beautifully flawed they'll stay with you long after you've finished this wonderful book which I can't recommend enough. Buy two, give one to a friend, they'll love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Biting Point, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Biting Point (Paperback)
I started reading The Biting Point quite late one night. Each time I finished a story, I'd think "just one more, then I'll turn out the light.". The night turned into a non-stop greedy read - all of them in one go! Each character is perfectly drawn, singular but recognizable, their situation intriguingly original but everyday believable. There's a humanity underpinning Catherine Smith's subtly stylish writing which allows us to identify with her characters, however misguided, disturbed or disturbing they are, however heart-breaking, or laughable, the stories they tell. I was beguiled and moved, sometimes to tears, but ultimately uplifted by this collection of pitch-perfect short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine the Great., 13 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biting Point (Paperback)
I discovered Catherine's poetry by accident. Although we are unrelated, we are both Smith's and this was the only reason I chose to read her first poetry book-The Butchers Hands.Well, all I can say is that the best things in life tend to happen this way and it was so in this case. I have subsequently read her second collection of poems-Lip, and find them to be just as good as the first.
So, on to Biting Point, a collection of short stories.There is no doubt in my mind that Catherine has the gift of creating quirky characters that one can empathize with, some you love, some you will dislike, but there are none you can ignore.Her stories take me to places I wouldn't normally frequent, but in doing so I find that I have new perspective and a greater awareness of the plight of those I wouldn't normally come in to contact with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stylish and sexy stories, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biting Point (Kindle Edition)
A gripping collection of modern short stories that stay with you a long time. Catherine Smith explores the darker side of everyday life, sometimes from a child's perspective and even more entertainingly from that of adults who are almost normal. Taut, sparse writing draws the reader into tangled minds and jangled worlds. Like the best rich dark chocolates, these tales deserve to be savoured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, unsettling and urgent, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biting Point (Kindle Edition)
Read the volume in one sitting (or lying - needed to sleep but this volume snapped me awake). It has wit and pace. Am recommending it consistently to my friends. Women who don't have time for reading will find time for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb short story collection, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Linda Edmondson "Lindy loo" (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biting Point (Paperback)
What a gifted, and a little naughty, writer is Ms. Smith. Great title for a weekend read, while you're somewhere you shouldn't be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars her best yet, 26 July 2014
This review is from: The Biting Point (Paperback)
never comfortable but always so true to life. the sharpness of her observation is breathtaking at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Biting Point
The Biting Point by Catherine Smith (Paperback - 18 Nov. 2010)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews