Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A SPLENDID TALE OF OLD STYLE ADVENTURE
Well after searching for adventure motorcycle books , i came across this one. A fantastic tale of an epic journey from London to Cape Town by two extraordinary ladies on a Panther motorcycle with sidecar & trailer ! At a time when women sat at home & knew their place ,it makes this story all the more amazing, their journey across the sahara sums this tale up . When modern...
Published on 2 Sept. 2007 by Roger J. Markham

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough info on the bike.
The book was not as interesting as I expected. Too much of the same thing found it boring, glad I read this first.
Published on 21 Feb. 2013 by Norman Russell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars When bikers were bikers, 7 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
This is a really good read and a true example of determination.

In modern times we have GPS,mobile phones, top of the range computerised and superbly crafted, reliable machines to ride on. No matter where we are in the world help, is at the push of a computer button away. We believe ourselves to be travellers. A motorbike trip the length of Europe is an expedition, a huge undertaking.

To these two women we would fall into the class of beginners. They did it the right way. Don`t plan too much and make do with what you have to hand. That in reality was nothing. Not even a decent compass.

More books like this should be written, they are inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would one attempt this Adventure today?, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
Definitely no because of the Civil unrest and industrial wars that are been wagered along the route. A magnificent feat, performed by magnificent ladies of their time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
really interesting book - well worth the money .

the stories hold your interest and make you smile.

good present for the motorcycle enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid read, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Muir (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
A fascinating story which in many ways show the current bunch of "adventurers" up for the drama queens they are. A good story but a very sad ending in many ways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rugged Road, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
A great read from a great time, a golden age! I recommended this to any keen motorcycle traveler with an interest in the golden age of travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent a1 Barry Jones made it happen before and after loved the story will read the book again so much happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and am very impressed with the ladies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
Brought it for my son he enjoyed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and great story., 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
Read this! Well written and great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough info on the bike., 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rugged Road (Paperback)
The book was not as interesting as I expected. Too much of the same thing found it boring, glad I read this first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rugged Road
Rugged Road by Theresa Wallach (Paperback - 10 Dec. 2010)
£13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews