Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, imaginative, a good read
Peter Lihou's first novel, Rachel's Shoe, came out about a year ago and he said at the time that there was sequel to come. I'm very pleased it's finally come out as I found Rachel's Shoe to be refreshing easy and entertaining to read. As a sequel to Rachel's Shoe, the story begins at a furious pace in Munich as the immediately identifiable arch-villain, Freddy, escapes...
Published on 1 Dec 2010 by CCW

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Causeway
Going to Guernsey annually at least once a year, I found this book a very pleasant read. Will look out for further books like this one
Published 12 months ago by Renne Postill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, imaginative, a good read, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Causeway (Paperback)
Peter Lihou's first novel, Rachel's Shoe, came out about a year ago and he said at the time that there was sequel to come. I'm very pleased it's finally come out as I found Rachel's Shoe to be refreshing easy and entertaining to read. As a sequel to Rachel's Shoe, the story begins at a furious pace in Munich as the immediately identifiable arch-villain, Freddy, escapes from a police trap. Again he shows his cold blooded nature as he pursues his revenge for the loss of his fortune. The chase leads us back to the Channel Isles where a game of cat and mouse is played out, but done to a background of personal conflict of old and new morals and values, linking the past and present.
Peter has again used his command of the detail and mastery of story telling to transport his reader into another time and place where the reader is engulfed in the realistic drama taking place. I loved it and am happy to recommend it as a great read, intriguing and entertaining to the last page. Don't forget to keep an eye out for the reference to Lihou Island, a real-life story the author is yet to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guernsey tale at its best, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causeway (Kindle Edition)
If you live in the Channel Islands this is a terrific tale to read. Really enjoyed it - read the other one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rachel's shoe and the causeway, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causeway (Kindle Edition)
A great story and sequel. Cleverly written and full of suspense.

I will look forward to other titles by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Causeway, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causeway (Kindle Edition)
Going to Guernsey annually at least once a year, I found this book a very pleasant read. Will look out for further books like this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, pointless sequel, 27 July 2012
By 
David Stewart "boulder100" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Causeway (Kindle Edition)
I read Rachels Shoe, and though I didn't love it, when I saw how cheap the sequel was on the kindle, I risked it. I now wish I had recourse to ask for my money back.
This sequel picks up directly from the end of the last book, and as the last story blends into the background of the new, which has been crowbarred in with little delicacy.
My main qualms with The Causeway are:
- The bad spelling and grammar. There is no excuse, and these errors are not typos, they are things such as 'waiving' where 'waving' should be used. I know it's pitiful, but it really bothers me that the author and publisher have one job, and they fail once every six pages or so.
- The love interest storyline is terrible. It doesn't fit, and just feels too forced. It also feels very rushed and a is lazy way to steer the story where the author wanted it.
- The dialogue isn't dialogue at all in places. No-one speaks the way that Tom and Rachel speak to each other, and it reads as if they're reading a cheesy, bad romantic script to each other.
- Some events and moments are really badly described and the scenes not set properly, which in my minds-eye made me struggle to see how they had arrived in the conclusive position. It's bad writing to fail to set your scene properly.
- The 'change' in one of the characters is laughable. Again it is lazy, and just a way to steer the story to the desired conclusion.

Maybe as a trashy, quick read on the beach you'd enjoy it, but if you want a read worth the money, just avoid it, even if you think it'll add something to the story after reading Rachels Shoe; it won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Causeway
The Causeway by Peter Lihou (Paperback - 3 Nov 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews