Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought -provoking, compulsive read !
This summer, I met an American tourist who introduced me to this book whilst we were visiting legendary Triumph motorcycle designer Edward Turner's blue plaque at Turner's former home in 8 Philip Walk, Peckham, London SE15.

I immediately went to Foyles (oddly enough, founded by another Peckham old boy) to buy a copy and found it un-put-downable.

The...
Published on 28 July 2011 by E. Waheed

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm not for me i'm afraid
I really had high hopes for this book after all the positive reviews but i'm afraid for me it never lived up to my expectations . A bit slow & it just didn't flow ,i was hoping to be taken along a bit more with the 'feel' of the journey but it never happened, i lent it to a motorcycling friend & he gave it back a few days later saying it was hard work !! so it just goes...
Published on 26 April 2012 by Roger J. Markham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought -provoking, compulsive read !, 28 July 2011
By 
E. Waheed (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
This summer, I met an American tourist who introduced me to this book whilst we were visiting legendary Triumph motorcycle designer Edward Turner's blue plaque at Turner's former home in 8 Philip Walk, Peckham, London SE15.

I immediately went to Foyles (oddly enough, founded by another Peckham old boy) to buy a copy and found it un-put-downable.

The author combines the detail of Edward Turner's publicity stunt of travelling from Lands End to John O' Groats on his smallest design, the newly introduced 150cc Triumph Terrier, with his own duplication of that trip albeit on board a modern 900cc Triumph Thunderbird. The author visits the hotels that Turner and his entourage stayed in as well as the roads and sights that Britain's greatest motorcycle designer must have taken in. Photographs at each stage of the Turner's trip introduce each chapter whilst the author's photos of his own modern recreation are within the body of each chapter.

Of particular interest are the author's own observations on British industry , especially the history of Triumph motorcycles and his commentary on the famous Meriden co-operative. Just after Turner passed away in 1973, the new owners of Triumph wanted to shut down Turner's legendary Meriden factory in the West Midlands. The Triumph workers blockaded them from doing so and eventually with a loan from then-Minister of Trade, Tony Benn, acquired the manufacturing and later marketing rights to Triumph itself, producing Turner's designs against all odds until the continuing recession of 1983.

There are some minor factual inaccuracies and this reviewer would have preferred the journey to have been done on a motorcycle designed by Turner (a 1983 TR65 Thunderbird perhaps ?) but these are small niggles in a book that is easily read but deserves a wide readership. It's more than a travel book, more than a motorcycle book and more than a history book. It really needs to be read by anyone interested in Britain and it's massive changes in recent social history.Excellent: buy it now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travelling with Mr Turner, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It is a very funny book, with the humour born of a love and wide knowledge of Triumph motorcycles, and an admiration for Mr Turner, the boss of Triumph motorcycles. That Triumph boss, put himself and the other two directors on new Triumph Terriers, to ride the full length of Britain. It was 1953 and the motorcycles had 150 cc engines. There was a humour and humility in the exercise - these were bosses in an age when bosses were neither young nor slim. The book is peppered with wry (but razor-sharp) humour, making it impossible to read without a permanent and wide smile. And then there are the guffaws at outrageous and whacky comments on the story of Triumph motorcycles and British life through the 50s, 60s and 70s - lovely Monty Python off-beat humour. It is as discursive as Motorcycle Diaries. Britain was going to the dogs, but Mr Turner was an inspiration and was doing his best - and the author weaves these two strands with a humorous and affectionate light touch. And then we get the up to date commentary on bikes and Britain, from the author, Nigel Winter, nostalgically riding the route half a century later. And on a bike you stand a chance of re-capturing the fun of all previous bike journeys. There are similarities, such as getting cold and wet, and warming up in the bar at the day's end - and all that thinking time. And the author got wetter and colder than those bosses, and stayed in cheaper hotels, even camping, which all seems unfair, and to deny progress. He notes that John Steinbeck was also reluctant to get out of his warm bed for the start his road trip, which informed Steinbeck's book, Travels with Charley, but I am glad that Nigel Winter also got out on the road that first wet day. The book has nice photographs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm not for me i'm afraid, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
I really had high hopes for this book after all the positive reviews but i'm afraid for me it never lived up to my expectations . A bit slow & it just didn't flow ,i was hoping to be taken along a bit more with the 'feel' of the journey but it never happened, i lent it to a motorcycling friend & he gave it back a few days later saying it was hard work !! so it just goes to show that you can't please all the people all the time !!
Such a shame..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
Nigel Winter could easily give up the day job, if being an author paid as much as being a lawyer. He's a great natural writer, with a lyrical and slightly lunatic way of looking at the world which suits perfectly the mad story of how men like Turner made Triumph the greatest motorcycle company in the world, how a group of idiots who didn't even like bikes managed to ruin it, and how a group of visionaries in the Turner mould are now making it great again.
There's some truly inspired writing, like the Stairway to Heaven sequence, the imagined meetings with the ghost of Turner and Turner's imagined sighting of Nigel's own modern Triumph.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book Worth Reading, 7 Aug 2011
By 
R. Marshall "Olga" (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
I bought this from Amazon after seeing the review in the Triumph Owners Motor Cycle Club magazine.
This is quite an interesting style of writing which mixes up the journey with some biography of Edward Turner, it includes loads of comments of social history (quite a lot of things I had no idea about) with the politics and history of the Meriden Co-operative including the faults and ego's of many of the main players.
I particularly like the occasions where 1953 gets mixed up wth the repeat journey, I found myself wanting the author to actually meet Mr Turner. This book isn't a local version of "Jupiters Travels" but after reading it I feel that I know and like the author (despite him being a Lawyer!!)
You don't have to like motorbikes to enjoy this book, but if you like mixtures of travel, history, social comments and some of the industrial politics, then you will probably get engrossed as I did.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trumpets, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
book delivered very quickly,as another reviewer stated you don't want to put it down,some very interesting facts of of the politics of this era..makes you want to get on your bike and do the same journey...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Triumph a short history, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are nostalgic about Triumph motorcycles from the Meridan era then this book will be of interest to you,it focuses on Edward Turner and his influence on the progression and eventual demise of Triumph motorcycles. The writer follows the route which Turner and his entourage took from Lands end to John O Groats as publicity exercise to prove the economy and reliability of the smallest bike that Triumph produced at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good concept. Good read especially if you are interested in social history, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
I reallyenjoyed the content and style of this book and found it hard to put down. I will look for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bring a pillow, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Dan (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Travelling with Mr Turner (Paperback)
I am a fan of Triumph motorcycles, and I work on them for a living. I was excited to read this but the excitement quickly turned to boredom. Reading about a guy riding a new Triumph motorcycle and having some fake nostalgic fantasies about Edward Turner is not a good subject for a book. The history thrown in is already well documented and I really felt like I was trapped in a stale and pompous one way conversation. I really would not recommend this book unless you were in jail or injured and had nothing better to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Travelling with Mr Turner
Travelling with Mr Turner by Nigel Winter (Paperback - 21 April 2011)
Used & New from: 124.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews