Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the code of history
I don't agree with the previous review saying that Mirren is pessimistic regarding the US's present stage of decline . In fact in page 118 of his book Mirren suggests alliances between the Us and Central and South America to form a single trade-free zone. This would as it were constitue a new Empire in the regionalistion phase. Mirren has likwise made a number of other...
Published on 2 May 2011 by samuel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The book
The author has an incredible knowledge and applies it very well. But I would have preferred to be condensed into a book say 30% smaller than this
Published 14 months ago by James Hanshaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking the code of history, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Breaking the Code of History (Paperback)
I don't agree with the previous review saying that Mirren is pessimistic regarding the US's present stage of decline . In fact in page 118 of his book Mirren suggests alliances between the Us and Central and South America to form a single trade-free zone. This would as it were constitue a new Empire in the regionalistion phase. Mirren has likwise made a number of other constructive suggestions for other countries in the decline. There is no doubt that the US has overextended itself.
Regarding the book , I must say I enjoyed it thoroughly and think it will have a pride of place in my bookshelf and prove to be useful reference book in the years to come. This book is well worth the price -I recommend it without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collage text book?, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Breaking the Code of History (Paperback)
Excellent in every aspect not just the content but the quality of the book. Full glossy color plates and diagrams.
As for the content, well, all the facts are there for each of us to make decisions that may help our families in the not too distant future.

If you can find the book it is worth the cost and time. The question is "why is the book so difficult to get in the USA, I suspect that it has been purchased by a university as a text book and removed from the general population ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive guy, great book so far..., 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Code of History (Paperback)
I saw the author speak a couple of months ago in a panel interview at a conference, and was impressed. It's rare, but very refreshing, to see a financial "expert" or commentator who has actually read about history and the markets further back than the last few years. David has done this and much more, and seems to be a real polymath.

I am over 100 pages through this book, but thought I'd offer a review now as there has only been a couple so far. From my reading to date, it's excellent and I strongly recommend it. Reading history books like this is a great way to understand the world we live in and the likely way history will progress. And David offers a particularly insightful and unique perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interdisciplinary Approach to Declinism - The Empire Lifecycle, 2 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Breaking the Code of History (Paperback)
Author David Murrin's contribution to Declinism is his model of what I call Empire Lifecycle. Murrin fits the U.S. by analogy and examples of empires past into his Five Stages of Empire. It's not difficult to recognize our predicament as fitting his 5th stage, called "decline." If you believe his stages and recognize the 5th as current, you might be a Declinist (Triumphalism is the opposite of Declinism). Murrin is a polymath, a person of great learning in several fields of study. His background includes finance and investment; geophysics; military history and more.

In summary, Murrin's Five Stages of Empire: Regionalism; Ascension to Empire; Maturity; Overextension; and Decline. Murrin's Model might remind readers of a model by the brilliant author Dr. Ichak Adizes, called, "The Corporate Lifecycle." The leadership dynamic in both models is nearly identical. However, Murrin's most important dynamic is demographics. Each stage in the model has a demographic dynamic unique to that stage.

The 5th stage of Murrin's model is decline, where he sees the U.S. right now. This stage is characterized by loss of geopolitical influence; protectionism; social fragmentation and discord; and pessimism. I think there's no debate about the pessimism association. On the sunny side, Murrin points us to Africa for investing purposes. The idea is that Africa is just in the first stage and thus investors can get in on the ground floor. However, Murrin predicts conflicts in that region over natural resources, with China a likely beneficiary as it moves to fill in the void in empire space.

Whereas Murrin's model identifies China as an ascendant empire, many academics will point out China does not have sufficient ability to project empire-like military strength. But Murrin explains how no economic empire in the history of the world had failed to militarize. Further, he identifies the male-to-female ratio in China, which is 56% and a full 5% more than world averages, as a demographic dynamic in favor of taking military risk sooner rather than later. This type of analysis is alarming, entertaining and makes the book a page-turner.

Murrin may have made a lasting contribution with The Five Stages of Empire. It's difficult to argue with this model though, because he shows how people in a declining empire tend to be in denial. Hence, if we hold an opposing viewpoint, he'd say we're in denial. Regarding the potential of investing in Africa, an investor may need additional specific information to protect against losing capital in the predicted resource wars. I recommend this book because I think most readers will find it entertaining and insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Code of History (Paperback)
The author has an incredible knowledge and applies it very well. But I would have preferred to be condensed into a book say 30% smaller than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking the Code of History
Breaking the Code of History by David Paul Murrin (Paperback - 20 Jan. 2011)
Used & New from: £12.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews