Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As the title says ...
This book is a definitive review. As I enjoy a lot of comedy from the 1970's, it was great to see these on ITV3 and ITV4 bearing in mind that I was not born till 1973. I have the first series of Man About The House on video as well as the 1974 film, and can vaguely remember ITV showing George & Mildred in the late 1980's, so this book was a must. Plenty of information...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by wranglerjeans

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny
Comedy can divide opinion more than any other subject and this book proves the point. Man About the House is my favourite ITV sitcom, but George and Mildred was not in the same class and if you view the later sitcom alongside, The Good Life, another comedy based on class and culture differences, you can appreciate how inferior it is. While MATH maintained its high ratings...
Published 23 months ago by Trevor Newstead


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As the title says ..., 11 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
This book is a definitive review. As I enjoy a lot of comedy from the 1970's, it was great to see these on ITV3 and ITV4 bearing in mind that I was not born till 1973. I have the first series of Man About The House on video as well as the 1974 film, and can vaguely remember ITV showing George & Mildred in the late 1980's, so this book was a must. Plenty of information about cast members, major and minor, as well as all sorts of trivia, which is what these reference books should be all about. I find it also amazing that the author is only 20 himself! Who says that only young people like in many cases, so-called modern comedy! Give me the likes of these great sit-coms, along with Steptoe, Porridge, Open All Hours and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
This book is a wonderful companion to both classic sit-coms. Complete with in-depth interviews, actor biographies and behind the scenes looks into the creation of the shows. A very comfortable read with great quotes from the entire casts and production teams as well as good coverage of supporting casts and cameo roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read. Highly recommended, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. N. Spence "Nick1964" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
Really good read especially from a first time author. Lots of information, trivia and insight from members of the cast. Two great shows that can be picked up cheap from Amazon etc and still get shown on TV, most recently George & Mildred. Tex Fisher has really done a fine job and really looking forward to his take on On The Buses. Highly recommended for cult TV and comedy fans. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans!, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
I too have enjoyed this companion book as it really delves into the back story of how these shows came to be. It will also inspire you to get the DVDs out and look for the continuity errors that you'd never notice without the insider information provided by this guide.

The episode guide is very informative and the A-Z of the supporting cast was also really interesting to read and provided a nice trip down memory lane.

I agree with the previous post that it would have been a nice addition to have more on Robins Nest and to read the cast memories from this show too.

All in all, this is a great read and a must buy for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About time!, 27 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion]]

What a pleasant suprise to find that someone has finally written a book on these two amazing sitcoms which are so often over looked. The writer has a clear and easy style making the book great for dipping in or out of. If your a die hard fan then there is lots to enjoy here as much of the information is new, with some especially interesting snippets, including sections on movies as well as just the tv productions.
It's great to hear some views from behinds the scenes people and many of the biographys were very interesting including the background on the writers.
It was only a shame that this book has taken 30years to come to pass as many of the original actors have passed away or the one's that are still with us can't remember very much.
the only downside to this great book is that the last few chapters seem to degenerate into one list after another! although some are interesting by the time you get to the section listing transport which is followed by a quiz you begin to wonder if the writer was padding out space.

Also I was sad to see that Robins Nest was reduced to just a page and half and a brief list of episodes, this series whilst not being in the books remit was more derserving than this.

These minor gripes aside this is a fantastic book which will delight any fan of the series and I would recommend you pick up a copy straight away as you wont be disapointed. I look forward to reading any future books this young writer produces. GREAT BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old "Tripp" down memory lane., 6 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Gary M. Ingram "GMI" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book as much as Tex's previous On The Buses tome, both books made me seek out the shows on DVD and have provided hours of nostalgic fun. I'm old enough to remember these great shows on their original airings and thanks to this book, I'm turning back the clock and have found these shows to be just as much fun now than they were back then. Tex sure knows his stuff and I look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
Comedy can divide opinion more than any other subject and this book proves the point. Man About the House is my favourite ITV sitcom, but George and Mildred was not in the same class and if you view the later sitcom alongside, The Good Life, another comedy based on class and culture differences, you can appreciate how inferior it is. While MATH maintained its high ratings from start to finish there was a drop-off to the popularity of George and Mildred which finished with an unsuccessful feature film.

Man About the House's comedy switched from the attractive youngsters upstairs to the warring Ropers downstairs and a wonderful balance was kept. When watching a MATH dvd it is remarkable how short the programmes were, most ran for 22-23 minutes including the long introductory titles. This meant that the characters did not have to be fully developed and funny situations created the comedy. When the Ropers became the sole comic characters the situation was less funny. I did not care for the Fourmiles at all.

The major revelation in the book is the relationship between Richard O' Sullivan and Sally Thomsett. It is also of interest the differing memories of the other cast members and the absurdity of using Norman Eshley in three different roles.

A fair effort from a young writer and his subsequent book about On The Buses will be of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 14 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
Although this book tackles the series Man About the House and George and Mildred quite well, giving the low-down on episodes, etc, it fails to give any new information on the actors concerned which was a huge disappointment.

The majority of the actors involved are still very much alive but have not been interviewed or even contacted. I would have expected a foreword from perhaps Brian Murphy or Paula Wilcox and plenty of 'quotes' from the stars and the supporting actors (who featured in a 'complete A-Z of support cast' towards the end of the book). While some of the actors have evidently been contacted they seem to be few and far between.

Yootha Joyce has yet to be given a full-scale biography and this book would have been the ideal chance to pay homage to a much-loved British actress. Alas, just four and a half pages are devoted to her (part of which is a rather bland obituary).

On the whole I think this book has been something of a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not fantastic..., 2 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
The very first book on these two classic comedies, so full marks for that...

One of the biggest faults I have with TV show based books (including this one) is that they always seem to include a lengthy episode guide that take up a large chunk of the book. Surely anyone who'd buy this book is already familiar with most of the episodes, therefore the episode guide is just 'filler' material that makes the book appear longer?

I couldn't see much evidence of new interviews with the cast: there were no new comments from Norman Eshley and surely it can't be that hard to track down Sheila Fearn - she must receive royalties from the show, so somebody would be able to forward on correspondence. Time to recruit Justin Lee Collins to 'Bring Back The Cast Of George And Mildred'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 April 2011
By 
M. K. Pigott "Brutus" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to this book but ended up being extremely disappointed. For a start, it was the wrong format for this type of book... it was the size of a hardcover novel rather than a lavishly illustrated large paperback. There are only 8 pages of illustrations with nothing particularly intersting in them.

The book starts off okay, with the origins of the programes, but goes on to become merely an episode guide with a whole page given to an outline of each episode. These really just summarize the plot without giving any interesting inside information. The next section lists every single actor who ever appeared in the show, plus a summary of their career. This is fine for the regular or recurring characters, but who wants to read all the details of people who played a postman or barmaid in a single episode and appeared on screen for about 30 seconds?

One of the most glaring faults of the book is the omission of Robin's Nest, which gets only 2 pages at the back of the book. Admittedly, it was the weakest of the three shows, but it was part of a trilogy of programmes. It existed in the same continuity, and featured Robin Tripp, the same character as in Man About the House... so it really needed to be included in a book about Man About the House and George and Mildred. Also omitted were the American versions of the programmes: Three's Company, The Ropers and Three's a Crowd. These were fobbed off in a single page, with very little research evident. It feels that the author has just written about what he liked and ignored the bits he didn't like or couldn't be bothered with.

On the whole, the book is pretty amatuer, and is rather badly edited... it is full of spelling and grammatical errors. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man About the House - George and Mildred : The Definitive Companion
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews