Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I was so excited, when on finishing reading Nowwhere Man - book 2 in the trilogy, I found this one -last in trilogy - was out on Kindle! I downloaded it last night, finished already as I could not put it down.

I cant say too much about the book as I really don't want to risk spoiling it for other readers. I loved the series, it started out as one thing and...
Published 18 months ago by Jackie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking local interest
I was first attracted to Sheila Quigley's books by the location of the stories. I know both Houghton and Holy Island well.
This novel lacked this local detail. It is also strange to have someone from Houghton referring to 'Finchale Priory' when everyone in the area calls it 'Finchale Abbey'.
Local issues aside, this did not have the 'edge of the seat' factor...
Published 12 months ago by Holiday Reader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so excited, when on finishing reading Nowwhere Man - book 2 in the trilogy, I found this one -last in trilogy - was out on Kindle! I downloaded it last night, finished already as I could not put it down.

I cant say too much about the book as I really don't want to risk spoiling it for other readers. I loved the series, it started out as one thing and ended as something else. It was, like the previous two, fast and exciting and the twists and turns...........

Highly recommend the Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An addictive series, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of 3 books based in the north of England is addictive from book one.
On finishing the first book I downloaded the next two and immersed myself in excellent writing, great story telling.
Well written and held together by the brilliant Shiela Quigley she never lets the pace slip
Believable characters that mature within the series.
I would recommend the series.
Start at book one as the books are not stand alone reads in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 7 Feb 2013
By 
T. Buckham "Kitty" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
waited awhile and boy was it worth it couldnt put the book down till i finished it .... so hurry sheila waiting for your next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!!, 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Final Countdown (Hardcover)
Having read all of Sheilas Books ( and totally disgusted with some comments )
Once again a great book from start to finish!! It should be obvious in a triology set that you read book one and two first!!!
I wont give anything away to spoil for others but was never expecting an ending like it was!!
Read it in a day and a half as I just could not put it down, needed to know the outcome of all the lovely characters!!
Only bad thing about this book is it ended!!!!
Well Done Sheila xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW loved this book, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Countdown (Holy Island Trilogy) (Paperback)
The Final countdown is the last in the Holy Island trilogy, I was worried that Shelia Quigley would not be able to keep up the pace of the story, but boy was i wrong. The final countdown keeps you riveted from the first page as we catch up with characters from previous books. Shelia has managed to create characters the reader cares about Ian's you feel yourself "rooting" for them throughout I don't want to give to much away and spoil it for other readers but the final countdown answers all the questions to the previous 2 books and ties up loose ends in the process. The holy island trilogy was well thought out and does make you think about things that are going on in the world today and could there be more to it! Well written with great characters and a story that moves at breakneck speed, the final countdown is well worth a read. A word of warning though once I picked this book up I was unable to put it down and read it in just over a day. I for one am really looking forward to reading Sheila's next book, each book seems to be better than the last one if that is possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final countdown, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this final instalment to the trilogy. Sheila Quigley did not disappoint, a real page turner, couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 11 Aug 2013
By 
miss a m christie (sunderland england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put this book down , the final part of this trilogy was thrilling to read. I can't wait for the next sheila quigley book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty thriller., 9 Aug 2013
By 
Paul D Brazill (Bydgoszcz, Poland) - See all my reviews
The final part of Sheila Quigley's page turning Holy Island Trilogy is a knockout. This high-octane thriller is the third to feature DI Mike Yorke, a decent but bull-headed copper who, along with a psychic street-waif known as Smiler, is embroiled in a bizarre murder case that involves kidnapped kids, a drugs factory, and `the families' - a sinister group that control the world. The story twists and turns like a corkscrew and races along at a breathless pace towards a dramatic conclusion but is also chock full of the sort of down-to-earth characters, gritty realism and humour that we've come to expect from Sheila Quigley - the Queen of Brit Grit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great trilogy, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having downloaded the 1st book of the trilogy as a Kindle Daily Deal, I had to download the other 2 books as well. I've read all 3 in the last week! I hadn't come across the author before, despite being from the North East (!). The books are real page turners and I loved the characters and the twists and the turns along the way. It's a long time since I've enjoyed reading so much. A fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great trilogy !, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first book reels you in, the second twists and turns and the third is a real page turner! Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Countdown (Holy Island Trilogy)
The Final Countdown (Holy Island Trilogy) by Sheila Quigley (Paperback - 25 Jun 2013)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews