Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, easy listen, excellent results
I really enjoyed the author's approach, like previous reviews I found the book extremely accessible. Firstly it is in plain English - thank you! (But does include a comprehensive bibliography.) Secondly there was something in her openness and simplicity that made it all seemed so obvious (clear examples followed by straightforward exercises) the whole idea and benefits...
Published on 22 April 2011 by Psychologyclare

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but ......
Interesting book, CDs a bit tedious, basic premise is sound but I'm still depressed - perhaps I'm too old (65) and wallowing in my depressed state.
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Linda Nicholls


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, easy listen, excellent results, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the author's approach, like previous reviews I found the book extremely accessible. Firstly it is in plain English - thank you! (But does include a comprehensive bibliography.) Secondly there was something in her openness and simplicity that made it all seemed so obvious (clear examples followed by straightforward exercises) the whole idea and benefits of Mindfulness begin to click really quickly. Thirdly it was really concise, I mean less than a 100pages, which meant I could read it all in a day and then start doing the exercises straight away (dear author - please don't change this). It also comes with two CD's which talk you through the exercises, the voice (the author's) is again clear, precise and well recorded, it is in real time so you just have to stick it on and get going. All in all excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic read -, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
Great book - the author makes a complex subject accessible to everyone. Written with wit and humour, I really enjoyed reading this book - apply its philosophy daily to gain perspective... and watch the magic of your life unfold ! Thank you for writing the book. It's definitely a 'must' for everyone! and it makes a great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediately accessible mindful techniques with wide scoping application, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I started reading Life Happens with a series of questions in my head. How would this be useful in clinical practice? How could I incorporate intentional awareness into my work with people who self-harm or who attempt suicide? How could developing a more mindful way influence my teaching? I hadn't expected that Life Happens would provide such an essential guide for self-awareness and professional development for all mental health practitioners. Although it is presented as a self-help tool kit of exercises, work choices, reflections and guided mindfulness meditation practices, it is not something that should only be used by patients or service users. Every mental health professional could benefit from this approach to enable increased awareness of self and how we use ourselves therapeutically.

The book is presented in an immediately accessible way. The accompanying CDs give a real voice to the author, but the text also feels like a conversation that engages the reader in a nurturing dialogue. The eleven sections are well structured and have a logical flow that could form the arc of a brief intervention to help develop someone's impulse awareness and control, to develop choices, to be aware of the decisions they make and to build their repertoire of responses. The concept of shifting rather than changing makes this approach ideal for working with people who want to notice and manage their personalities which may have caused problems in the past. The text is interspersed with cartoons, poems, aphorisms and other quotes which enable the reader to engage with the concepts in a variety of ways.

The collaborative nature of Life Happens would make it ideal as a tool to use with a client. The NICE guidelines for depression for example, recommend individual guided self-help based on the principles of cognitive behavioural therapy for mild to moderate depression and chronic physical pain, and mindfulness-oriented cognitive behavioural therapy to help prevent relapse for people with moderate to severe depression. Life Happens offers a self-help guide for those people who want to develop life skills and permanent ways of managing their emotional distress and depression rather that the quick fix that more homework-oriented CBT offered in other self-help books.

I train pre-registration mental health nurses and would like to use Life Happens in my teaching. Students have to develop a level of self-awareness when dealing with difficult situations; working with people in distress, people who are angry or threatening, and people who are experiencing psychotic symptoms. The key to communicating in these situations is self-awareness. Students need to develop a mindful approach, becoming aware of their intentions in these sometimes anxiety inducing situations. Life Happens will help them to literally incorporate this awareness, in their breath, their bodies and their minds.

In terms of the evidence-base for mindful interventions, this is not critiqued within the book, which aims to be straightforward and accessible. However, there is a very useful bibliography and list of useful websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and sound, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading Life Happens. I've read many books on mindfulness, and as a teacher of it myself, am always looking for books I can recommend to my students. This one I definitely can - it's very accessible, is written clearly and in non-jargon language, and contains much wisdom about how to live well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed this book as a patent and appreciated it's simplified approachable to opening minds to self-awareness. As mentioned by others I did like the reference to shifting rather that changing, it even sounds much bigger and quicker. The cartoons were a plus just to see the Elephant that I thought no one else could see. This book is a real inspiration and it is with me all the time although hidden out of sight, (why)? I found the tapes so relaxing that you may find yourself asleep at several attempts to listen to them, not a bad thing. Thank you very much Cheryl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life enhancing read, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
An easy to read book written with humour. Excellent CD's a must for relaxation, and a wonderful way to re-charge your energies.
Worth a read without doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
Just like Dr. Cheryl Rezek's other book Brilliant Mindfulness, I also thought this book was a very good read. It deals with the concepts of mindfulness in a clear and interesting way, and has a great balance to it with the practices and audio. Would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, brilliantly executed with a humorous flair., 8 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
Great book, brilliantly executed with a humorous flair. What a surprise and delight to find it was minus any psycho babble! It certainly was meaningful to me and I have been quoting the sayings and impressionable points to friends and colleagues. The quotes, odes and illustrations bought colour and dance to the pages. I have ordered 2 more books for Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but ......, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Linda Nicholls (Ferring, W. Sx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
Interesting book, CDs a bit tedious, basic premise is sound but I'm still depressed - perhaps I'm too old (65) and wallowing in my depressed state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keeping an open mind at moment, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD) (Paperback)
Only had this book a few weeks and it is not getting my attention like I thought it would. Will try harder and maybe revisit review but for time being, meh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Happens: Waking Up to Yourself and Your Life in a Mindful Way (Book & CD)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews