Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Micros galore
Having had to cancel my order with Amazon due to lack of stock I managed to get this book elsewhere. If you like your moths you'll love this book! It's absolutely packed with information about micro moths and includes photos of leaf miners, case bearers and all sorts with maps for each species distribution in the UK. The whole book (paperback) is about 4 times heavier...
Published on 9 Jun. 2012 by M. E. W

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good overall guide to the smaller moths
This is a very good overall guide to the smaller moths. I use it in the field as an aide memoir all the time and it is already getting grubby. My only complaint is the index leaves much to be desired and doesn't have species names, as well as genera, in alphabetical order. The problem is compounded by the fact that many species are in unfamiliar genera and I have to...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. P. J. Jewess


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Micros galore, 9 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Having had to cancel my order with Amazon due to lack of stock I managed to get this book elsewhere. If you like your moths you'll love this book! It's absolutely packed with information about micro moths and includes photos of leaf miners, case bearers and all sorts with maps for each species distribution in the UK. The whole book (paperback) is about 4 times heavier than the Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland making it less of a 'field guide' and more of a 'leave it on the desk and look later' guide. The drawings are as well done as with the book on macro moths but are obviously smaller even though most are drawn 2.5 times life-size. Recommended for micro-moth-ers everywhere.

EDIT - a word of caution when using the latin names in this book, apparently they have used the new classification names, not yet confirmed, so always check up on the existing name before thinking you might have something nobody recorded before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I similarly had to cancel with Amazon and get this elsewhere after they instantly ran out of stock on the release date. Once I got my hands on it, I was not disappointed. There are many excellent websites where you can hunt down the micro-moths that come your way, but to have this reference book in your hands with everything under one cover where you can 'compare and contrast' each species is brilliant. The fact that Richard Lewington has done the illustrations is an added bonus and will remove possible areas of confusion usually caused by reference photos taken under different lighting conditions. Indispensible for anyone interested in Moths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for 'moth-ers'!, 25 Aug. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Greater Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Eagerly awaited and hasn't disappointed this book has rejuvenated my 'mothing' sessions. Whereas previously I would tap the 'little jobs' out of the moth trap, setting them free without a second glance, now I look avidly for the tiny moths lurking last in the bottom! The layout of the illustrations means I am now getting a feel for moth 'families' and becoming at last accustomed to shapes and varieties which lead to a definite identification at the end of the night! A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moth Mad, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
If you recently like me got into trapping and ID-ing the many moths that abound in the UK and Ireland then this book is a must.
Not content with discarding the many micro moths that lurk at the bottom of the trap, this book clearly provides a guide to the identification of a bewildering array of species. Daunting at first, you will be aided to appreciate the fine diversity of micro moths on your doorstep.
Clear pictures, easy to read text with maps as well as tips and suggestions.
A micro-moth lovers bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any nature photograher, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I bought this book around 10 months ago & it is really brilliant. Micro-moths were always very tricky & I often didn't bother to photograph them because they took so long to identify. I now photogragh as many as possible & found numerous ones that are quite rare (authenticated by an expert & displayed on their site). Once I have found the moth I double check it with photos on the internet, but the illustrations really are precise. Lots of useful text with flight periods, habitat etc. Although I live in France the vast majority of micro moths are in here & if not there is a close relative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field guide to the Micro-moths of Great Britain, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Field guide to the Micro-moths of great Britain

This book is superb but a little too large to use as a field guide but excellent value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Micro-mothing, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
The plates in this guide are of very high quality (as expected from Lewington) and the book also contains photographs of some larval forms. The text contains a additional information to help with identification. A perfect companion to Waring and Townsend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good overall guide to the smaller moths, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
This is a very good overall guide to the smaller moths. I use it in the field as an aide memoir all the time and it is already getting grubby. My only complaint is the index leaves much to be desired and doesn't have species names, as well as genera, in alphabetical order. The problem is compounded by the fact that many species are in unfamiliar genera and I have to resort to scanning through the illustrations to find quite common species (you can't look up "lacunana"). Others have obviously noted this, since a “Special Index” is available on the Internet to download. Several other recent guides, e.g Waring and Townsend” also don’t have a special index either. Let’s hope a second edition corrects it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Superb volume. Bought because I had difficulty in identifying the small but attractive moths flitting about the garden day and night. The amazingly concentrated and interesting text and illustrations proved invaluable in helping to name the little beauties. My favourite species so far is called the Gold Triangle, and I have seen and photographed it only once, despite it apparently being very common... Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov. 2014
By 
B. W. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
It's what we have been needing for a long time. I have used it regularly in the mothing season for micro ID since purchasing it on release in 2012 . Can't think how we managed before it was released. It doesn't cover everything, especially some of those unicolour species very difficult to ID, but there are other ways of coping with these. My copy is so well used that I will soon be needing a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland
Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland by Mark Parsons (Paperback - 30 May 2012)
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews