Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Micros galore, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Having had to cancel my order with Amazon due to lack of stock I managed to get this book elsewhere. If you like your moths you'll love this book! It's absolutely packed with information about micro moths and includes photos of leaf miners, case bearers and all sorts with maps for each species distribution in the UK. The whole book (paperback) is about 4 times heavier than the Concise Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland making it less of a 'field guide' and more of a 'leave it on the desk and look later' guide. The drawings are as well done as with the book on macro moths but are obviously smaller even though most are drawn 2.5 times life-size. Recommended for micro-moth-ers everywhere.

EDIT - a word of caution when using the latin names in this book, apparently they have used the new classification names, not yet confirmed, so always check up on the existing name before thinking you might have something nobody recorded before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I similarly had to cancel with Amazon and get this elsewhere after they instantly ran out of stock on the release date. Once I got my hands on it, I was not disappointed. There are many excellent websites where you can hunt down the micro-moths that come your way, but to have this reference book in your hands with everything under one cover where you can 'compare and contrast' each species is brilliant. The fact that Richard Lewington has done the illustrations is an added bonus and will remove possible areas of confusion usually caused by reference photos taken under different lighting conditions. Indispensible for anyone interested in Moths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for 'moth-ers'!, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Greater Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Eagerly awaited and hasn't disappointed this book has rejuvenated my 'mothing' sessions. Whereas previously I would tap the 'little jobs' out of the moth trap, setting them free without a second glance, now I look avidly for the tiny moths lurking last in the bottom! The layout of the illustrations means I am now getting a feel for moth 'families' and becoming at last accustomed to shapes and varieties which lead to a definite identification at the end of the night! A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moth Mad, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
If you recently like me got into trapping and ID-ing the many moths that abound in the UK and Ireland then this book is a must.
Not content with discarding the many micro moths that lurk at the bottom of the trap, this book clearly provides a guide to the identification of a bewildering array of species. Daunting at first, you will be aided to appreciate the fine diversity of micro moths on your doorstep.
Clear pictures, easy to read text with maps as well as tips and suggestions.
A micro-moth lovers bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field guide to the Micro-moths of Great Britain, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Field guide to the Micro-moths of great Britain

This book is superb but a little too large to use as a field guide but excellent value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any nature photograher, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I bought this book around 10 months ago & it is really brilliant. Micro-moths were always very tricky & I often didn't bother to photograph them because they took so long to identify. I now photogragh as many as possible & found numerous ones that are quite rare (authenticated by an expert & displayed on their site). Once I have found the moth I double check it with photos on the internet, but the illustrations really are precise. Lots of useful text with flight periods, habitat etc. Although I live in France the vast majority of micro moths are in here & if not there is a close relative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Micro-mothing, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
The plates in this guide are of very high quality (as expected from Lewington) and the book also contains photographs of some larval forms. The text contains a additional information to help with identification. A perfect companion to Waring and Townsend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I am very impressed by this book. As companion to the Moth guide it is essential. Wonderful illustrations and comprehensive text. A must buy I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I am very new to moth/butterfly watching and had already purchased the Guides to Butterflies, and to the Macro moths. This book is a wonderful addition to my growing collection.

The book is packed with information - is very easy to read - and the illustrations are without equal.

This book is well worth the money, even for newbies, like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Superb drawings and photos. Fascinating descriptions of life histories. Whether you are a general naturalist or one with a more specific interest who runs a moth trap, as I do, you must have this wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland
Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland by Mark Parsons (Paperback - 30 May 2012)
29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews