Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Lady
You can't judge a book by its cover but this book has the most attractive cover picture I've seen in a long time.It is a delightful read and for me Liz has conveyed a sense of happiness that's felt by the reader. Having built up something of a collection of British comedy films in which Liz appears it was a pleasure for me to see many of them referred to by Liz's own...
Published on 16 Nov. 2012 by Robert Allsop

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Liz
Books from actresses who were working in the 50s and 60s are as rare as hens teeth.So I suppose that I shouldn't feel too frustrated by this book.Whilst she tells us about working with many famous names of the period she rarely goes into much depth about them,the exception being Peter Sellers.For example on page 151 she says she got to know Kenneth Williams a lot better...
Published 17 months ago by Wingate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Liz, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Books from actresses who were working in the 50s and 60s are as rare as hens teeth.So I suppose that I shouldn't feel too frustrated by this book.Whilst she tells us about working with many famous names of the period she rarely goes into much depth about them,the exception being Peter Sellers.For example on page 151 she says she got to know Kenneth Williams a lot better when she was making Carry On Behind,but nothing more.Most of the actors she performed with were "nice" or "lovely" with the exception of Jack Douglas.The only person she has a go at,rightly,is Peter Rogers.he let actors such as Charlie Hawtry and Joan Sims,decline into poverty,refusing their rightful requests for reiduals.Clearly Ms Fraser realised the pitfalls of the acting profession early on,and through wise investments has given herself a comfortable old age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Lady, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
You can't judge a book by its cover but this book has the most attractive cover picture I've seen in a long time.It is a delightful read and for me Liz has conveyed a sense of happiness that's felt by the reader. Having built up something of a collection of British comedy films in which Liz appears it was a pleasure for me to see many of them referred to by Liz's own recollections, amplified by the her joy in working with many of her admired personalities. Also it was enjoyable to discover her many non-acting roles in life and indeed the impression comes across that she herself feels she has achieved much. Altogether a lively account of a lady whose character sparkles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All Performers Can Write, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Michael J. Oldfield (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Since I may be one of the few people left on Planet Earth who remember Liz Fraser with great fondness, I was anxious to read her life story. Unfortunately, Miss Fraser should have left the writing to someone else. Books regarding show business personalities need to contain some choice tidbits that we've never heard before...the odd revelation or two. This book does not. Liz Fraser continually tells us that she "worked with so-and-so and he was awfully nice" and she "was costarred with this actress who was a real professional and taught her a lot". Everyone she meets is a delightful person whom she admires and likes. Not exactly what you would call "a tell-all book". I'm glad she had such a long and rewarding career but I wish the book contained a few more insights into the personalities of the people she worked with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liz Fraser... A Truly Great Character!, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
A very enjoyable, well written, easy-to-read autobiography by one of the great British character actresses of the 50s and 60s onwards. A remarkable lady who appeared in many well-known film and TV comedies, numerous plays and several serious works as well. If you like movies, then this is a book worth reading. She is, in my opinion, a great British institution and here she tells of a life well-lived, complete with her own tragedies and triumphs, plus many interesting insights into those she worked with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book Liz!, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
I've always loved the beautiful and funny Liz Fraser and always wished to know more about the real Liz. Well there's so much of her life in this book mainly centred around her life as an actress. It's quite sad to read that so many of her great actor friends and collegues are no longer here and there are numerous references to their passing.
It's amazing to think that with just a few short appearences in several comedies that she would have such an impact on British cinema. Yet Liz is so much more than the "dumb blonde" she seemed to portay to good effect. Okay so many will remember her most in the carry on films, but for me, Liz along with most of the main carry on actors were truly great comic actors. This book will show just how many roles she's played on film and TV as well as numerous theatre appearences. Knowing more about her life now through her book only makes me want to meet her in person more than ever. Let it be known that Liz Fraser has brought so much laughter and happiness into so many peoples lives. Enjoy the book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 25 May 2015
By 
Dale R. Stafford (shepshed, leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Brilliant book in which this lovely lady shares some lovely memories of her years in show business. A very enjoyable read defiantly recommend to anyone. Thank you like what a lovely lady you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lis Fraser and other characters., 3 Dec. 2012
By 
D. W. Horney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Brilliant read, haven't finished it yet, finding it hard to put down. Did not realised how many famous people she acted with, highly reccommeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
If I'm honest, I hadn't expected Liz Fraser's autobiography to be anything out of the ordinary ... but it is! Beautifully written, and with seemingly total honesty, this is the best showbusiness autobio I have read in a long time. Miss Fraser has a charming turn of phrase, a very down-to-earth perspective on her career and image, and comes across as someone you would genuinely like to know personally. No pomposity, just the right sprinking of ego ("I am a good actress" - well yes, she is!) and many funny and entertaining anecdotes about colleagues such as Irene Handl, Sid James, Peter Sellers, etc. A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Have always been a Liz Fraser fan so this was long awaited and didn't disappoint. I would recommend to any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice, easy read, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Liz Fraser's book is written in an honest, frank way that won't overpower the reader.

She talks about her career in films over 20 years, shares her fond memories of co-stars like Sid James and Peter Sellers and talks about the problems of her private life, including two unfaithful husbands and a battle with cancer.

Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liz Fraser... and other characters
Liz Fraser... and other characters by Liz Fraser (Hardcover - 19 Oct. 2012)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews