Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Lady
You can't judge a book by its cover but this book has the most attractive cover picture I've seen in a long time.It is a delightful read and for me Liz has conveyed a sense of happiness that's felt by the reader. Having built up something of a collection of British comedy films in which Liz appears it was a pleasure for me to see many of them referred to by Liz's own...
Published 21 months ago by Robert Allsop

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All Performers Can Write
Since I may be one of the few people left on Planet Earth who remember Liz Fraser with great fondness, I was anxious to read her life story. Unfortunately, Miss Fraser should have left the writing to someone else. Books regarding show business personalities need to contain some choice tidbits that we've never heard before...the odd revelation or two. This book does...
Published 14 months ago by Michael J. Oldfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling Lady, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
You can't judge a book by its cover but this book has the most attractive cover picture I've seen in a long time.It is a delightful read and for me Liz has conveyed a sense of happiness that's felt by the reader. Having built up something of a collection of British comedy films in which Liz appears it was a pleasure for me to see many of them referred to by Liz's own recollections, amplified by the her joy in working with many of her admired personalities. Also it was enjoyable to discover her many non-acting roles in life and indeed the impression comes across that she herself feels she has achieved much. Altogether a lively account of a lady whose character sparkles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice, easy read, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Liz Fraser's book is written in an honest, frank way that won't overpower the reader.

She talks about her career in films over 20 years, shares her fond memories of co-stars like Sid James and Peter Sellers and talks about the problems of her private life, including two unfaithful husbands and a battle with cancer.

Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not All Performers Can Write, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Michael J. Oldfield (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Since I may be one of the few people left on Planet Earth who remember Liz Fraser with great fondness, I was anxious to read her life story. Unfortunately, Miss Fraser should have left the writing to someone else. Books regarding show business personalities need to contain some choice tidbits that we've never heard before...the odd revelation or two. This book does not. Liz Fraser continually tells us that she "worked with so-and-so and he was awfully nice" and she "was costarred with this actress who was a real professional and taught her a lot". Everyone she meets is a delightful person whom she admires and likes. Not exactly what you would call "a tell-all book". I'm glad she had such a long and rewarding career but I wish the book contained a few more insights into the personalities of the people she worked with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Have always been a Liz Fraser fan so this was long awaited and didn't disappoint. I would recommend to any fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
If I'm honest, I hadn't expected Liz Fraser's autobiography to be anything out of the ordinary ... but it is! Beautifully written, and with seemingly total honesty, this is the best showbusiness autobio I have read in a long time. Miss Fraser has a charming turn of phrase, a very down-to-earth perspective on her career and image, and comes across as someone you would genuinely like to know personally. No pomposity, just the right sprinking of ego ("I am a good actress" - well yes, she is!) and many funny and entertaining anecdotes about colleagues such as Irene Handl, Sid James, Peter Sellers, etc. A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good giggle, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
A very interesting person and enjoyable read.

She reads like the sort of person who could cheer you up.

Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story but lost some of it, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed Liz Fraser's story but half way through the book was very disappointed to find blank pages in several places where I missed quite a lot of her life story. I finished the book, but I am upset that I have missed big chunks of the story. I hope other people have not had the same experience. I still enjoyed the book but feel I have lost out somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Liz, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
Books from actresses who were working in the 50s and 60s are as rare as hens teeth.So I suppose that I shouldn't feel too frustrated by this book.Whilst she tells us about working with many famous names of the period she rarely goes into much depth about them,the exception being Peter Sellers.For example on page 151 she says she got to know Kenneth Williams a lot better when she was making Carry On Behind,but nothing more.Most of the actors she performed with were "nice" or "lovely" with the exception of Jack Douglas.The only person she has a go at,rightly,is Peter Rogers.he let actors such as Charlie Hawtry and Joan Sims,decline into poverty,refusing their rightful requests for reiduals.Clearly Ms Fraser realised the pitfalls of the acting profession early on,and through wise investments has given herself a comfortable old age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Sandra Callear "SANDRA" (HERTFORDSHIRE ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
This book warts and all tells you all about liz and her antics during her life which was very colourful
She is one amazing actress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review on Liz Fraser Autobiography, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liz Fraser... and other characters (Hardcover)
A good book but seemed a bit rushed. Would have liked a bit more information on other people
she worked with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liz Fraser... and other characters
Liz Fraser... and other characters by Liz Fraser (Hardcover - 19 Oct 2012)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews